Bibliography. 

NOTE: Use V for a bibliography of a particular work, e.g. For a work listing various publications on the Emancipation Proclamation:

M1863e Va [where a represents the cutter for the author name]

Biography of Lincoln (Fixed field Biog = b in bibliographic record). 

Classify biographical works on the Lincoln presidency under B. Comprehensive works (including campaign biographies, 1860, 1864), Lincoln as President.

Look at contents to determine the scope of the biography. 

• Classify broad works under B that include both Lincoln's political views and personal views/psychological aspects. Bibliographic record contains LCSH: Lincoln, Abraham, 1808-1865 -- Political and social values. 
• Even if the bibliographic record contains LCSH: Lincoln, Abraham, 1808-1865 -- Political and social values, determine if the focus of the biography is limited to one aspect such as political views (in which case classify as B7) or Lincoln's personal values and traits (classify as B3)

NOTE: 

Classify historical accounts under the Illinois History Collection using Dewey Decimal Classification 973.71 (Civil War -- Political and economic history)

Historical accounts that contain only some biographical information (Fixed field Biog =d in bibliographic record) are classified under the Illinois History Collection (using Dewey Decimal Classification)

Works about the political history of the country (1861-1865) are classified in the Illinois History Collection (using Dewey Decimal Classification 973.7) 

Lincoln as a lawyer. 

NOTE: Classify Lincoln as a statesman under B

General works: Early life to 1861. 

NOTE: Classify campaign biographies under B

Antecedents. Family and parents. Life in Kentucky and Indiana. (To 1830) Mary Lincoln and children (except Robert Todd)

NOTE: Works/biographies on people associated with Lincoln (not family) do not go in the Lincoln collection. Classify such works under the Illinois History Collection (using Dewey Decimal Classification) LCSH: Lincoln, Abraham, 1808-1865 -- Friends and associates.

Works that focus on:

First years in Illinois.

Black Hawk War.

Illinois Legislature.

Professional career (1830-1846)

Works that focus on:

Lincoln as the President-Elect.

Lincoln-Douglas debates (series of seven debates August 1858-October 1858)  

In the Presidential Campaign of 1860.

Inaugural journey from Springfield to Washington (1861) 

In national politics (1846-1861) 

Congressional service. 

Addresses. Sermons. Lectures. Essays.  (Those delivered since his assassination).

NOTE: Historical essays (interpreting historical facts) are classified under the Illinois History Collection (using Dewey Decimal Classification)

Fiction (for all members of Lincoln family)

Fictional graphic novel adaptations.

NOTE: Treat the genre graphic novels as secondary. Classify works that are graphic novels on the basis of the subject matter. For example, a graphic novel adaptation of the Gettysburg Address is classified under N1863gY (a commentary on the Gettysburg Address)

Collected works. Includes complete collections of writings, speeches, addresses, lectures.

Classified by publication date.

Example:

Selected works. Partial editions. Includes partial writings, speeches, addresses, lectures.

Classified by publication date.

Example:

Specific state papers. (Includes proclamations and addresses that are legal documents such as the Emancipation Proclamation, State of the Union, addresses to Congress, message of the president to the House of Congress, 1861 insurrection in the U.S. etc.)

Classified by year of original state paper.

For commentaries and criticisms, add Y and a work mark for the author to the end of the call number for the state paper. 

Publication date of a later edition is on the third line of the call number. 

Example 1:

Example 2

Specific addresses, speeches, lectures, etc. Not collections of speeches.

Classified by year of original speech.  

Publication date of a later edition is on the third line of the call number. 

For commentaries and criticisms, add Y and a work mark for the author to the end of the call number for the speech. 

Common speeches:

Kalamazoo speech: N1856k

Speech in reply to Douglas (prior to Lincoln-Douglas debates): N1857s

House Divided speech: N1858h

Cooper Union Address: N1860a

Inaugural speech: N1861i

Gettysburg Address: N1863g

Last speech: N1865l 

NOTE: Use classification C4 (from Works about Lincoln - national politics) for the Lincoln-Douglas debates (seven debates in 1858)

Example

Note: jo is used as the work mark for the author to avoid a conflict with an existing commentary by Jacobs with work mark j

Letters. By date of publication.

Single letters. Use work mark, after P, for the recipient of the letter, followed by the date of publication.

Special collections of just letters (without other documents) By date of publication. For a work encompassing selections of letters by Lincoln to multiple recipients, after the P, omit the work mark for recipient, and use the date of publication. 

NOTE: For selected letters with other types of documents, classify as K.

Example

Miscellaneous

(alphabetically by editor or title)