Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Resources for the Study of the Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian Languages: Folk Culture

Supplementary materials to support first year language program

Folk Resources

Sixty folk-tales from exlusively Slavonic Sources 

This is a free e-book containing 60 different Slavic folk tales, originally compiled in the late 1800s.

Folk Dance--The Kolo

The Kolo is a folk dance performed in the all of the countries of the South Slavic region and each has its own version.  While there is almost no movement above the waist, the dancer must master complicated steps for this dance.

The many folk dances of the region have a following outside of the area.  Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, and Serbia all have their own traditional versions of the Kolo.

Bosnia and Herzegovina Folk Culture

Traditional Arts and Crafts in Bosnia and Herzegovina 

This link gives an overview of the beautifully illustrated of the folk arts of Bosnia and Herzegovina. From folk dress to wood carving it is a really great introduction to the subject.

Bosnia and Herzegovina Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture

Library of Congress offers a research center called the Americana Folklife Center which offers a collection in the Archive of Folk Culture for Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Hayat Folk

A specialized television channel in Bosnia Herzegovina that is dedicated to folk music of the country.

Intangible Cultural Heritage

UNESCO offers resources on the intangible cultural heritage of Bosnia Herzegovina.

Croatian Folk Culture

Croatia Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture

Library of Congress offers a research center called the Americana Folklife Center which offers a collection in the Archive of Folk Culture for Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Feasibility Study for Croatian Traditional Arts and Crafts

A study for UNESCO to create a similar overview to the above overview of folk arts of Bosnia Herzegovina, but with Croatian folk art. Contains some beautiful photographs.

Intangible Cultural Heritage

UNESCO offers resources on the intangible cultural heritage of Croatia.

Serbian Folk Culture

Ethnographic Museum in Belgrade 

You can find all kinds of information on the folk traditions of Serbia through this wonderfully curated Museum’s website.

Serbia.com

This website provides information about Serbian ethnic heritage, national dance, and folk music.

Serbian National Library

The Serbian National Library cultivates special collections in the context of preserving and protecting cultural heritage.

Intangible Cultural Heritage

UNESCO offers resources on the intangible cultural heritage of Serbia.