Books in Chicago/Turabian Style
Below, you will see examples of books cited in the Chicago/Turabian style, in both print and electronic formats. For more information on how to read these examples, see the Getting Started page of this LibGuide (see the tabs to the left.)
Examples of Books
Example Item
Electronic books are treated the same as regular books. The only exception is that you include the format of the book at the end (such as Kindle, EPUB, etc.).
When citing a specific part of an ebook, it is best practice to give the chapter or section. If possible, also provide the page number. Otherwise, include the chapter number.
Making Broadway Dance by Call Number: Main Library Stacks, GV1782.5 .G46 2022Also available online; accessible on campus or with NetID.
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of Publication. Format. URL or DOI.
EXAMPLE:
Gennaro, Liza. Making Broadway Dance. Oxford Academic, 2021. PDF. https://doi.org/10.1093/oso/9780190631093.001.0001.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication), Chapter or Page Number, Format.
EXAMPLE:
1. Liza Gennaro, Making Broadway Dance (New York: Oxford Academic, 2021), PDF.
See Also: CMoS 14.58 - Downloadable ebook formats and audiobooks
CMoS 14.60 - Books consulted online
CMoS 14.61 - Freely available electronic editions of older works
CMoS 14.59 - Page numbers in ebooks
CMoS 14.62 - Books on CD-ROM and other fixed media
Example Item
Electronic books are treated the same as regular books. The only exception is that you include the format of the book at the end (such as Kindle, EPUB, etc.).
When citing a specific part of an ebook, it is best practice to give the chapter or section. If possible, also provide the page number. Otherwise, include the chapter number.
A Latin American Music Reader by Online resource; accessible on campus or with NetID
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of Publication. URL or DOI.
EXAMPLE:
León. Javier. A Latin America Music Reader: Views from the South. University of Illinois Press, 2016. https://www.jstor.org/stable/10.5406/j.ctt18j8x33.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of Book (Publisher, Year of Publication), Chapter or Page Number, URL or DOI.
EXAMPLE:
1. Javier León, A Latin America Music Reader: Views from the South (University of Illinois Press, 2016), 42, https://www.jstor.org/stable/10.5406/j.ctt18j8x33.
See Also: CMoS 14.58 - Downloadable ebook formats and audiobooks
CMoS 14.60 - Books consulted online
CMoS 14.61 - Freely available electronic editions of older works
CMoS 14.59 - Page numbers in ebooks
CMoS 14.62 - Books on CD-ROM and other fixed media
Example Item
The Study of Ethnomusicology: Thirty-Three Discussions by Call Number: ML3798 .N38S78 2015
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of book. Edition. Publisher, Date of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Nettl, Bruno. The Study of Ethnomusicology: Thirty-Three Discussions. 3rd ed. University of Illinois Press, 2015.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of book, Edition. (Publisher, Date of Publication), page numbers.
EXAMPLE:
1. Bruno Nettl, The Study of Ethnomusicology: Thirty-Three Discussions, 3rd ed. (University of Illinois Press, 2015), 35.
See Also: CMoS 13.22 - Book with single author or editor
CMoS 13.106 - Author-date—book with single author or editor
CMoS 13.77 - One author
Example Item
When adding books that have two authors to your bibliography, only the first-listed name is inverted. If there are more than two authors, you can list up to six of them; if there are more than six, list only the first three, followed by “et al.”
When adding books that have two authors to a note, list both names (neither of them inverted). For books with more than two authors, list only the first person and then use “et al."
Elements of Sonata Theory by Call Number: MT62 H47E4
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name and Author First Name Author Last Name. Title of book. Publisher, Date of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Hepokoski, James and Warren Darcy. Elements of Sonata Theory: norms, types, and deformations in the late eighteenth-century sonata. Oxford University Press, 2006
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author First Name Author Last Name and Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of book (Publisher, Date of Publication), page numbers.
EXAMPLE:
1. James Hepokoski and Warren Darcy, Elements of Sonata Theory: norms, types, and deformations in the late eighteenth-century sonata (Oxford University Press, 2006), 46.
See Also: CMoS 13.23 - Book with multiple authors or editors
CMoS 13.107: Author-date—book with multiple authors
CMoS 13.123 - Author-date text citations of works with more than two authors
CMoS 13.78 - Two or more authors (or editors)
Example Item
The Routledge Film Music Sourcebook by Call Number: ML2075 .R688 2012
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name, ed(s). OR comp(s). OR trans. Title of book. Publisher, Date of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Wierzbicki, James, Nathan Platte and Colin Rost, eds. The Routledge Film Music Sourcebook. Routledge, 2012.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author First Name Author Last Name, eds. OR trans. Title of book, (Publisher, Date of Publication), page numbers.
EXAMPLE:
1. James Wierzbicki, Nathan Platte and Colin Rost, eds. The Routledge Film Music Sourcebook (Routledge, 2012), 70.
See Also: CMoS 13.24 - Book with author plus editor or translator
CMoS 13.106 - Author-date—book with single author or editor
CMoS 13.108 - Author-date—book with author plus editor or translator
Example Item
Theory of Harmony by Call Number: 781.3 SCH6HEC
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of book. Translated OR Edited by First Name Last Name. Publisher, Date of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Schoenberg, Arnold. Theory of Harmony. Translated by Roy E. Carter. University of California Press, 1978.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of book, trans. OR ed. First Name Last Name (Publisher, Date of Publication), page numbers.
EXAMPLE:
1. Arnold Schoenberg, Theory of Harmony, trans. Roy E. Carter (University of California Press, 1978), 22.
See Also: CMoS 13.24 - Book with author plus editor or translator
CMoS 13.108 - Author-date—book with author plus editor or translator
CMoS 13.78 - Two or more authors (or editors)
Example Item
Bach Perspectives, Volume 8 by Call Number: ML410.B13 B224v.8
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Editor of Collection Last Name, Editor of Collection First Name, ed. Title of Volume. Volume Number of Title of Multivolume, edited by Name of Volume Editor. Publisher, Year of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Melamed, Daniel R, ed. J. S. Bach and the Oratorio Tradition. Vol. 8 of Bach Perspectives, edited by George B. Stauffer. University of Illinois Press, 2011.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Volume Author First Name Volume Author Last Name, ed., Title of Volume Work, Volume Number, Title of Multivolume Work, ed. Name of Editor (Date of Publication), page numbers.
EXAMPLE:
1. Daniel R. Melamed, J. S. Bach and the Oratorio Tradition, vol. 8, Bach Perspectives, ed. George B. Stauffer (University of Illinois Press, 2011), 37.
See Also: CMoS 14.18 - Volume numbers and page numbers
CMoS 14.20 - Citing a particular volume in a note
CMoS 14.21 - Citing a particular volume in a bibliography
CMoS 14.19 - Citing a multivolume work as a whole
Example Item
Music in the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries by Call Number: ML197 .A915M8 2013
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Work. Title of Series, edited by Series Editor First Name Last Name. Publisher, Year of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Auner, Joseph. Music in the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries. Western Music in Context, edited by Walter Frisch. W.W. Norton & Company, 2013.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of Work, Title of Series (Publisher, Year of Publication), page number.
EXAMPLE:
1. Joseph Auner, Music in the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries, Western Music in Context (W.W. Norton & Company, 2013), 57.
See Also: CMoS 14.25 - Series titles, numbers, and editors
CMoS 14.26 - Series or multivolume work?
CMoS 14.27 - Multivolume work within a series
CMoS 14.28 - “Old series” and “new series”
Example Item
A History of Western Music by Call Number: ML160 .G87H5 2014
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of book. Edition. Publisher, Date of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Burkholder, J. Peter, Donald Jay Grout, and Claude V. Palisca. A History of Western Music. 9th ed. W.W. Norton & Company, 2014.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of book, Edition (Publisher, Date of Publication), page numbers.
EXAMPLE:
1. J. Peter Burkholder et al., A History of Western Music, 9th ed. (W.W. Norton & Company, 2014), 78-80.
See Also: CMoS 14.15 - Editions other than the first
CMoS 14.16 - Reprint editions and modern editions
Example Item
Rethinking Music by Call Number: ML3797.1 R37
Bibliography
TEMPLATE:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Book chapter." In Title of book, translated OR edited by First Name Last Name. Publisher, Date of Publication.
EXAMPLE:
Weber, William. "The History of Musical Canon." In Rethinking Music, edited by Nicholas Cook and Mark Everist. Oxford University Press, 1999.
Endnotes/Footnotes
TEMPLATE:
1. Author First Name Author Last Name, "Book chapter," in Title of Book (Publisher, Date of Publication), Page Number.
EXAMPLE:
1. William Weber, "The History of Musical Canon," in Rethinking Music (Oxford University Press, 1999), 340.