Skip to Main Content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Citing Sources in the Performing Arts

Journal Articles, Magazines, and Reviews in MLA Style

Below, you will see examples of journal articles, magazines, and reviews cited in the MLA style. For more information on how to read these examples, see the Getting Started page of this LibGuide (see the tabs to the left.)

Examples of Journal Articles, Magazines, and Reviews

Example Item

Image of cover of "Nineteenth-Century Music Review" journal “Toward a Post-Humanist Organicism" by Holly Watkins

 Online Resource; available on campus or with NetID


Bibliography

TEMPLATE:

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages.

 

EXAMPLE:

Watkins, Holly. “Toward a Post-Humanist Organicism.” Nineteenth-Century Music Review, vol. 14, no. 1, 2017, pp. 93–114. DOI:10.1017/s1479409816000306.


In-Text Citation

TEMPLATE:

(Author Last Name, Pages)

 

EXAMPLE:

(Watkins 99-100)


See Also: MLA Handbook 5.51-5.53 - Number Element in Works Cited
MLA handbook 5.38-5.47 - Contributor Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It

Example Item


Bibliography

TEMPLATE:

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Day Month Year, pages.

 

EXAMPLE:

Smith, Charlotte. “Paul Rolland's Tension-Free Philosophy.” The Strad, Nov. 2018, pp. 30–37.


In-Text Citation

TEMPLATE:

(Author Last Name, Pages)

 

EXAMPLE:

(Smith 32)


See Also: MLA Handbook 5.51-5.53 - Number Element in Works Cited
MLA handbook 5.38-5.47 - Contributor Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It

Example Item


Bibliography

TEMPLATE:

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Website, Publisher, Publication date [Day Month Year], URL.

 

EXAMPLE:

Jammu, Rohit. “The Other Guys Celebrate 50 Years.” The Daily Illini, Illini Media Company, 25 Mar. 2019, dailyillini.com/features/2019/03/25/the-other-guys-celebrate-50-years/.


In-Text Citation

TEMPLATE:

(Author Last Name, Pages)

 

EXAMPLE:

(Jammu 1)


See Also: MLA Handbook 5.51-5.53 - Number Element in Works Cited
MLA handbook 5.38-5.47 - Contributor Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It

Example Item

American Record Guide - Convivium Records Review of Lucia de Lammermoor (American Record Guide)

 https://www.americanrecordguide.com/


Bibliography

TEMPLATE:

Review Author. "Title of Review (if there is one)." Review of Performance Title, by Author/Director/Artist. Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, page.

 

EXAMPLE:

Lucano, Ralph. Review of Lucia da Lammermoor, by San Francisco Opera, Jesus Lopez-Cobos, Beverly Sills, Luciano Pavarotti, Raymond Wolanski, and Simon Estes. American Record Guide 71.6 (2008), 239.


In-Text Citation

TEMPLATE:

(Author Last Name, Pages)

 

EXAMPLE:

(Lucano 239)


See Also: MLA Handbook 5.51-5.53 - Number Element in Works Cited
MLA handbook 5.38-5.47 - Contributor Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It