As of 2020, State of Illinois institutions are not allowed to order via Amazon.

Replace (Only) Vendor Button:

• Use if you do not need to send a new PO to the vendor.
• Retains the POL number. A new PO number is assigned.
• Useful for Continuous Orders so that POL number is retained for tracking (serial price increase, etc.) purposes.

1. Search for the POL using the persistent search bar (by POL number, ISSN, title, etc.)
2. Choose Edit on the Purchase Order lines display screen.
   If the Edit button does not appear right away, click Go To Task List first and then click Edit from the next screen.
3. Click on Replace (only) vendor in the Purchase order line details section of the POL.
   If you do not see the button, click on the row action item list icon to the left of the Change Vendor button to select Replace (only) vendor.

4. A confirmation message will appear. Click Confirm
    
5. The Change Vendor in Order box will appear. Type in (or search for) the new vendor and vendor account record for the order and click the Change Vendor in Order button.

6. Search for the PO line again (by POL number, ISSN, title, etc.) in the persistent search bar. Next to the order line to re-vend, click Order Now. If the Acquisition Method in the PO is "Purchase", a PO will be sent to the vendor. If it is "Purchase at Vendor System", no PO is sent to the vendor.

7. A confirmation message will appear. Click Confirm.
    

Change Vendor Button:

• Use this option if you want to re-send the PO to the vendor.
• A new PO with a new POL number will be created.

Instructions to come.

Harvard Documentation: https://wiki.harvard.edu/confluence/display/LibraryStaffDoc/Changing+Vendors+in+a+PO+Line

There is a critical distinction between Canceling and Closing purchase orders:

• Canceling a PO line: This DELETES ALL INVENTORY ATTACHED TO THE POL. Only use it when cancelling the order and don’t expect to receive any inventory or pay an invoice.
• Closing a PO line: Use this when we've received the inventory and the order is complete.

Creating Purchase Orders for SERIALS RECEIVED on Memberships, Packages, Publications, &“Comes With” Titles
 

Create a separate Purchase Order for each title received on a membership or package order (or package / publications or package / “comes with” order).

Never approve Purchase Orders for serials received on memberships or packages. Leave them with a status of pending.

The following instructions assume that an order record for the membership or package already exists in Voyager Acquisitions.

• Find the PO for the membership or package. Save the PO-line number.
• Create a basic PO for the member title, but remember the following points:

1. DO NOT check manual packaging.

2. Make sure to select the acquisition method as Technical because we are not going to actually order it. 

3. In the additional section of the PO., enter the PO-line of the membership PO.

• Click "Save" (Not Save and Continue").
• Do not actually "order" the PO.
• The PO should be "In Review" status now.

Purchase orders without inventory can be created and used for paying postage, handling, and fuel charges on invoices.

To create this type of PO:

1. Go to Acquisitions / Purchase Order Lines / Order without Inventory.

2. Enter as shown in the screen shot below, following the same naming convention for the first three lines, editing the FY and incrementing the number in the description field:

3. Click Create PO line.
4. Fill out the POL details in the following fields:
   1. Vendor:
      1. Postage and Handling POs: Unknown
      2. Fuel POs: Proquest/@00839873a
   2. Line Price: $1.00
   3. Fund:
      1. Postage: post
      2. Handling: hand
      3. Fuel: fuel
   4. Reporting Code:
      1. Postage: 600 - Postage
      2. Handling: 601 - Handling
      3. Fuel: 609 - Fuel Surcharge
   5. Renewal Info:
      1. Manual Renewal - Uncheck
      2. Renewal date - Sometime far in future (e.g. 1/1/2055)

5. Click Order Now at top of screen.

The general policy is to discourage duplicate print holdings where possible for the University Library (UL). However, as with all things, there are a number of considerations.
 

Residence Halls Libraries (RHL)

RHL holdings are not part of our collections.

Therefore, if RHL holds a copy, we will still put the order through for the University Library.

This most commonly comes up for SSHEL S-Collection or Graphic Novels.
 

Uni High

Uni High is allowed to order duplicates of any titles held in UL locations, and in Residence Halls.

This most often comes up with graphic novels purchased for the UL collections.
 

Special Collections - RBML, IHLC, Maps, Archives, Sousa

Any Special Collections library may order duplicates to other holdings in UL.
 

Subject Specialist Determination

If a subject specialist states they want to duplicate holdings due to specific researcher or instructional needs, we will honor the request.

Step-by-step guide

For orders done on Approvals Ledger (Central Pool) funds, there are two POs, one for pbad0 on the main ledger.

For orders you are doing for selectors on Central Pool (approval ledger) funds, there are two POs, one for pbad0 on the Main Ledger (or Firm ledger): 

• Change your fund to pbad0-644
• leave pending in case Wendy needs to do more, or approve if not
• The other PO is on the Approvals Ledger
• Approve and receive as we do by default with Wendy’s e-resources
• This is the PO that will reduce the Approvals fund balance so Tammie will see the funds suddenly go down

In the PO notes of both POs, I put similar to:
 

Main Ledger PO to correspond with Approvals Ledger PO 107568

Paid on pbad0 on 107530

Deducted from Approvals Ledger psyp balance on 107568 - GG 2/22/19 (ex.) 

If an item on a PO line is not received through the Acquisitions / Receive menu, but rather by entering the POL number and receiving date in the item record, it does not progress to the "Waiting for invoice" state, and, even when paid, remains in "Sent" status.

To fix this, so that the POLs will be correctly marked Closed after being received and paid, follow these steps:

1. Identify and retrieve the item record (for instance by doing a barcode search, if you have the barcode, or use the MMS ID, or retrieve the POL and copy the MMS ID to retrieve the item record that way) and verify that the Process Type field is blank/white (not gray and nothing entered there). If there is something in the Process Type field, or it is gray, do not edit it at this time and mark to be fixed later.

2. Go to Acquisitions / Receive.

3. Make sure Keep in Department is checked.

4. On the One Time tab, enter the POL number in the search box to search it.
5. From the One Time tab, click the ellipses (...) on the right-hand side of the POL line and then choose Receive to receive the item.

6. ​​​​​​​Retrieve the item record again, such as by doing a Physical Titles search for the barcode or the MMS ID.
7. In the Process Type field, click the down arrow and choose the last, blank line to erase the value (Acquisition Technical Services) there. Save the item record.

8. ​​​​​​​View the record in Primo to make sure that it appears as available on the shelving library.

9. ​​​​​​​Finally, retrieve the POL, Edit it, and then Close the POL.

IAS works with five of the six LC Field plans:

• Rio, Brasil - BCAP - Latin America/Antonio Sotomayor - PO olb11111
• Cairo, Egypt - MECAP - Middle East/Laila Hussein Moustafa - PO olm11111
• Nairobi, Kenya - AfriCAP - Africa/Atoma Batoma - PO ola1111a
• Islamabad, Pakistan - PICAP - SE Asia/Mara Thacker - PO olp11111
• New Delhi, India - SACAP - SE Asia/Mara Thacker - PO oli11111

*We do not have a field plan setup with Jakarta, Indonesia

Each year, the Field Plans will send documents and invoices to the fund managers, and ideally will copy Acquisitions.

1. Fund managers may choose to revise their plans, and adjust the prices for the field plans. These documents are usually sent in July timeframe.
2. By August 15, Acquisitions should confirm with fund managers that they are reviewing and making decisions.
3. By September 1, Acquisitions should confirm with fund managers that invoices are ready to be paid.
4. Invoices go to Dustin Reinhart, to ensure they are included in the scanned invoices for the FY; Dustin will pass to Chad Lewis for wire payment for the entire batch of invoices.
    

If there is a list of serials for the field plan, forward those to Archana to review.

To manually package multiple POLs into a purchase order:

Step 1: Check Manual Packaging in all POLs in batch

1. Retrieve the POLs to package via a search or from Acquisitions / Monitor and View Imports / Job ID / ... / Imported PO Lines after importing a file.
2. With the POLs on the screen, choose Create Logical Set 
3. Name your set something that will allow you to recognize it easily, e.g. SB-23-100223 and click Create.
4. Go to Admin / Run a Job.
5. Under Content Type, start typing "purchase" and choose Purchase order line when it appears.  
6. Choose the job Update PO Lines Information and click Next.
7. Select the name of the logical set which you created above and click Next.
8. From the Task Parameters list, click the box next to Manual Packaging and make sure the drop down is set to Yes. Click Next.
9. Verify that all of the information on the Review and Confirm page is correct and click Submit and then Confirm.

Step 2: Put POLs in Sent status

1. Go to Admin / Run a Job.
2. Under Content Type, start typing "purchase" and choose Purchase order line when it appears.  
3. Choose the job Update PO Lines Workflow and click Next.
4. Select the name of the logical set which you created above and click Next.
5. From the Task Parameters list, select Save and Continue ... and click Next.
6. Verify that all of the information on the Review and Confirm page is correct and click Submit and then Confirm.

1. Use Order Without Inventory One-Time
2. Include in Note to vendor field: Please see attached spreadsheet. Please confirm receipt of spreadsheet.
3. Add as an Attachment under the Attachments Tab.
4. Generate a Communication to the vendor and attach the spreadsheet by clicking on the Communication Tab.
5. Submit PO to vendor.
6. When a shipment comes, add in Notes Tab a note that includes the number of items and invoice #.  Ex:  10 items on invoice 12345
7. Check the PO/POL status.
8. If the POL is in "Waiting for Invoice," OK to submit invoice.
9. If the POL is in the status "Closed," you will need to reopen the PO to add the items received to the Notes.
10. Click "Order Now" or use "Manual Packaging" to generate a new PO#.

Note: If attachment is not added in Communication, the vendor will not receive the spreadsheet. To correct, go to POL, click on Communication tab, click Edit at top, at ellipsis (...), click reply, make sure fill out body in Communication, add attachment, will say Email successfully sent to vendor.  

Preservation (Will Schlaack) orders replacement copies from time to time.

• Fund for replacement copies is pres0e-611
• Notify Will of amount
• When copy arrives, Scott Mann handles cataloging of replacement copies.
• The book is marked as replacement copy.

                i.e. Will does not need to receive the books once they come in. However, Will should be notified the book is here and
                      on its way to cataloging so he can update Preservation's records.

• Process the book as a replacement copy.

Manual

• POs can have multiple PO lines, which is what the PO record for each individual title are called. The PO lines are attached to bibliographic records and inventory is typically created at the point of order to show the physical location of the items.
• If a bibliographic record exists in Alma already (IZ or NZ), we will use that to create the PO on. If not already in Alma, record is imported from OCLC if available or a short bib is created if record not available in OCLC.
• Alma does not use reporting funds. Allocation level funds were migrated from vendor, and the reporting code information is stored in the PO line.
• This manual process can be used for any vendor in Alma.
• Step by step instructions for PO creation are available in the acquisitions wiki here.

EOD - Embedded Order Data

1. Automated way of importing bibliographic records, inventory, and purchase orders into Alma. Allows for much faster creation of purchase orders in the system.
2. We have EDO set up to work with GOBI order, both firm and central pool orders.
   • GOBI is our primary vendor for domestic monograph print material as well as some ebooks (title by title orders).
   • Selectors (fund managers) or their ordering staff use the GOBI interface to select titles for purchase. At the time of selection, they apply the fund and location information to each title to be used in the orders.
   • Their selections are then retrieved from the GOBI site by acquisitions ordering staff and batched into files for loading to Alma. 
   • The batch files are exported from GOBI. They are MARC files with data in 9xx fields to create the POL and inventory in Alma.
3. Records are loaded via import profiles to the NZ and matching is done on OCLC number.

As much as possible, when establishing short bib records for orders where no OCLC record exists, ordering staff will include the following elements:

• Author
• Title
• ISBN
• Publisher (if available)
• No diacritics or other special characters

Where elements may be unknown at the time of order, upon receipt with the item in hand, receiving staff should add the ISBN to the record for suitable findability by the catalogers.
 

In the event that an incoming item does not have an ISBN, at that point we will include the middle portion of the MMSID:

99607581412205899 - Cofanetto: Harry Potter

The “middle part” of the MMSID between the “99” and the 4-digit code at the end (5899 = IZ, 5816 = NZ) is what would be noted on the streamer.

For these records, they should only be in the IZ until the cataloger has enhanced the record and determined it is appropriate to link to the NZ. This means most often these will be handled by a cataloger trained on original and enhanced cataloging.

99-60758141220-5899

See: Alma's documentation on the unique portion of MMSID.

• This policy is intended to streamline the processing of incoming materials and more quickly expedite their availability to patrons.
• This policy is also intended to ensure best compliance with managing the appropriate linking of records within the Institution Zone (IZ) and the Network Zone (NZ) that is unique to Alma and did not exist in previous systems.
   

Where questions may arise about materials that fall outside of this workflow, please contact George Gottschalk for additional guidance and/or workflow refinement.

1. Find the appropriate bibliographic record:
   1. Search for the record in the CZ using an All Titles or Electronic Titles search.
   2. If not found, export the bib from OCLC, copying the MMS ID given in Connexion and using it to retrieve the bib record with an All Titles search.
2. Begin the order by clicking Order to the right of the bibliographic information on the All Titles search results screen. If Order does not appear, click the ellipses (...) and click Order.
3. Fill out the PO Line Owner and Type:
   1. PO Line Type -
      • Electronic Book One-Time - for e-books and streaming media
   2. PO Line Owner - Technical Services
   3. Do NOT Check Assign Inventory Manually (different from print POs).
4. Click Create PO Line.
5. Confirmation Message: Confirm.
   1. A PO line will be created in In Review status.
6. Ordered Items section:
   1. Material Supplier: enter the vendor code, name, or click the "List" icon to pull up the complete list and search for the vendor there.
7. Pricing section:
   1. Price
   2. Quantity - 1
8. Funding section:
   1. Click Add Fund.
   2. Type in the fund code and select it from the list
   3. If PO is to be split over several funds, enter the percent for this first fund and then click Add Fund to add subsequent fund(s).

9. PO Line Details section:
   1. Acquisition Method:
      • Purchase at Vendor System: If you are placing the order through the vendor's system (e.g. GOBI, Amazon, direct email to vendor) and do not want a PO to be generated.
      • Purchase: Generates a purchase order that is automatically emailed to the email address in the vendor record.
   2. Material Type: Book
   3. Reporting Code: 644 E Books 
10. Click Order Now

1. Find the appropriate bibliographic record:
   1. Search for the record in the NZ.
   2. If not found, export the bib from OCLC, copying the MMS ID given in Connexion and using it to retrieve the bib record with an All Titles search.
   3. If still not found, create a short order bib record using the Metadata Editor.
      1. Go to Resources / Open Metadata Editor.
      2. On the left-side of the screen, select Templates / MARC 21 Bibliographic / Shared.
      3. Location the short record order bib RDA template. Click it and select New.

4. Fill out as much of the bibliographic information as you have, particularly title (245 field) and ISSN (022 field) so that catalogers are able to find the record at the point of cataloging.
5. If using a short order bib, you can click the shopping cart icon  to initiate the order rather than doing step 2 below.

2. Begin the order by clicking Order to the right of the bibliographic information on the All Titles search results screen. If Order does not appear, click the ellipses (...) and click Order.
3. Fill out the PO Line Owner and Type:
   1. PO Line Type -
      • Print Journal Subscription
   2. PO Line Owner - Technical Services
   3. Check Assign Inventory Manually for print.
      1. Note: inventory must be created manually so that the shelving location can be assigned as otherwise the PO line owner (i.e. Technical Services) is used.
      2. Do not check if you will be using an order template under "Load from template" and the template has a location assigned already.

4. Click Create PO Line.
5. Confirmation Message - This PO Line will not create an inventory item: Confirm.
   1. A PO line will be created in In Review status.
6. Ordered Items section:
   • Click Add Location:
     • Number of items to add: 1
     • Supported Libraries: <choose the shelving library and location>
     • Item Policy: Typical should be left blank.
     • Click Add.
   • Optionally add a "Receiving Note".
   • Optionally check "Routing during receiving" for a message to appear at the point the piece is received, such as if a patron should be notified.
7. Vendor Information section:
   1. Material Supplier: enter the vendor code, name, or click the "List" icon to pull up the complete list and search for the vendor there.
      1. Vendor codes with 'x' at the end of the code are old and should no longer be used.
      2. If more than one vendor code matches the vendor name you've typed in, click one of the options and then click "View Vendor" from the POL screen and then the Contact Information tab of the vendor record to determine if you have the right address. If not, return to the POL and select the List icon again to pick the correct vendor.
   2. Claiming Grace Period Days: This should be inherited from the vendor record. Fill this out appropriately if not automatically filled out (default to 60 days).
   3. Other claiming fields - not using at this time.
8. Pricing section:
   1. Price
   2. Quantity - 1
9. Funding section:
   1. Click Add Fund.
   2. Type in the fund code and select it from the list - note this is the Allocation fund (no object code).
   3. If PO is to be split over several funds, enter the percent for this first fund and then click Add Fund to add subsequent fund(s).

10. PO Line Details section:
    1. Acquisition Method:
       • Purchase at Vendor System: If you are placing the order through the vendor's system (e.g. GOBI, Amazon, direct email to vendor) and DO NOT want a PO to be generated.
       • Purchase: Generates a purchase order that is automatically emailed to the email address in the vendor record. Use if you DO want a PO to be generated and emailed directly to the vendor.
    2. Material Type: Issue

    3. Reporting Code: The Banner "object code". This field must be present for payment purposes.

       1. Choose the correct Reporting Code. Do NOT use the reporting level funds that migrated from Voyager.

    4. Manual Packaging: If you wish to manually package the PO line with other PO lines of the same type (same vendor, same PO type of one-time, same acquisitions method), check this box.
11. Renewals section:
    1. Manual Renewal: Uncheck
    2. Subscription from date: The date on which the subscription is set to begin. For example, this will often be 1/1/20xx
    3. Renewal Date: Day and month can be left as date of order creation but make the year 2050.
    4. Renewal Reminder Period: 0 days
    5. Renewal Cycle: 1 year (unless the cycle is different, in which case enter as appropriate).

12. To order, click either:

    1. Order Now to send order immediately - OR -

    2. Save and Continue to send PO line to manual packaging if manual packaging was checked under above step.

1. Find the appropriate bibliographic record:
   1. Search for the record in the NZ.
   2. If not found, export the bib from OCLC, copying the MMS ID given in Connexion and using it to retrieve the bib record with an All Titles search.
   3. If still not found, create a short order bib record using the Metadata Editor.
      1. Go to Resources / Open Metadata Editor.
      2. On the left-side of the screen, select Templates / MARC 21 Bibliographic / Shared.
      3. Location the short record order bib RDA template. Click it and select New.

4. Fill out as much of the bibliographic information as you have, particularly title (245 field) and ISSN (022 field) so that catalogers are able to find the record at the point of cataloging.
5. If using a short order bib, you can click the shopping cart icon  to initiate the order rather than doing step 2 below.

2. Begin the order by clicking Order to the right of the bibliographic information on the All Titles search results screen. If Order does not appear, click the ellipses (...) and click Order.
3. Fill out the PO Line Owner and Type:
   1. PO Line Type -
      • Physical One-Time - for print book or other non-electronic, one-time physical purchase. 
   2. PO Line Owner - Technical Services
   3. Check Assign Inventory Manually
      1. Note: inventory must be created manually so that the shelving location can be assigned as otherwise the PO line owner (i.e. Technical Services) is used.
      2. Do not check if you will be using an order template under "Load from template" and the template has a location assigned already.

4. Click Create PO Line.
5. Confirmation Message - This PO Line will not create an inventory item: Confirm.
   1. A PO line will be created in In Review status.
6. Ordered Items section:
   • Click Add Location:
     • Number of items to add: 1
     • Supported Libraries: <choose the shelving library and location>
     • Item Policy: Typically should be left blank.
     • Click Add.
   • Optionally add a "Receiving Note".
   • Optionally check "Routing during receiving" for a message to appear at the point the piece is received, such as if a patron should be notified.
7. Vendor Information section:
   1. Material Supplier: enter the vendor code, name, or click the "List" icon to pull up the complete list and search for the vendor there.
   2. Claiming Grace Period Days: This should be inherited from the vendor record. Fill this out appropriately if not automatically filled out (default to 60 days).
   3. Other claiming fields - not using at this time.
8. Pricing section:
   1. Price
   2. Quantity - 1
9. Funding section:
   1. Click Add Fund.
   2. Type in the fund code and select it from the list.
   3. If PO is to be split over several funds, enter the percent for this first fund and then click Add Fund to add subsequent fund(s).

10. PO Line Details section:
    1. Acquisition Method:
       • Purchase at Vendor System: If you are placing the order through the vendor's system (e.g. GOBI, Amazon, direct email to vendor) and do not want a PO to be generated.
       • Purchase: Generates a purchase order that is automatically emailed to the email address in the vendor record.
    2. Material Type:  Choose the material type that best fits the item being ordered. This is important for reporting purposes.

    3. Reporting Code: The Banner "object code". This field must be present for payment purposes.

       1. Choose the correct Reporting Code. Do NOT use the reporting level funds that migrated from Voyager.

    4. Manual Packaging: If you wish to manually package the PO line with other PO lines of the same type (same vendor, same PO type of one-time, same acquisitions method), check this box.

11. To order, click either:

    1. Order Now to send order immediately - OR -

    2. Save and Continue to send PO line to manual packaging (if manual packing was checked under above step).

Closed or canceled PO lines can be reopened from the individual PO line or by using an automated process.

To reopen a closed or canceled PO line from the PO line:

1. Select Reopen in the row actions list of the PO line you want to open.
2. If a closed or canceled PO line does not contain inventory, select Confirm in the confirmation message.
3. When a closed PO line is reopened, the PO is removed and the PO line is updated with a status of In Review.
4. When a canceled PO line is reopened, the original fund is removed; you must add a new fund to the PO line.
5. The PO line is been updated with a status of In Review.

*see the Reopen a Closed/Canceled PO Line video (5:39 mins).

1. Retrieve the POL.
2. Copy the POL number.
3. Close the POL.
4. Re-open the POL.
5. Change Acquisition Method to: Purchase–if cannot change the acquisition method, cancel the line and then reopen
6. Delete the fund and add it back in, and any other information needed, such as location
7. Save the POL.
8. Click Order Now.
   *Note that you might need to click Order Now twice.

If bibliographers choose titles that have not yet been published, Acquisitions does not recommend placing these on order.

Publication dates are often delayed, and publications can be canceled altogether by the publisher. Placing these titles on order puts holds on bibliographers funds that may not be released by the end of the fiscal year.

GOBI:

For titles submitted through GOBI, bibliographers can set up a folder to store Not Yet Published titles. This allows them to review the folder periodically and submit any titles as the status in GOBI is updated.

Other Titles:  

With these titles, Acquisitions still recommends the bibliographers choose a means for tracking these titles. Possible recommendations include (but are certainly not limited to):

1. Publisher alerts (many publishers will allow you to enter your e-mail for alert upon publication)
2. Amazon wishlists - bibliographers may wish to establish an account and set up a wishlist to monitor such titles
3. Alibris (Alibris accounts have a "book fetch" option. This will only catch books as they appear on Alibris, but it is one option)
4. Electronic or paper file for periodic review

In Alma, the bibliographic information that appears in a PO does not get updated even if the bib is replaced with a different (better) one. In order to update the bibliographic information in a PO in these instances, use the Change Bib Reference functionality.

NOTE: This updates the bibliographic information in the PO only. It does not update the inventory (i.e. holdings and items) attached to the PO.

1. Edit a purchase order line.
2. Click the Change Bib Reference button.

3. Click Confirm at the Confirmation Message screen.

4. Search the catalog for the new bib record and click on it to select it.

5. The PO will then reflect the bibliographic information of the new record.
6. Click Save to save the new bibliographic information to that record.