Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Writing Citations in Music

Grove Music Online (Oxford Music) and The New Grove Dictionary of Music

If an online version is used. CMoS 14.233 - Reference Works Consulted Online

Bibliography

Common encyclopedias (such as Grove), do not need to be included in your Bibliography. Others should be cited as below.

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Grove Music Online. Edited by Deane Root. Access date. Doi or url.


Wolff, Christoph and Walter Emery. "Bach, Johann Sebastian." Grove Music Online. Edited by Deane Root. Accessed April 27, 2019. https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.6002278195.

Notes

1. Author Name, "Title of Article," Grove Music Online, ed. Deane Root, access date, doi or url.


1. Christoph Wolff and Walter Emery, “Bach, Johann Sebastian,” Grove Music Online, ed. Deane Root, accessed April 27, 2019, https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.6002278195.

Grove (Print Version)

Bibliography

Article Author Last Name, First. "Title of Article." The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell. London: Macmillan, 2001. Volume: page number.


Neighbour, O.W. "Schoenberg, Arnold." The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell. London: Macmillan, 2001. xvii: 745.

Notes

1. Article Author First Name Last, "Title of Article," The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, eds. Stanley Sadie and John Tyrell (London: Macmillan, 2001), Volume, page number.


1. O.W. Neighbour, "Schoenberg, Arnold," The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, eds. Stanley Sadie and John Tyrell (London: Macmillan, 2001), xvii: 745.

 

Other Reference Works (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)

Some Encyclopedias list the author of a particular article (these are considered "signed entries") whereas most others do not list the author ("unsigned entries").

If a print version is used. CMoS 14.232 - Reference Works Consluted in Print

Bibliography

Common encyclopedias (such as Grove), do not need to be included in your Bibliography. Others should be cited as below.

Publication Title. Editor's Name. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.


Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Encyclopedia. Publication Location: Publisher, Year of Publication.

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart. Edited by Ludwig Finscher. 2nd ed. Kassel: Bärenreiter, 1994-2007.

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. Edited by Bruno Nettl and Ruth Stone. New York: Garland, 1998-2002.

Kubik, Gerhard and Artur Simon. "Afrika südlich der Sahara." In Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart, edited by Ludwig Finscher, 2nd ed. (Kassel: Bärenreiter, 1994-2007), s.v. "Afrika südlich der Sahara."

Notes

1. Publication Title, editors, edition (Publication Location: Publisher, Year of Publication), s.v. "Title of Article."


1. Reinhard Wiesend, "Baccanale," Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (Kassel: Bärenreiter-Verlag, 1994), 1105-7.

2. Encyclopedia Britannica, 15th ed. (1980), s.v. "salvation."

3. Ward Keeler, "Burma," in The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, eds. Terry E. Miller and Sean Williams (New York: Garland, 1998). (v 4 of 10)

4. Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart, ed. Ludwig Finscher, 2nd ed. (Kassel: Bärenreiter, 1994-2007), s.v. "Afrika südlich der Sahara."

For "signed entries"

5. Kubik, Gerhard and Artur Simon. "Afrika südlich der Sahara." In Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart, ed. Ludwig Finscher, 2nd ed. (Kassel: Bärenreiter, 1994-2007), s.v. "Afrika südlich der Sahara." (v 1 or 20)