Books in MLA Style
Below, you will see examples of books cited in the MLA style. For more information on how to read these examples, see the Getting Started page of this LibGuide (see the tabs to the left.)
Examples of Books
Example Item
The Study of Ethnomusicology: Thirty-Three Discussions by Call Number: ML3798 .N38S78 2015
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of book. Publisher, Date of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Nettl, Bruno. The Study of Ethnomusicology: Thirty-One Issues and Concepts. University of Illinois Press, 2006.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of Author, Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Nettl, 32-33)
See Also: MLA Handbook 5.6 - One Author
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name and Author First Name Author Last Name. Title of book. Publisher, Date of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Hepokoski, James, and Warren Darcy. Elements of Sonata Theory: Norms, Types, and Deformations in the Late-Eighteenth Century Sonata. Oxford University Press, 2006.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of First Author and Last Name of Second Author, Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Hepokoski and Darcy, 101-102)
See Also: MLA Handbook 5.7 - Two Authors
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Musica Privata : die Rolle der Musik im privaten Leben : Festschrift zum 65. Geburtstag von Walter Salmen by Call Number: ML55.S135 M87
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name, et al. Title of book. Publisher, Date of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Fink. Monika, et al. Musica Privata : die Rolle der Musik im privaten Leben : Festschrift zum 65. Geburtstag von Walter Salmen. Innsbruck, 1991.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of First Author et al., Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Fink et al. 22)
See Also: MLA Handbook 5.8- Book With Three or More Authors
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Sometimes a label must be used to describe the role of the person or persons listed in the Author element. This most often occurs when the person is not the primary creator, such as for editors of collections of essays written by various authors.
The Routledge Film Music Sourcebook by Call Number: ML2075 .R688 2012
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Contributor Last Name, First Name, Contribution. Title of book. Publisher, Date.
EXAMPLE:
Wierzbicki, James, et al., Editors. The Routledge Film Music Sourcebook. Routledge, 2012.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of Contributor, Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Wierzbicki et al., 201)
See Also: MLA handbook 5.38-5.47 - Contributor Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Theory of Harmony by Call Number: 781.3 SCH6HEC
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of book. Translated/Edited/Etc. by First Name Last Name, Publisher, Date of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Schoenberg, Arnold. Theory of Harmony. Translated by Roy E. Carter, University of California Press, 1978.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Author Last Name, Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Schoenberg 18-22)
See Also: MLA handbook 5.38-5.47 - Contributor Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
This example item is the same as the one for 'Book Chapter or Section'. Notice how the citation looks different when referring to the entire book, as opposed to citing a specific chapter or section.
Bach Perspectives, Volume 8 by Call Number: ML410.B13 B224v.8
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Contributor Last Name, First Name, Contribution If Needed. Book Title. Publisher, Date.
EXAMPLE:
Melamed, Daniel R., editor. Bach Perspectives. Volume 8, University of Illinois Press, 2011.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Contributor Last Name, Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Melamed 69-77)
See Also: MLA handbook 5.38-5.47 - Contributor Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Music in the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries by Call Number: ML197 .A915M8 2013
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Reference Work. Edited by Names of Editors, volume, Publisher, Date of Publication. Title of the Series.
EXAMPLE:
Auner, Joseph. "Primitivism and the Folk". Music in the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries. Edited by Walter Frisch, Volume 6, W.W. Norton and Company, 2013. Western Music in Context: A Norton History.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Author Last Name, Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Auner, 64-67)
See Also: MLA handbook 5.38-5.47 - Contributor Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
A History of Western Music by Call Number: ML160 .G87H5 2014
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of book. Edition, Publisher, Date of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Burkholder, J. Peter, et al. A History of Western Music. 9th edition, W.W. Norton & Company, 2014.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of First Author et al., Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Burkholder et al., 46)
See Also: MLA handbook 5.38-5.47 - Contributor Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
This example item is the same as the one for 'Book Volume'. Notice how the citation looks different when referring to a specific section, as opposed to citing the entire book.
- Bach Perspectives, Volume 8 by Call Number: ML410.B13 B224v.8
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Book Section." Title of Book. Translated/Edited/Etc by First Name Last Name, Publisher, Date of Publication, Page Range.
EXAMPLE:
Snyder, Kerala J. "Oratorio on Five Afternoons: From the Lubeck Abendmusiken to Bach's Christmas Oratorio." Bach Perspectives. Volume 8, edited by Daniel R. Melamed, Oxford University Press, 2011, 69-95.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of First Author and Last Name of Second Author, Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Snyder, 71-90)
See Also: MLA handbook 5.38-5.47 - Contributor Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.3-5.22 - Author Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.23-5.30 - Title of Source Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 5.31-5.37 - Title of Container Element in Works Cited
MLA Handbook 6.3-6.30 - In-Text Citations: What to Include and How to Style It
Example Item
Electronic books are treated similarly to print books. The only difference is that after the citation you include the URL or DOI used to access the book.
Called upstairs : Moravian Inuit music in Labrador by Online resource; available on campus or with NetID
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of book, Publisher. Date of Publication. Database or Website Name, DOI or URL.
EXAMPLE:
Gordon, Tom. Called Upstairs: Moravian Inuit Music in Labrador, McGill-Queen's University Press. 2023. JSTOR E-Books, https://www.jstor.org/stable/jj.5993258.1.
In-Text Citation
TEMPLATE:
(Last Name of Author, Pages)
EXAMPLE:
(Gordon 52)