A complete list of record series relating to the Department of Microbiology is available in the Archives database.

College and Departmental Archives

• Microbiology Department Subject File, 1957-1959 (Record Series 15/15/1): Contains correspondence relating to the Fred W. Tanner Memorial Fund.
• Promotional Brochures (Record Series 1/15/801): Includes an announcement of the summer school of biology; third summer opening of the Illinois Biological Station at Havana (1898); "What is Bacteriology" (1958); and "MCB: A Magazine," the first newsletter of the school of MCB (2007).
• Publications of the Staff, 1963-1978 (Record Series 15/15/802): Contains reprints of articles from scientific journals about research on bacteria, viruses, diseases, DNA and RNA genomes, amino acids, and other research in microbiology.
• Open House and Lecture Announcements and Programs, 1912...1940 (Record Series 15/15/805): Includes lecture announcements (1912, 1919) and biology open house announcements (1938) and programs (1938, 1940).
• Building Programs, 1959 (Record Series 15/15/809): Includes a program for the September 8, 1959 dedication of Burrill Hall and a brochure containing data on the building and floor plans. 
• History, 1959 (Record Series 15/15/810): Contains A Short History of the Department of Bacteriology, prepared when the department was reorganized, moved to Burrill Hall, and its name changed to Microbiology.

Faculty and Staff Papers

• Fred W. Tanner Papers (Record Series 15/15/20): Contains biographical data, research and publications in bacteriology, awards, and correspondence with the Mellon Institute.
• Edward W. Voss, Jr. Papers (Record Series 15/15/21): Includes Voss's master's thesis, doctoral dissertation, and books authored or co-authored by Voss.
• Carl Woese Papers (Record Series 15/15/22): Contains materials concerning microbiology, evolution, the genetic code, bacteria, translation, ribosome, ribosomal RNA sequencing, bacterial taxonomy, discovery of Archaea, trees of life, origin of life, exobiology, Charles Darwin, the MacArthur Award, the Leeuwenhoek Medal, the Crafoord Prize, NASA, the National Science Foundation, the Office of Naval Research, the Institute for Genomic Biology, and the Department of Microbiology. Digitized records are available.

Publications and Reference Files

• University Archives Reference File (Record Series 35/3/65): Contains a reference file on Microbiology.