Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

MarcEdit

An introduction to the MARC record editing software MarcEdit

Searching Illinois' Catalog Using Z39.50

In order to search Illinois’ database using this protocol, users must manually add the database to the list as it is not present in the master list within MarcEdit. The steps below will outline how that server can be added as well as how to perform a search on that database and save the resulting records.

  1. Open the Z39.50 client (Add-ins►Z39.50 client) from the main menu.
  2. Select “Modify Databases” from the options listed on the left side of the dialog box
  3. Select “Add new Z39.50 Server” from the “Add Database” menu as below:

  1. In the dialog box which appears, add the following information, seen in the picture and in the table below:

NOTE: Text in parentheses should not be entered. 

Field

Value

Name

University of Illinois – UIU (or some other name that makes sense to you)

Host

Z39.50.carli.illinois.edu

Database

voyager

Port

210

Syntax

USMARC (OPAC also supported)

Username

uiu 

For more information about how Z39.50 works with the library’s voyager catalog, see this page on CARLI’s website: http://www.carli.illinois.edu/products-services/i-share/opac/i-share-z3950

  1. Once you are finished, click save. The database will be added to your list of databases as shown below: 

Adding Additional Databases

The steps above can be followed to add any database in MarcEdit. For a list of supported databases, follow the Library of Congress' link below:

 

List of Z39.50 Servers

NOTE: Support for searching with Z39.50 varies by institution, so you may be able to configure MarcEdit to search an institutions database, but if they do not support Z39.50 any longer or require extra permission to search their collection, then you will not know this until you attempt a search. A notable example is OCLC, which requires certain permissions to use Z39.50.