Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Find Primary Source Materials in Special Collections, Archives, and Digital Libraries

This guide for advanced researchers focuses on finding special collections, archives, and digital libraries resources on particular individuals or topics.

Welcome

This guide is for advanced researchers who are focused on finding special collections, archives, and digital libraries with resources on particular topics or individuals. 

Some of the resources listed here are available in digital formats online, but others require traveling to an archive in person. If you plan to visit an archive, we recommend contacting them in advance to let them know you are coming and ask if there is anything you need to do to prepare for your visit to their collection.

Please note that this guide does not focus on collections related to the University of Illinois. Below are guides which do focus on these resources:

Subject Specialists

Our Library has many subject librarians who can assist you with your research. You can find their contact information, as well as the U of I library focused on your subject discipline, by looking at this list of the Library's Subject Specialists.

Below are topical guides on finding primary sources in your area: