Journal Articles, Magazines, and Reviews in Chicago/Turabian Style
Below, you will see examples of journal articles, magazines, and reviews cited in the Chicago/Turabian style. For more information on how to read these examples, see the Getting Started page of this LibGuide (see the tabs to the left.)
Examples of Journal Articles, Magazines, and Reviews
Example Item
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume Number, no. Issue (Date of Publication): page range. URL or DOI.
EXAMPLE:
Watkins, Holly. “Toward a Post-Humanist Organicism.” Nineteenth-Century Music Review 14, no. 1 (2017): 93-114. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1479409816000306.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author Name, "Title of Article, "Journal Title Volume (just the number), no. Issue (Date of Publication): Page Numbers, DOI or URL.
EXAMPLE:
1. Holly Watkins, “Toward a Post-Humanist Organicism,” Nineteenth-Century Music Review 14, no. 1 (2017): 95, https://doi.org/10.1017/S1479409816000306.
See Also: CMoS 13.26 - Journal article
CMoS 14.69 - Title of journal
CMoS 14.65 - Journals versus magazines
CMoS 13.110 - Author-date—journal article
CMoS 14.64 - Information to be included
CMoS 9.29 - Volume, issue, and page numbers for periodicals
CMoS 14.66 - Basic structure of a periodical citation
CMoS 14.86: Electronic supplements or enhancements to journal articles
Example Item
Although we have included a template and example of a bibliographic entry, magazine articles can often be cited in-text or in footnotes/endnotes without being included in the bibliography.
"Paul Rolland's Tension-Free Philosophy" (The Strad)
https://www.thestrad.com/teaching/paul-rollands-tension-free-philosophy/8300.article
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year.
EXAMPLE:
Smith, Charlotte. "Paul Rolland's tension-free philosophy." The Strad, November 2018.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author First Name Author Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Magazine Month, Day, Year, page nos.
EXAMPLE:
1. Charlotte Smith, "Paul Rolland's tension-free philosophy," The Strad, November 2018, 30-37.
See Also: CMoS 14.87 - Basic citation format for magazine articles
CMoS 14.65 - Journals versus magazines
CMoS 9.29 - Volume, issue, and page numbers for periodicals
CMoS 14.66 - Basic structure of a periodical citation
CMoS 14.64 - Information to be included
Example Item
Although we have included a template and example of a bibliographic entry, newspaper articles can often be cited in-text or in footnotes/endnotes without being included in the bibliography.
"The Other Guys Celebrate 50 Years" (The Daily Illini)
https://dailyillini.com/life_and_culture-stories/2019/03/25/the-other-guys-celebrate-50-years/
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year. URL if applicable.
EXAMPLE:
Jammu, Rohit. "The Other Guys celebrate 50 years." The Daily Illini, March 25, 2019. https://dailyillini.com/life_and_culture-stories/2019/03/25/the-other-guys-celebrate-50-years/.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author First Name Author Last Name, brief description of content OR "Title of Article", Title of Newspaper, Month, Day, Year, edition information AND/OR URL.
EXAMPLE:
1. Rohit Jammu, "The Other Guys celebrate 50 years," The Daily Illini, March 25, 2019, https://dailyillini.com/features/2019/03/25/the-other-guys-celebrate-50-years/.
See Also: CMoS 14.89 - Basic citation format for news articles
CMoS 14.91 - Titles of newspapers
CMoS 14.90 - Newspaper headlines
CMoS 9.29 - Volume, issue, and page numbers for periodicals
CMoS 14.66 - Basic structure of a periodical citation
CMoS 14.64 - Information to be included
CMoS 14.96 - Citing a newspaper article in text rather than in a bibliography
Example Item
Review of Lucia de Lammermoor (American Record Guide)
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Review of Title of Reviewed Item (use italics or in parentheses based on publication type), by Author of Reviewed Item. Title of Publication and Publication Information (format according to the publication type) page nos. Accession information if applicable.
EXAMPLE:
Lucano, Ralph. Review of Lucia da Lammermoor by San Francisco Opera, Jesus Lopez-Cobos, Beverly Sills, Luciano Pavarotti, Raymond Wolanski, and Simon Estes. American Record Guide 71, no. 6 (2008): 239.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Review of Title of Reviewed Item (place in either italics or in parentheses based on publication type), by Author of Reviewed Item, Title of Publication and Publication Information (format according to the publication type) page nos. OR accession information.
EXAMPLE:
1. Ralph Lucano, review of Lucia da Lammermoor by San Francisco Opera, Jesus Lopez-Cobos, Beverly Sills, Luciano Pavarotti, Raymond Wolanski, and Simon Estes, American Record Guide 71, no. 6, 2008, 239.