Recordings and Performances in MLA Style
Below, you will see examples of recordings and performances cited in the MLA style. For more information on how to read these examples, see the Getting Started page of this LibGuide (see the tabs to the left.)
Examples of Recordings and Performances
Example Item
This refers to when you are citing the performance itself; if you are citing a specific recording of a performance, use the appropriate format as seen in the other tabs in this box.
Heartbreak House by George Bernard Shaw
Live Performance
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Name of creator of the performed work. Title of the performed work. Directed by Director, performed by performers, date of performance, venue of performance.
EXAMPLE:
Shaw, George Bernard. Heartbreak House. Directed by Robin Lefevre, performances by Philip Bosco and Swoosie Kurtz, Roundabout Theatre Company, 1 Oct. 2006, American Airlines Theatre, New York.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of Creator)
EXAMPLE:
(Shaw)
See Also: MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
"Title of Episode." Title of Podcast from Name of Podcast Creator, Date of Episode, link to the episode.
EXAMPLE:
“Best of Not My Job Musicians.” Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me! from NPR, 4 June 2016, www.npr.org/podcasts/344098539/wait-wait-don-t-tell-me.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
("Title of Episode (abbreviate if appropriate)")
EXAMPLE:
("Best")
See Also: MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Special by Call Number: CDISC M1630.18 .L59S6 2022
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Artist. "Title of Track" (if talking about a particular track and not the entire album). Album, performed by Name of Performers (if different from the artist), Record Label, Year. Spotify, Spotify link.
EXAMPLE:
Lizzo. "Birthday Girl". Cuz I Love You (Deluxe), Nice Life / Atlantic, 2019, Spotify, https://open.spotify.com/album/1NgFBv1PxMG1zhFDW1OrRr?si=zaSwjgrGQi6CxBiQ9MBKZw.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of Creator)
EXAMPLE:
(Lizzo)
See Also: MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
If the author is not known, simply omit that field when citing these types of sources.
Online Resource
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author last name, Author first name. "Title of Video." YouTube, uploaded by Name of Uploading Channel, date uploaded, URL.
EXAMPLE:
McGonigal, Jane. “Gaming and Productivity.” YouTube, uploaded by Big Think, 3 July 2012, www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkdzy9bWW3E.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of Creator)
EXAMPLE:
(McGonigal)
See Also: MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Don Giovanni Oper in zwei Akten by Call Number: DVD M1500 .D664 2011
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Composer Name. Title of DVD. Performance information including conductor, director, and performers, Publisher, Year, Format.
EXAMPLE:
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Don Giovanni. Conducted by Ferenc Fricsay, directed by Carl Ebert, performed with the Chorus and Orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, Arthaus Musik, 2011, DVD.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of Creator)
EXAMPLE:
(Mozart)
See Also: MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Lemonade by Call Number: CDISC M1630.18 .B46L4 2016
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Artist. "Title of Track" (if talking about a particular track and not the entire album). Album, performed by Name of Performers (if different from the artist), Record Label, Year, URL if the work is accessed electronically.
EXAMPLE:
Beyoncé. “Pray You Catch Me.” Lemonade, Parkwood Entertainment, 2016, www.beyonce.com/album/lemonade-visual-album/.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of Creator)
EXAMPLE:
(Beyoncé)
See Also: MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Robert Johnson, the complete recordings.Call Number: CDISC M1630.18 J637R62
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author of the liner notes Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Material (if any).” Description of the material if no title. Title of Recording. Other Artist(s). Publisher/Record label, Year. Format or medium of recording.
EXAMPLE:
Clapton, Eric. “Discovering Robert Johnson.” Robert Johnson: The Complete Recordings, Columbia, 1990. Booklet accompanying CD.
EXAMPLE (Untitled Liner Notes)
Race, Steve. Liner notes. Time Out, by Dave Brubeck Quartet, Columbia Records, 1959.