A complete list of the record series relating to the Plant Biology Department is available in the Archives database.

College and Departmental Archives

• Departmental Correspondence, 1879...1912 (Record Series 15/4/1): Contains Botany Professor Thomas J. Burrill's correspondence with presidents, deans, faculty at UIUC and other universities, the superintendent of buildings, and the registrar concerning botany, bacteriology, vegetable physiology, organic evolution, plants, the botanical laboratory, the herbarium, bacteriological examination of Illinois River waters, and other subjects.
• Departmental Subject File, 1914...1981 (Record Series 15/4/2): Contains correspondence concerning courses, personnel, publications, research, and space.
• Statistical Reports, 1964-1971 (Record Series 15/4/5): Contains Bureau of Instructional Research printouts showing staff appointments and time allocated to instruction, research, and service.
• Plant Pathology Slides, 1914-1940 (Record Series 15/4/19): Contains glass slides of plant pathology photographs of Thomas J. Burrill; laboratories; plant diseases; maps showing infestations; Dutch Elm disease; and charts showing financial losses due to blight, rot, rust, smut, spot, and wilt.

Faculty and Staff Papers

• Thomas J. Burrill Papers (Record Series 15/4/20): Contains materials on bacteriology, plant pathology, microscopy, and the application of scientific research to the agricultural and commercial needs of the state.
• Charles F. Hottes Papers (Record Series 15/4/21): Includes materials relating to plant physiology and adaptations, cytology, botanical research, German science, lumbering, and travelogues.
• William Trelease Papers (Record Series 15/4/22): Includes materials on biologists, taxonomy, oaks and agave, Wood's Hole, Missouri Botanical Garden, and the history of biology.
• Eugene Rabinowitch Papers (Record Series 15/4/23): Contains materials relating to atomic energy, molecular structure, the National Science Foundation, nuclear policy, photochemistry, photosynthesis research, the role of scientists in society, spectroscopy, wave theory, international scientific meetings, photobiology and biophysics, and University affairs.
• Arthur G. Vestal Papers (Record Series 15/4/24): Contains documents on botany field trips, grasslands research, and plant communities.
• Harry J. Fuller Papers (Record Series 15/4/25): Contains materials related to botanical instruction and the Plant Science Bulletin.
• Robert Emerson Papers (Record Series 15/4/28): Includes materials on the Photosynthesis Project, algae cultures, the Emerson memorial fund, and administrative matters.
• Lindsay M. Black Papers (Record Series 15/4/29): Includes files on plant viruses and cell structures.

Publications and Reference Files

• University Archives Reference File (Record Series 35/3/65): Contains files on Botany; Thomas J. Burrill; Charles Hottes; Plant Pathology; and the Plant Sciences Building.

Other Resources

• Records relating to the Applied Botany and Plant Pathology Section of the Illinois Natural History Survey.