Romance languages include those languages that developed from Vulgar Latin, the principal ones being French, Italian, Portuguese, Romanian, and Spanish. Other Romance languages are Catalan, Provencal, Rhaeto-Romanic, and Sardinian.
For Comprehensive works on Romance literatures use 840. For Standard subdivisions, use 840.01-840.09.
Example
| The Spirit of Romance by Ezra Loomis Pound | 840.09 P86s |
See the CAM page Editions, Conferences, & Translations for instructions and codes for cataloging translations.
See individual Romance literature pages for examples.
For a biography of an individual literary critic (a writer whose contribution is considered primarily criticism), or a biography of more than one literary critic (a collected work), use -0092 (individual) or -00922 (collected) respectively:
Examples
| Biography of an individual literary critic of Romance literature authors | 840.092 |
| Biography of more than one literary critic of Romance literature authors | 840.0922 |
| Biography of an individual literary critic of French literature | 840.092 |
| Biography of more than one literary critic of French literature | 840.0922 |
| Biography of an individual literary critic of Italian literature | 850.092 |
| Biography of more than one literary critic of Italian literature | 850.0922 |
| Etc. |
The classification of French literature differs depending on whether the work is by or about an individual author or multiple authors:
For works by or about an individual author, the citation order is to first class together all the works by or about an author, then secondly to subdivide by the Book Number Scheme. If an author and/or cutter is not already established in the catalog, use the following instructions to create a new classification:
| Old and early French to 1400 | 841 |
| Transition & Renaissance periods, 1400-1600 | 842 |
| Classical period, 1600-1715 | 843 |
| 18th Century, 1715-1789 | 844 |
| Revolution to present, 1789-1940/50- | 845 |
| Contemporary authors not already established in the UIUC Catalog, 1940/50- | 846 |
| French-Canadian | 847 |
| Haitian and French Antilles | 847.1 |
| Maghreb (North Africa) | 847.5 |
| Subsarahan Africa (West and Central Africa) | 847.6 |
| Provencal | 848 |
| Provencal, 900-1450 | 848.1 |
| Provencal, 1450- | 848.2 |
| French dialect literature | 849 |
| A | Bibliography |
| B | Biography |
| C | Correspondence |
| D | Critical works (Higher criticism) |
| E | Critical works (Minor & textual) |
| F | Concordances |
| G | Lexicons |
| H | not in use |
| I | Collected or complete works |
| J | Collected or complete works in translation |
| K | Selections & fragments (include prose of a noted poet & vice versa) |
| L | Selections & fragments (include prose of a noted poet & vice versa) in translation |
| M | not in use |
| N | not in use |
| O | Individual works, arranged alphabetically |
Under I-L, arrange by editor, or translator, or, failing these, by date.
Under I-L, add a work mark to the call number for a second title, with the same editor.
Under O, keep editions of the same work separate by date.
Examples
| The Life of Victor Hugo by Brunetiere | 845H87 BB83 |
| Victor Hugo (criticism) by Gautier | 845H87 DG23 |
| Odes & Ballades (of Victor Hugo) | 845H87 K1906 |
| Dramatic Works of Victor Hugo (translated by Slous & Grosland | 845H87 LS63 |
| Les Miserables edited by Sumichrast | 845H87 Om 1954 |
| Les Miserables (translated into English by Hapgord) | 845H87 Om:E |
| Les Maitres Sonneurs de George Sand by Georges Roger | 845Sa19 OmYr |
| Collections in more than one form | 840.8 |
| Criticism, history, and interpretation of more than one form | 840.9 |
| Collections of Poetry | 840.81 |
| Criticism and Interpretation of Poetry | 840.91 |
| Collections of Drama | 840.82 |
| Criticism and Interpretation of Drama | 840.92 |
| Collections of Fiction | 840.83 |
| Criticism and Interpretation of Fiction | 840.93 |
Examples
| Espoir et Parole, Poemes Algeriens compiled by Denise Barrat | 840.81 Es36 |
| The Symbols of French Poetry by Ezra Pound | 840.91 P86s |
For works by or about an individual author, the citation order is to first class together all the works by or about an author, then secondly to subdivide by the Book Number Scheme. The first component of the call number is accomplished using an abbreviated or modified Dewey class number from the following table and an author cutter number.
| Early period to 1375 | 851 |
| Classical learning, 1375-1492 | 852 |
| 1492-1585 | 853 |
| 1585-1814 | 854 |
| 1814-1940/50 | 855 |
| Contemporary authors not already established in the UIUC catalog, 1940/50- | 855.1 |
| Works in and/or about Italian dialects | 856 |
| Sardinian | 857 |
| Romanian (including Wallachian) | 858 |
| Rumansh, Rhastian, Rhaeto-Romanic, Moldavian | 859 |
| A | Bibliography |
| B | Biography |
| C | Correspondence |
| D | Critical works (Higher criticism) |
| E | Critical works (Minor & textual) |
| F | Concordances |
| G | Lexicons |
| H | not in use |
| I* | Collected or complete works |
| J | Collected or complete works in translation |
| K | Selections & fragments (include prose of a noted poet & vice versa) in the original |
| L | Selections & fragments (include prose of a noted poet & vice versa) in translation |
| M | |
| N | |
| O** | Individual works, arranged alphabetically |
*Under I-L arrange by editor, or translator, or, failing these, by date.
*Under I-L, add a work mark to the call number for a second title, with the same editor.
**Under O keep editions of the same work separate by date.
Examples
| Memorie della mia Vita di Giacomo Leopardi | 855L55 BL55 |
| La Personalita e la Poesia di Cecco Angiolieri (criticism by M) | 85lAn4 DM28 |
| La Divina Commedia [by] Dante Alighieri | 851D23 Od |
| Collections in more than one form | 850.8 |
| Criticism, history, and interpretation of more than one form | 850.9 |
BUT:
| Collections of Romanian literature | 858.08 |
| Criticisms of Romanian literature | 858.09 |
| Collections of Poetry | 850.81 |
| Criticism and Interpretation of Poetry | 850.91 |
| Collections of Drama | 850.82 |
| Criticism and Interpretation of Drama | 850.92 |
| Collections of Fiction | 850.83 |
| Criticism and Interpretation of Fiction | 850.93 |
Examples
| The Genius of the Italian Theater by Eric Bentley | 850.82 G71 |
| La Poesia Populare Italiana by A. Ancona | 850.91 An2p |
For works by or about an individual author, the citation order is to first class together all the works by or about an author, then secondly to subdivide by the Book Number Scheme. The first component of the call number is accomplished using an abbreviated or modified Dewey class number from the following table and an author cutter number.
| Early to 1400 | 861 |
| 1400-1553 | 862 |
| Golden age, 1554-1700 | 863 |
| 1700-1800 | 864 |
| 1800- | 865 |
| Works in and/or about Iberian dialects other than Castilian, Catalan and Portuguese, including Asturian/Bable, Aragonese, Navarrese, Ladino?Sephardic, Morisco, Aljamia | 866 |
| Catalan | 867* |
| Portuguese | 868* |
About the Author
| A | Bibliography |
| B | Biography |
| C | Correspondence |
| D | Critical works (Higher criticism) |
| E | Critical works (Minor & textual) |
| F | Concordances |
| G | Lexicons |
| H | not in use |
Examples
| Trueba, Estudio Biografico [by] R. Becerro de Bergoa | 865T76 BB38 |
| Pedro Salinas Frente a la Realidad [by] Olga Costa Viva | 865Sa26 DC82 |
| The Collected Works of Pedro Salinas by T. Fuentes (translated into English) | 865Sa26 JF769 |
| Collections in more than one form | 860.8 |
| Criticism, history, and interpretation of more than one form | 860.9 |
BUT:
| Collections of Portuguese literature | 868.08 |
| Criticisms of Portuguese literature | 868.09 |
| Collections of Poetry | 860.81 |
| Criticism and Interpretation of Poetry | 860.91 |
| Collections of Drama | 860.82 |
| Criticism and Interpretation of Drama | 860.92 |
| Collections of Fiction | 860.83 |
| Criticism and Interpretation of Fiction | 860.93 |
Examples
| Antología de la ciencia ficcíon española, 1982-2002 (compilación y prólogo de Julián Díez) | 860.83 An88 |
| Estudios Literarios Sobre Mistica Espanola [by] H. Hatzfeld | 860.9 H28e |