Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Krannert Art Museum: Exhibitions Guide Archive: Borderland Collective

This guide assembles research guides for past Krannert Art Museum shows.

About KAM and the Collection

Ricker Library

Ricker Library of Architecture & Art's picture
Ricker Library of Architecture & Art
Contact:
208 Architecture Building
608 East Lorado Taft Drive
Champaign, IL 61820
(217) 333-0224
Website

About the Exhibition

Organized by Blue Star Contemporary, San Antonio, TX
With local curatorial oversight by Amy L. Powell, Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art

In 2014, more than 68,000 unaccompanied children were apprehended on the U.S./Mexico border, double the number from the previous year. Of this group, the majority are from the Central American countries of El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras. Known as the Northern Triangle, this region has a long and complicated relationship with the United States. Civil wars in the 1980s, deportation policies, the drug war, border issues, trade agreements, unjust economic structures, political corruption, poverty, human trafficking, and many other situations have all contributed.

Northern Triangle is an installation by Borderland Collective, led by artists Jason Reed and Mark Menjivar and art historian Erina Duganne. In addition to the contributions of Menjivar, Reed, and Duganne, the exhibition includes works by Adriana Corral, Vincent Valdez, and Ricky Yanas as well as historical documents from the Library of Congress, the National Archives, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Vanderbilt Television News Archive, The South Texas Human Rights Center, and the personal archives of Stacey Merkt and Jack Elder. This presentation includes a reading area for visitors to examine research materials related to migration and borders.

Northern Triangle aims to open spaces for constructive and ongoing dialogues and exchanges around art, migration, and human rights. At Krannert Art Museum, the exhibition will be a venue for gallery talks, classroom and community meetings, a three-day residency with members of Borderland Collective, and other collaborations with campus and city partners in Champaign-Urbana.

Fair Use Guidelines

Materials accessed in this guide are provided for personal and/or scholarly use.  Users are responsible for obtaining any copyright permissions that may be required for their own further uses of that material.  For more information about fair use please refer to the College Art Association Code of Best Practices in Fair Use in the Visual Arts.