About this Guide
The Prairie Research Institute comprises the State Scientific Surveys, the Illinois Sustainable Technology Center, and the Illinois Water Resources Center. Each of these units has an active in-house publication program, with the majority of the content produced freely available online. This guide will help users locate books, reports, and other materials published by Surveys/Centers as well as as well as the work researchers publish in journals and other outlets external to PRI.
Publications of the Prairie Research Institute
Publication series descriptions and access for each of the Surveys/Centers of the Prairie Research Institute Survey/Center can be found on the Survey/Center pages of this guide.
- Full text publications of the Prarie Research Institute in IDEALSMost of the publications produced by the PRI and its Surveys/Centers are available via the University of Illinois institutional repository, IDEALS.
Prairie Research Institute journals on the Illinois Open Publishing Network
The Illinois Open Publishing Network (IOPN) is hosted and coordinated by the University Library, and provides a platform for publishing Open Access journals.
Visit the IOPN website for more information about their online publishing support.
- Illinois Natural History Survey Bulletin
An international, peer-reviewed, open access journal, published continuously since 1896. The complete archive of the Illinois Natural History Survey Bulletin, including newly published issues, is available via the Illinois Open Publishing Network.
__________ - Kentiana
Named for Dr. Lois Kent (1912–1999), ISGS curator of paleontology 1956-1985, Kentiana is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal publishing paleontological research conducted at or in association/collaboration with the Center for Paleontology, Illinois Natural History Survey, Illinois State Geological Survey, and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Recent publications
Bibliographies
- Prairie Research Institute Publications BibliographyComprehensive bibliography of materials published by the PRI and its Surveys/Centers, covering 2008 - through April 2023.
This bibliography includes materials that are not available in IDEALS. - Prairie Research Institute Staff BibliographyExternal publications and presentations by the staff of the Prairie Research Institute, covering 2008 to April 2023.