Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Natural and Applied Sciences Archives: Home

These topic guides provide a starting point for finding source materials related to the history of science and technology at the University of Illinois. Please note that these guides are not definitive or comprehensive and are periodically updated.

Archivist

Profile Photo
University Archives
Contact:
Room 146 Library
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
(MC-522)
Telephone: (217) 333-0798
Website
Social: Twitter Page

Related Guides

Cyanotype photo of the interior of the Chemistry Building, now Noyes Laboratory, circa 1910s

Cyanotype photo of the Chemistry Building (now Noyes Laboratory), ca. 1910s

Resources on the History of Science and Technology

As an early promoter of "industrial education," the University of Illinois has a long, rich tradition of innovation in science and technology. Since its establishment in 1963, the University of Illinois Archives has actively acquired and preserved scientific records and faculty papers that capture the evolution of pivotal research ideas, projects, and discovery, and seeks to promote access and discovery to this multifaceted and rich history.

This guide provides a starting point for finding source materials on the history of science and technology. Please note that this guide is not definitive or comprehensive and is periodically updated. Please contact the University Archives with any questions.

Plan a Visit

Hours

Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed
Monday 08:30 AM - 12:00 PM,01:00 PM - 05:00 PM
Tuesday 08:30 AM - 12:00 PM,01:00 PM - 05:00 PM
Wednesday 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM,01:00 PM - 05:00 PM
Thursday 08:30 AM - 12:00 PM,01:00 PM - 05:00 PM
Friday 08:30 AM - 12:00 PM,01:00 PM - 05:00 PM

 

Location

The University Archives' Reading Room is currently located in the Main Library on the first floor in Room 146. The Library's address is 1408 West Gregory Drive, Urbana, IL 61801. 

 

Notices

If you would like to use materials marked in our database as “prior request preferred” please contact us at least 1 business day in advance to request materials. Thanks!

 

Services

The University of Illinois Archives can help you achieve your teaching or research goals. We provide course support, assist you in helping students understand the nature and use of primary source documentation.