The latest edition of the Dewey Decimal Classification, available through WebDewey, is used for the majority of collections at the University of Illinois Library (see the list of current collections using Dewey).
Local modifications to Dewey are followed for artists, biography and criticism, literature, material by and about Abraham Lincoln, and the S-Collection. For detailed instructions, see the links listed below.
If your book is to be classed in Dewey and does not follow one of the situations that requires local Dewey to be followed, then:
If none of the above apply, then:
The following table presents the collections currently using Dewey Decimal Classification at the University of Illinois Library.
|ACES-Funk (includes CPLA Reference & Resouce Center)||DDC|
|Architecture & Art||DDC|
|Carle Illinois College of Medicine||
DDC for all incoming materials beginning March 11, 2019
Existing collection in LC Classification.
|CAS (Bookstacks) - except Asian material, all new literature, and LABO||DDC (Asian material, all new literature, and LABO in LCC)|
DDC for materials received before August 1, 2018
All material received beginning August 1, 2018 should be classed with LC Classification
|History, Philosophy, and Newspaper (includes African American Research Center)||
LC Classification for all incoming materials, beginning January 16, 2020
|International & Area Studies||DDC for Slavic-language material only|
|Literatures and Languages||DDC for non-circulating only|
DDC for non-map materials received before Sept. 18, 2018
All material received beginning Sept. 18, 2018 should be classed with LC Classification
|Prairie Research Institute||DDC|
|Rare Book and Manuscript Library||DDC|
|Reference, Research, and Scholarly Services||DDC|
|Residence Hall Libraries||DDC|
|Social Sciences, Health, and Education||DDC if:
Special classifications for S-Collection and Curriculum Collection
|Sousa Archives & Center for American Music||DDC|
|Undergraduate||DDC for periodicals for periodical only|
|University High School||DDC; local classification for Fiction and Graphic Novels|