Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Cataloging Services: Using Alma

Acquisitions & Cataloging Services

Relink Holding Record from IZ Bibliographic Record to NZ Bibliographic Record

You may find a minimal level bibliographic record in the Institution Zone that is not linked to the Network Zone. The minimal level bibliographic record in the IZ may have a holding attached. In that case, find a full-level bibliographic record in the NZ and move the holding record from the minimal IZ bib to the full-level NZ bib. If the minimal level IZ bib has a purchase order attached it will have to be moved as well, in which case refer this to a cataloger with the requisite permissions to move a PO with inventory.

  1. An unlinked IZ bib does not have a home icon next to the title.

          

  1. Find a full-level bibliographic record in the Network Zone to match the item in hand and make a note of the MMS ID.
  2. Transfer the holding record from the minimal level IZ bib record to the full level NZ bib record as follows:
    • Go to the minimal level record in the Institution Zone.
    • Go to the List of Holdings.
    • Click on the holding record ellipsis and select Relink.
    • The holding record opens in the Metadata Editor in a split-screen view. The holding record is on the left and a search panel on the right.
    • Select Network and use the MMS ID of the full-level NZ bibliographic record to search for it.
    • Then click the Relink button.

      A message appears confirming that the holding record has been relinked.

  1. In the Institution Zone there are now two bibliographic records:
    • An empty minimal level bibliographic record (from which the holding was transferred).
    • A full level bibliographic record linked to the NZ. The holding record is attached to the full-level IZ bib.
  2. The minimal level record in the Institution Zone is no longer needed, so retrieve it by MMS ID and suppress it as follows:
    • Click Edit Record to open the bibliographic record in the Metadata Editor.
    • In Tools > Set Management Tags > check Suppress from Discovery.