Publications of the INHS
Most Illinois Natural History Survey publications are available online in IDEALS, and many are also available with additional search functionality via the Biodiversity Heritage Library. Print copies of INHS Publications can be borrowed from the University Library. Publications by INHS staff are indexed in the INHS Staff Bibliography through 2008, and the PRI Staff Bibliography 2008-date.
Illinois Natural History Survey Publications
- Illinois Natural History Survey Bulletin (ISSN 0073-4918, eISSN 2644-0687)
An international, peer-reviewed, open access journal, published continuously since 1896. The complete archive of the Illinois Natural History Survey Bulletin, including newly published issues, is available via the Illinois Open Publishing Network.
__________ - INHS Biological Notes (ISSN 0073-490X)Published 1933-2013. (Ceased)
All issues are available in IDEALS and via the Biodiversity Heritage Library
NOTE: A new ISSN was assigned for the series in 1988 starting with no. 131 (1076-4712), but issues continued to be printed with the original ISSN through final issue no. 143.
__________ - INHS CircularPublished 1918-1987. (Ceased)
All issues available in IDEALS
and via the Biodiversity Heritage Library
________ - INHS Manuals (field guides)Published 1936 - 2015 (Ceased)
Browse INHS Manuals in the Library Catalog from the above link.
Most INHS Manuals are also available online via the Biodiversity Heritage Library
__________ - INHS Reports [newsletter]Published 1962-2017 (Ceased)
1986-2017 are in IDEALS
1962-2013 are in the Biodiversity Heritage Library
The final print issue of INHS Reports publised was no. 411 ( Winter 2014). Online articles continued to be published as "INHS Reports" until the the final issue dated June 15, 2017. For more recent information about INHS projects see the Prairie Research Institute News blog, posts tagged with the "Natural History Survey" category.
__________ - INHS Special PublicationsPublished 1976-2010 (Ceased)
Browse INHS Special Publications in the Library Catalog from the above link.
NOTE: Most INHS Special Publications are available online via the Biodiversity Heritage Library
__________ - INHS Technical ReportsMore than 1500 INHS TechnicalRreports from 1949 to date are available in IDEALS.
See Technical Reports Procedures for information about Archiving INHS Technical Reports.
__________ - INHS educational materials (card sets, etc.)
INHS Educational Materials are available for sale from the link above. Most of these materials are available from the library--search the Library catalog by title to locate a copy to borrow.
__________ - INHS Annual Reports and related administrative documentsA bibliography of annual reports and related documents spanning the entire history of INHS beginning with the founding of the Natural History Society in 1860. Links to digitized copies are provided in the records.
__________
Illinois State Entomologist Documents
The State Entomologist began as an independent office, but became associated with the Illinois State Laboratory of Natural History and later the Illinois Natural History Survey with Forbes' appointment to the role in 1882.
- Report of the State Entomologist on the Noxious and Beneficial Insects of the State of Illinois (Ceased)Available via the Biodiversity Heritage Library. Title varies:
Annual Report on the Noxious Insects of the State of Illinois (vols. 1-5)
Report of the State Entomologist on the Noxious and Beneficial Insects of the State of Illinois, vols. 6-29 - Forbes' contributions to Agricultural Experiment Station publicationsAs State Entomologist, Forbes used Circulars of the Illinois Agricultural Experiment Station (in addition to the INHS Circulars) to communicate with Illinois farmers, establishing a practice of collaboration between INHS and the Illinois Agricultural Experiment Station.
Recent staff publications
Loading ...
External publications by INHS Staff
- INHS staff publications in the PRI Staff Bibliography (2008-April 2023)External publications and presentations by INHS staff 2008 to April 2023 in the PRI staff bibliography.
For lists of recent INHS staff publications, please see Prairie Research Institute in Illinois Experts - INHS Staff Bibliography 1870-2008Publications and presentations by Illinois Natural History Survey Staff, 1870s to 2008.
- INHS Staff Publications and Presentations, full text in IDEALSExternal presentations, reports, and publications by INHS Staff that have been deposited into IDEALS.