Books on Pottery From Cultures and Regions Across Africa
For Hearth and Altar by Call Number: Main Stacks Q. 738.09607477 B463fPublication Date: 2005Available in the University Library Collection.- A Study of the Origins, Development, and Significance of Southern Nigerian Traditional Pottery byCall Number: Main Stacks 738.209669 F829S1988Publication Date: 1986Available in the University Library Collection.
- Smashing Pots : Works of Clay From Africa byCall Number: Architecture and Art 738.096 B249SMPublication Date: 1994Available in the University Library Collection.
- Yoruba Pottery byCall Number: Main Stacks 738.09669 F269YPublication Date: 1992Available in the University Library Collection.
Mande Potters and Leatherworkers by Call Number: Main Stacks Q. 738.08996345 F851mPublication Date: 1998Available in the University Library Collection.- Potters, a Study of Two Villages in Ethiopia byCall Number: Oak Street 338.47738 H127PPublication Date: 1980Available in the University Library Collection by request only.
- Traditional Zambian Pottery byCall Number: Main Stacks 738.096894 L887TPublication Date: 1989Available in the University Library Collection.
- West African Pottery : A Bibliography byCall Number: Oak Street Q. 738.1 ST25WAvailable in the University Library Collection by request only.
- The Pottery Collection byCall Number: Main Stacks 738.3 AD24PPublication Date: 1969Available in the University Library Collection.
- Is This How I Looked When I First Got Here? : Pottery and Practice in the Cameroon Grassfields byCall Number: Main Stacks Q. 666.6096711 Ar37iPublication Date: 1999Available in the University Library Collection.
- Purpose & Perfection : Pottery as a Women's Art in Central Africa byCall Number: Main Stacks Q. 738.0967 P976Publication Date: 1992Available in the University Library Collection.
- Kenyan Pots and Potters byCall Number: Main Stacks 738.096762 K423Publication Date: 1989Available in the University Library Collection.
- Zulu Thought-Patterns and Symbolism byCall Number: Main Stacks 301.29684 B45ZPublication Date: 1976Available in the University Library Collection.
- Earth and Ore: 2500 Years of African Art in Terra Cotta and Metal byCall Number: Main Stacks Q. 739.096 Sch13ePublication Date: 1997Available in the University Library Collection.
- Ceramics from Black Africa and Ancient America: The Hans Wolf Collection, Zurich byCall Number: Main Stacks 730.0967074 SCH12KPublication Date: 1985Available in the University Library Collection.
- A Lot About a Pot byCall Number: Oak Street 666.3 P94LAvailable in the University Library Collection by request only.
- More Books on the Subject of African PotteryAvailable in the University Library Collection.
African Pottery Forming and Firing
Images Databases with African Vessels
- American Museum of Natural History Anthropology Collections DatabaseA database containing digital images of ethnographic and archaeological objects of many cultures. This link will take you to the African collection.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowNow part of the JSTOR Archive, Artstor is a database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. The collection formerly known as Artstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
Female Potters Making and Firing Jars
Yoruba Culture
Photograph by Christopher D. Roy
Image Courtesy of Artstor