Dissertations and Theses in MLA Style
Below, you will see examples of dissertations and theses cited in the MLA style. For more information on how to read these examples, see the Getting Started page of this LibGuide (see the tabs to the left.)
Examples of Dissertations and Theses
Example Item
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Dissertation/Thesis. Year. University conferring degree, Type of Degree.
EXAMPLE:
Long, Sarah Ann. The Chanted Mass in Parisian Ecclesiastical and Civic Communities, 1480-1540: Local Liturgical Practices in Manuscripts and Early Printed Service Books. 2008. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Ph.D. dissertation.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Author Last Name, Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Long 7)
See Also: MLA Handbook 5.51-5.53 - Number Element in Works Cited
MLA handbook 5.38-5.47 - Contributor Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Promiscuity, Fetishes, and Irrational Functionality in Thomas Ades's Powder Her Face by Kyle Shaw
Online resource; available on campus or with NetID
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Dissertation/Thesis. Year. University conferring degree, Type of Degree. Database, URL or DOI.
EXAMPLE:
Shaw, Kyle. Promiscuity, Fetishes, and Irrational Functionality in Thomas Adès’s Powder Her Face. 2018. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, A.Mus.D. dissertation. IDEALS @ Illinois, hdl.handle.net/2142/99697.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Author Last Name, Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Shaw 3-4)