A complete list of the records relating to the Department of Geology, and the Illinois State Geological Survey are available in the Archives database.

College and Departmental Archives

• The Paleontological Society Records, 1908-19, 1921-28, 1933-95 (Record Series 15/11/100): Includes agendas, brochures, correspondence, financial reports, membership lists and applications, minutes proceedings, news releases, news-letters, pamphlets, statements, questionnaires, materials on symposiums (1967-89), and affiliations with professional organizations including the Society for Economic Paleontologists and Mineralogists (SEPM) (1967-82).  

• Journal of Paleontology Administrative and Editorial Files, 1974-2004 (Record Series 15/11/110): Contains correspondence, financial reports, memoranda, meeting minutes, manuscripts and editorial comments, and copyright permission forms, relating to the creation and operation of Journal of Paleontology; includes declined manuscripts (1974-1999), and materials relating to the Journal of Paleontology website and online publication (1999-2003). 

• Journal of Paleontology Manuscripts File, 1993-2004 (Record Series 15/11/111): Contains correspondence and manuscripts submitted to the Journal of Paleontology. 

• Sepkoski Grant Files, 1995-2012 (Record Series 15/11/112): Contains accepted applications, rejected applications, and correspondence concerning applications for small grants for paleontologists living in Africa, Central and South America, Eastern Europe, republics of the former Soviet Union, island nations of the Caribbean (excluding possessions and territories of the USA and western Europe), and the continent of Africa. 

• Natural History Museum Registers, 1876-1987 (Record Series 15/24/54): Contains books and microfilm of accession records for paleontological objects acquired by the Natural History Museum and recording accession number, source location, date of collection, field number, and remarks describing the object. 

Faculty and Staff Papers

• Harold R. Wanless Papers, 1916-70 (Record Series 15/11/24): Contains materials relating to stratigraphy, sedimentation, paleontological research, and Paleozoic glaciation. 

• Harold W. Scott Papers, 1929-96 (Record Series 15/11/25):  Contains notes and correspondence relating to research work on conodont animals. 

• Morris M. Leighton Papers, 1928-40 (Record Series 44/1/20): Includes minutes of and reports to the National Research Council Executive Board concerning measurement of geological time, and micropaleontology. 

• J. Marvin Weller Papers, 1898-1976 (Record Series 44/3/21): Includes requests for fossil identifications and collection transfers from American and international scholars.

• Frank C. Baker Papers, 1884-1943 (Record Series 15/24/24): Includes photographs, publications, correspondence with friends and colleagues, manuscripts and reprints of articles. 

• Leverett A. Adams Papers, 1919-61 (Record Series 15/24/25): Contains materials relating to fossils and evolution. 

Alumni Records

• Howard R. Cramer Papers, 1946-1950 (Record Series 41/30/24): Includes student notes, lab manuals, and course papers for advanced undergraduate and graduate level courses in Paleontological Geology taught by Professors Carlton Chapman, Jack Hough, Bernhard Kummel, Harold Scott, Harold Wanless, and George White. 

Publications and Reference Files

• Educational Series, 1929-1931, 1959- (Record Series 44/1/807): Includes the non-technical bulletins Field Book on plant fossils (1960) and Guide for Beginning Fossil Hunters (1959). 
• University Archives Reference File (Record Series 35/3/65): Contains files on the Geological Survey, and the Natural History Survey. 

Other Resources

• The Prairie Research Institute for Paleontology collections include Early Miocene amber, fossil insects, fossil plants, fossil pollen, coal balls, and marine, freshwater, and terrestrial fossils from the Cambrian Period to the Pleistocene epoch.