For works by or about an individual author, the citation order is to first class together all the works by or about an author using the Base Numbers table below, then secondly to subdivide by the Book Number Scheme. The first component of the call number is accomplished using an abbreviated or modified Dewey class number (in the Individual Authors table) and an author cutter number. This is followed by the locally devised UIUC book number:
| A | Bibliography |
| B | Biography |
| C | Correspondence |
| D | Critical works (Higher criticism) |
| E | Concordance |
| F | Lexicons |
| G | Grammatical works |
| H | Text critical works (Minor and textual) |
| I | Collected works or complete works |
| J | Translations of collected or complete works |
| K | Selections & fragments in the original (include prose of a noted poet & vice versa) |
| L | Selections & fragments in translation |
| O | Individual works, arranged alphabetically |
Under I-L arrange by editor, or translator, or, failing these, by date.
Under I-L, add a work mark to the call number for a second title, with the same editor.
Under O keep editions of the same work separate by date.
Examples
| Goethe-Bibliographie by Pyritz | 833G55 AP98 |
| Goethe (a biography) by Wolff | 833G55 BW83 |
| Correspondence (between Goethe and Carlyle) edited by Norton | 833G55 CN82 |
| Goethe und seine Kritiker by Fambach | 833G55 DF21 |
| Per Gebrauch des Partizips bei Goethe by Matthes | 833G55 EM43 |
| Goethe-Handbuch edited by Zastrow | 833G55 FZa1 |
| Notes on Goethe's Poems by Boyd | 833G55 HB69 |
| Gedenkausgabe der Werke by Goethe (edited by Beutler) | 833G55 IB46 |
| Goethe, Complete Works (translated into English by an unknown translator) | 833G55 J1900 |
| Jugendwerke by Goethe (edited by Fischer) | 833G55 KF52 |
| Lirica e gnomica by Goethe (translated into Italian by Amoroso) | 833G55 LAm6 |
| Faust by Goethe (edited by Beutler) (use date as it appears in the 260 field [i.e., 1950; 195-; 19-], however, do not use brackets "[ ]" or "?") |
833G55 Of 1950 |
| Faust by Goethe (translated into English by MacNeice) | 833G55 Of :E |
| Goethe's Faust (a criticism) by Rickert | 833G55 OfYr |
Further examples of works about an individual author
| Schiller's Drama, Talent, and Integrity by Use Graham | 833S33 DG76 |
| Schiller's "Briefe uber die Aesthetische Wilhelm Bohm | 833S33 ObrYb |
| The Life of Friedrich Schiller by Thomas Carlyle | 833S33 BC19 |
| For a work which is a second criticism (by the same critic "K") of the same author "F", add a workmark from the title ("g" in this case) in order to distinguish between the two critical works. | 834F9131 DK969g |
| Collections in more than one form | 830.8 |
| Criticism, history, and interpretation of more than one form | 830.9 |
| Collections of Poetry | 830.81 |
| Criticism and Interpretation of Poetry | 830.91 |
| Collections of Drama | 830.82 |
| Criticism and Interpretation of Drama | 830.92 |
| Collections of Fiction | 830.83 |
| Criticism and Interpretation of Fiction | 830.93 |
Examples
| Die Deutsche Literatur im 1 9 [by] Ernst Alker | 830.9 Al4d |
| Lyrik des Barock, compiler, Marian Szyrocki | 830.81 Sz9l |
It can be hard to distinguish the Scandinavian languages, with Danish and Norwegian being particularly similar. There is no single, simple way to distinguish Danish from Norwegian.
The language code in the fixed field "Lang" can also be used to identify which literature we are dealing with. The codes are:
| dan | Danish |
| nor | Norwegian (includes Nynorsk) |
| swe | Swedish |
If you have a record that has an LC class number, you may be able to determine the language from it:
| LC Number | Language |
| PT7001-7099 | Scandinavian |
| PT7601-8260 | Danish |
| PT8301-8961 PT9100-9155 |
Norwegian |
| PT9000-9094 | New Norse |
| PT9201-9999 | Swedish |
All works in Scandinavian and other Germanic language materials are classed by language under the numbers in the following table, with additional subdivisions added from the Genre table for asterisked numbers. Continue to use any established author call numbers and cutters.
Note: The subdivisions for Danish, Norwegian, and New Norse were not always in use, so check to see if an author was establshed under the undifferentiated number (839.8). Continue to use such previously established numbers. For new authors, use the specific literature number with the appropriate genre digit.
| 892.49 | Yiddish literature. Use -08 and -09 for collections and criticism. Do not use literary form divisions (genre #s). Class Yiddish language in 437.947 as in Dewey 19. |
| 839.1 | Old Saxon, Old Frisian, Old Low Franconian, Old Low German |
| 839.2 | Frisian |
| 839.3* | Netherlands literatures |
| 839.31 | Dutch |
| 839.32 | Flemish |
| 839.36 | Afrikaans |
| 839.4 | Low German (Plattdeutsch) |
| 839.5* | Scandinavian literatures |
| 839.6 | Old Norse (Old Icelandic) |
| 839.69* | Modern Icelandic |
| 839.699* | Faeroese |
| 839.7* | Swedish |
| 839.8* | Danish and Norwegian (all Danish and Norwegian classified before 1980) |
| 839.81* | Danish literature (classified beginning 1980, for collections and for individual authors not previously established in the catalog) |
| 839.82* | Norwegian literature, Bokmal, Riksmal (classified beginning 1980, for collections and for individual authors not previously established) |
| 839.83* | Norwegian literature, Nynorsk, Landsmal (classified beginning 1980, for collections and for individual authors not previously established) |
| 839.9* | East Germanic literatures (Gothic, Vandalic, Burgundian) |
*For classes asterisked above, add to the base number, as appropriate, the following genre numbers:
| Poetry | 1 |
| Drama | 2 |
| Fiction | 3 |
| Essays | 4 |
| Oratory | 5 |
| Letters | 6 |
| Satire and humor | 7 |
| Mixed prose, miscellany | 8 |
Add, as appropriate, the form divisions -01-09 from Dewey 19 (the precursors to the current Standard Subdivisions), but do not extend beyond the first digit:
| Philosophy and theory | -01 |
| Dictionaries, etc. | -03 |
| Serial publications | -05 |
| Organizations and management | -06 |
| Study and teaching | -07 |
| Collections | -08 |
| Criticism, history, and interpretation | -09 |
Examples
| Anthology of Scandinavian poetry | 839.5108 |
| Dictionary of Modern Icelandic literature | 839.6903 |
| History and criticism of Swedish drama | 839.7209 |
| Collection of Danish or Norwegian literature classed before 1980 | 839.808 |
| Poetry by individual Danish or Norwegian author classed before 1980 | 839.81 |
| History and criticism of Danish or Norwegian poetry classed before 1980; but also History and criticism of Danish literature beginning 1980 | 839.8109 |
| Poetry of an individual Danish author beginning 1980 | **839.811 |
| History and criticism of Danish poetry beginning 1980 | 839.81109 |
| Poetry of an individual Norwegian author (Nynorsk) beginning 1980 | **839.831 |
| Drama of an individual Danish or Norwegian author before 1980 | 839.82 |
| Drama of an individual Danish author beginning 1980 | **839.812 |
| Drama of an individual Norwegian author (Nynorsk) beginning 1980 | **839.832 |
Further examples
| Textkritiska studier till Fredmans epistar by Bernhard Risberg | 839.71 B41fYr |
| Carl Michael Bellman by Anton Blanck | 839.71 B41Yb |
| Modern Swedish Poetry in Translation edited by Gunnar Harding | 839.7108 M72 |
| Forays into Swedish Poetry by Lars Gustafsson (translated into English) | 839.7109 G978s:E |