A complete list of record series relating to the Department of Physiology and Biophysics is available in the Archives database.

College and Departmental Archives

• Staff Appointments File, 1947-1970 (Record Series 15/17/2): Contains materials concerning staff appointments, including correspondence relating to appointment and service of academic staff.
• History of the Physiology Department, 1957-1961 (Record Series 15/17/10): Contains a typescript history of the Physiology Department, 1861-1960, by Professor Walter P. Elhardt (1891-1962).
• Announcements, 1961, 1964- (Record Series 15/17/803): Contains announcements of graduate study programs in physiology, biophysics, insect physiology, and biometeorology.
• Newsletters, 1949...1967 (Record Series 15/17/805): Contains annual newsletters covering activities of the staff, students, and departments and news of sabbaticals, research projects, graduate students, alumni, and campus activities.
• Departmental Reprints and Publications Lists (Record Series 15/17/808): Contains collected reprints from the department (vol. 1, 1909-1921) and a list of publications by W.E. Burge and coworkers (1935). 
• Histories, 1959, 1961 (Record Series 15/17/810): Contains copies of a printed "Short History of the Physiology Department on the Urbana Campus" by Walter P. Elhardt and a duplicated copy of "History and Publications of the Faculty, 1849-1961," containing departmental news, staff lists, and annual lists of faculty activities and publications.

Faculty and Staff Papers

• Frederic R. Steggerda Papers (Record Series 15/17/20): Includes research concerning stresses on the human gastrointestinal tract for USDA, USAF, and NASA; and research on calcium metabolism.
• Govindjee Papers (Record Series 15/17/21): Includes materials concerning photosynthesis, chlorophyll in photosynthesis, fluorescence induction, and bacterial photosynthesis.
• Don C. DeVault Papers (Record Series 15/17/22): Includes materials on conferences and meetings, emigration of dissident Russian scientists, NSF grants, Britton Chance, and Linus Pauling; and research and other materials regarding photosynthesis, protein structure, split beam spectra, DB spectra, porphyridium, chromatium, radiation safety, holography, oscillating electron tunneling, virtual state tunneling, electron transfer, energy gap, cytochromes, photooxidation, reduction oxidation, cancer, the moon, statistics, quantum mechanics, high pressure work, filter design, solar cells, phonon deduction, and quinanes.
• C. Ladd Prosser Papers (Record Series 15/17/23): Includes materials concerning Prosser's tenure as head of the Department of Physiology.
• William T. Greenough Papers (Record Series 15/19/30): Includes materials relating to research on the neurobiology of fragile X syndrome, brain development and maturation, cellular signaling in brain plasticity in learning, and memory.