Supports
The materials of artworks and objects can suggest systems for working, a structured but adjustable ground upon which attachments can be made: grids, collage, abstraction, and repetition. Formal aesthetic and political uses of supports demonstrate close ties between artists and their subjects and offer elements that draw us closer.
Berenice Abbott
- Books on Bernice Abbott's PhotographyAvailable in the University Library Collection--Abbot's work was also featured in the Accumulations gallery.
Yaka Works
Yaka by Call Number: Architecture and Art 731.75 B66yPublication Date: 2014This book looks at traditional works of the Yaka such as figurative statues and masks and their uses in ritual, ceremony and their symbolic roles.
Jess
- Books on Jess Collage and AssembliesAvailable in the University Library Collection
- Jess: Master of Collage AestheticAn article from Siglio on the nature of Jess' collage.
Hedda Sterne
Uninterrupted Flux: Hedda Sterne, a Retrospective by Call Number: Architecture and Art Q. 759.13 St458ePublication Date: 2006
Sullivan and Adler
- Books on Sullivan and Adler ArchitectureAvailable in the University Library Collection
Jannis Spyropoulos
- Books on Jannis SpyropoulosAvailable in the University Library Collection
- The Spyropoulos FoundationA link to more information about the artist and his style from the Spyropoulos Museum which was founded by the artist and his wife.
Jannis Spyropoulos
Kelainos N. 2, 1963
Oil on canvas
38 ½ x 51 7/16 inches
Image courtesy of Krannert Art Museum
Conrad Bakker
- Untitled ProjectsConrad Bakker's tumblr page with blog posts of his book art similar to his piece that appeared in the exhibition.
Isabelle Cornaro
- Francescapia.comA link to a gallery showing Isabelle Cornaro's work.
Vera Klement
- Books on Vera ClementFrom the UIUC Library Collection
Vera Klement
Homage to Caspar David Friedrich, 1979
Oil and encaustic on canvas 86 x 79 inches
Image courtesy of Krannert Art Museum
Purvis Young
- Books on Purvis YoungAvailable in the University Library Collection
- Purvis YoungThe artist's website which includes biographical information, exhibition histories and image galleries.
Carl Chiarenza
- Carlchiarenza.comThe artist's website with image galleries (of works similar to those in the exhibition) and biographical information. There are also upcoming exhibitions listed.
- Books on Carl ChiarenzaAvailable in the University Library Collection