Population:
3,840,000
Capital:
Sarajevo; 579,000
Area:
51,129 square kilometers (19,741 square miles)
Language:
Croatian, Serbian, Bosnian
Religion:
Muslim, Orthodox, Roman Catholic
Currency:
Marka
Life Expectancy:
72
GDP per Capita:
U.S. $1,900
Literacy Percent:
97
ECONOMY
Industry: Steel, coal, iron ore, lead, zinc, manganese, bauxite, vehicle assembly
Agriculture: Wheat, corn, fruits, vegetables; livestock
Exports: Metals, clothing, wood products
—Text From National Geographic Atlas of the World, Eighth Edition
1464
Mehmed II and the Ottoman Turks conquer Bosnia, where a large number of noble families convert to Islam
1517
From Bosnia to Egypt and Arabia, the Ottoman Turks now rule the largest Muslim empire since the early caliphate
1878
A congress in Berlin agrees that Austria may administer the Turkish province of Bosnia-Herzegovina
1908
Austria annexes Bosnia-Herzegovina, in response to the policy of the Young Turks in Istanbul
1991
The parliament in Bosnia-Herzegovina votes to secede from the crumbling Yugoslavia
1992
Fighting intensifies between Serbs and Croats, Christians and Muslims, for territory within Bosnia-Herzegovina
1992
Serbian president Slobodan Milosevic encourages ethnic cleansing by paramilitaries in Bosnia
1995
The US hosts peace talks in Dayton, Ohio, between Serbia, Croatia and Bosnia to end the Bosnian civil war
For more timeline information visit BBC News.
Image from Encyclopedia Britannica
The Europa World Plus entry for Bosnia Herzegovina provides a strong introductory overview to the history of the country, starting in 1995.
Additionally, this Encyclopedia Article provides a thorough history dating back to the Bronze Age, and continues through the present. The references informing this article are thoroughly documented, and quite helpful.
While UCLA’s previously wonderful resource, the Language Materials Project, is unfortunately currently unfunded, the UCLA Slavic, East European & Eurasian Languages & Cultures website provides a wonderful overview of the history of the Bosnian language. Beyond history, this page covers linguistic affiliation, language variation orthography, the language’s role in society and provides a linguistic sketch.
A language of Bosnia and Herzegovina
| 2,000,000 in Bosnia and Herzegovina (2004). Population total all countries: 2,203,800. | |
| Region | Also in Croatia, Montenegro, Serbia. |
| Dialects | Ijekavían, Ikavian. Shares lexical items with both Serbian [srp] and Croatian [hrv]. |
| Classification | Indo-European, Slavic, South, Western A member of macrolanguage Serbo-Croatian [hbs] (Serbia). |
| Language use | Official language. |
| Language development | Literacy rate in L2: 97%. Dictionary. Bible: 1804–1968. |
| Writing system | Latin script. |
| Comments | There are influences from Turkish [tur] and Arabic [arb]. SVO. Muslim, Christian, Jewish. |
| Language name | Bosnian |
| Population | 20,800 in Croatia (2001 census). |
| Dialects | Ijekavían, Ikavian. |
| Comments | Influences from Turkish and Arabic. |
| Language name | Bosnian |
| Population | 48,000 in Montenegro (2006). |
| Dialects | Ijekavían, Ikavian. |
| Comments | There are influences from Turkish and Arabic. |
| Language name | Bosnian |
| Population | 135,000 in Serbia (2006). |
| Dialects | Ijekavían, Ikavian. |
| Comments | Influences from Turkish and Arabic. |
From Ethnologue.com
