Dictionaries and Encyclopedias in MLA Style
Below, you will see examples of dictionaries and encyclopedias cited in the MLA style. For more information on how to read these examples, see the Getting Started page of this LibGuide (see the tabs to the left.)
Examples of Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Example Item
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Call Number: ML100 G76N382001
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Reference Work. Edited by Names of Editors, edition (if stated), volume, Publisher, Date of Publication, page numbers (only include if the encyclopedia is not in alphabetical order).
EXAMPLE:
Sadie, Stanley and John Tyrell, eds. "Balsys, Eduardas." The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd Edition, Volume 2, Grove, 2001.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of Author, Volume Number For Encyclopedias Only, Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Sadie and Tyrell 109)
See Also: MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online) by Online Resource; available on campus or with NetID
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Reference Work, Edition (if stated), Volume, Publisher, Date of Publication, URL or DOI.
EXAMPLE:
Wolff, Christoph, and Walter Emery. “Bach, Johann Sebastian.” Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online. Oxford University Press, 20 Jan. 2001, doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.6002278195.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of Author, Volume Number For Encyclopedias Only, Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Wolff 206)