Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Content Access Management (CAM): Monographs Workflow

Acquisitions & Cataloging Services

Link IZ Bibliographic Record to NZ

If a full-level bibliographic record is in the Institution Zone (IZ) but not in the Network Zone (NZ), we should* link the full-level IZ bibliographic record to the NZ:

  1. Locate the bibliographic record in the IZ.
  2. Click Edit Record to open it in the Metadata Editor.
  3. Select File > Share with Network.
  4. If matching** bibliographic record exists in the NZ, a bibliographic duplicate detection window will open, and you will be prompted to view matching NZ records.
    1. If you select Yes: Alma will display matching records in the right-hand panel. You will have to identify and select the correct bibliographic record to link to. Note: The NZ record will overwrite the IZ record (non-reversibly).
    2. If you select No: Alma will create a duplicate linked bibliographic record in the NZ, which has the potential to create duplicates if selected indiscriminately.

Note: 

* Some records, such as Special Collections, should not be linked to the Network Zone.

** The match method is based on OCLC number match and possibly other criteria yet to be determined.