Theodore Brown, chemistry professor and founding director of the Beckman Institute, stands at a podium during the Institute's "topping out" ceremony, which occurred when the steel framework of the building was completed, 1987
About Beckman Institute
On October 7, 1985, Arnold and Mabel Beckman announced a gift of $40 million for the purpose of establishing the Arnold O. and Mabel M. Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Beckman, chairman of the board of Beckman Instruments, Inc. and native of Cullom, Illinois, received his bachelor's degree in chemical engineering from the University in 1922 and his master's in physical chemistry in 1923. His gift was conditioned upon a $10 million contribution from the State of Illinois towards the construction of the facility as well as state and University support for its maintenance and operation.
The purpose of the Institute is to apply a new approach to interdisciplinary research in the biological and physical sciences. It is divided into two major areas. The Center for Materials Science, Computers, and Computing emphasizes research on solid-state materials, large-scale integration and systems, and computer and information sciences. The Center for Biology, Behavior, and Cognition focuses on research in molecular life sciences, cell biology, neuroscience, and cognitive science. The interdisciplinary nature of the Institute is intended to lead to a better understanding of human and artificial intelligence.
The Beckman Institute record group can be searched through on the Archive's Holding Database, while other relevant record series are listed below.
Beckman Institute for Advanced Science & Technology Archival Holdings
Administrative Records
- Trustees' Reports, 1867- (Record Series 1/1/802): 63rd report mentions the establishment of the Beckman Institute.
- Jane Hayes Rader Papers (Record Series 1/20/15): Box 2 contains commencement address by Arnold O. Beckman, May 24, 1987.
- Stanley O. Ikenberry General Correspondence File, 1979-2000 (Record Series 2/14/1): Contains correspondence regarding Arnold O. Beckman, Beckman Instruments, and the Beckman Institute.
- Stanley O. Ikenberry News Releases, Statements, and Speeches, 1974-2005 (Record Series 2/14/2): Includes statement on legislative funding approval for the Beckman Institute and a speech from the Institute groundbreaking.
- President James J. Stukel General Correspondence File, 1995-2004 (Record Series 2/15/1): Contains correspondence with Arnold O. Beckman regarding the Beckman Institute.
- Vice President for Academic Affairs Subject File, 1965-2001 (Record Series 5/1/3): See Boxes 81, 93, and 118 for Beckman Institute materials, including photographs and materials regarding the Institute's proposal.
College and Departmental Archives
- Graduate College Administrative Subject File, 1932-2005 (Record Series 7/1/7): Box 11: Graduate College Organization, 1980-87. Includes correspondence, organizational charts, funding, and information on the development of the Beckman Institute.
- National Center for Supercomputing Applications Subject File, 1978-2000 (Record Series 7/5/1): Contains materials on University administration, Theodore "Ted" Brown, and Beckman Institute budget and facilities.
- National Center for Supercomputing Applications Conferences and Meeting Agendas, Minutes, Itineraries, 1982-2001 (Record Series 7/5/9): Contains materials regarding lectures, committee meetings, workshops, and seminars at the Beckman Institute and on Theodore "Ted" Brown.
- Beckman Institute Technical Reports, 1991- (Record Series 7/22/810): Documents research relating to artificial intelligence, robotics, biomolecular electronics, cognitive neuroscience, complex systems, human perception and performance, physical theory, and theoretical biophysics.
- Beckman Institute Integrated Systems Lab Website, 2007- (Record Series 7/22/811)
Faculty and Staff Papers
- Theodore L. Brown Papers (Record Series 15/5/44): Contains correspondence concerning the creation of the Institute and biographical material on the Beckmans.
Publications and Reference Files
- Publications Based on Archives Research, 1966- (Record Series 0/1/21): See Box 2: Morberg, Carl L., "The Beckman Symposium on Biomedical Instrumentation." The Rockefeller University. (1986). See Box 6: Thackery, A. & Myers, M., Arnold O. Beckman: One Hundred Years of Excellence. Chemical Heritage Foundation. Philadelphia, PA. (2000).
- Beckman Institute Publications, 1984- (Record Series 7/22/801): Includes annual reports of the Arnold O. Beckman Endowment listing grant recipients and research projects, a prospectus for the Institute (1986), a brochure for the Open House (2015), as well as additional descriptive and promotional materials.
- Alumni and Faculty Biographical File, 1882-1995 (Record Series 26/4/1): Biographical file for Arnold O. Beckman contains newspaper clippings; Stephens, Harrison, Golden Past Golden Future: The First Fifty Years of Beckman Instruments (Claremont: Claremont University Center, 1985); College of Engineering newsletters; and press releases.
- University Archives Reference File (Record Series 35/3/65): Box 1 includes programs, brochures, publications, and clippings on the history and establishment of the Beckman Institute and Arnold O. Beckman.
- Press Releases (Public Affairs Office) (Record Series 39/1/10): Contains press releases regarding the Beckman Lecture in Science and Innovation, the Beckman Institute and Lectures, and Arnold O. Beckman spanning 1982-2008.
-
Theodore L. Brown Papers (Born Digital Records and Digital Surrogates): Born Digital Records and Digital Surrogates from the Theodore L. Brown Papers include presentation slides and a draft text, concerning Brown's publication "Bridging Divides: The Origins of the Beckman Institute at Illinois". This series also include a digitized audio recording of the Beckman Institute Dedication on April 6th, 1989. The presentations slides are available online. The digitized audio-recording is also available. The draft of the publication is available upon request. Physical records can be found in Record Series:15/5/44 Theodore L. Brown Papers, 1951-1996.
-
William T. Greenough Papers (Born Digital Records): Contains drafts of manuscripts, correspondence, research and teaching material, grant proposals, and biographical sketches concerning William T. Greenough's career as a professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology, Psychology, and Psychiatry, and as director for the Center for Advanced Study and his work at the Beckman Institute. Files are from Professor Greenough's laptop. Additional digital materials are available upon request. Includes complementary information about Greenough's career as director for the Center for Advanced Study and his work at the Beckman Institute as the Co-Director of the Main Research Theme Group on Biological Intelligence. Materials document research collaborations with colleagues, such as on the neurobiology of the fragile X syndrome, cellular mechanisms of memory storage, and aging, as well as his work as editor for the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Physical records can be found in Record Series: 15/19/30 William T. Greenough Papers, 1968-2010.
- Digital Image results for Beckman Institute
Illinois Distributed Museum
- Kristen Allen, "Nancy Sottos", Illinois Distributed Museum.
- Luke Anthenat, "George McConkie", Illinois Distributed Museum.
- Maeve Reilly, "Theodore 'Ted' Brown", Illinois Distributed Museum.
Contact Us
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801
(MC-522)