A complete list of Department of Astronomy record series is available in the Archives database.

College and Departmental Archives

• Observatory History (Record Series 15/3/12): Includes materials relating to the development of astronomy and the construction of observatories.
• Glass Slides, 1969-1988 (Record Series 15/3/13): Contains slides and logbooks from the Prairie Observatory documenting observations of unique phenomena and objects.

Faculty and Staff Papers

• George C. McVittie Papers (Record Series 15/3/20): Includes materials relating to unified field theory, cosmological research, and World War II cryptographic service; reprints of European meetings on radio astronomy, gravitation, and astronomy; and correspondence regarding astronomical observations, astronomy, British scientists, cosmology, general relativity, gravitational collapse, mathematics, publication of scientific articles, radio astronomy, red-shifts, and university matters. Correspondents include Albert Einstein, Charles Darwin, Sherman C. Lowell, Allan R. Sandage, Harlow Shapley, Abe H. Taub, and Edmund Whittaker.
• Joel Stebbins Papers (Record Series 15/3/21): Includes publications, research, and articles concerning the use of selenium photoelectric cells to measure astronomical bodies, variations and eclipsing of stars, and results of the photoelectric study of stars.  
• Helene R. Dickel Papers (Record Series 15/3/22): Includes materials concerning star-forming regions, supernova remnants, radio astronomy, and observations at the Very Large Array (VLA) radio interferometer.
• Sidney Rosen Papers (Record Series 15/3/23): Includes materials concerning astronomy at the University; publishing of Rosen's science textbooks and books for children; and involvement in scientific committees and associations, including the National Association for Research in Science Teaching and the National Science Teachers Association.  
• Larry Smarr Papers (Record Series 15/3/24): Includes materials relating to conferences and associations like the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA) and the National Science Foundation (NSF); directorship of the NCSA; research on black holes, astronomical topics, and supercomputing; the book Supercomputing and the Transformation of Science (1992), written with William J. Kaufmann III; and other publications and correspondences.

Publications and Reference Files

• University Archives Reference File (Record Series 35/3/65): Contains files on the campus Observatory and the Radio Telescope Site at Vermillion River Observatory.