Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Citing Online Advertising & Business Sources in APA: ProQuest One Business

This guide is intended to help Advertising students cite a variety of sources in Advertising and Business databases and industry resources using APA style.

ProQuest One Business

Communications Library

Profile Photo
Communications Library
Contact:
122 Gregory Hall
810 S Wright St. Urbana, IL, 61801
217-333-2216
Website

Other Database Tools

Five teal icons: save as PDF, cite, email, print, all options. Save as PDF

The save as PDF icon will allow you to download the document directly to your device. This option is great if you know you want to refer to the article later and you don't want go through the steps to look it up in ABI/INFORM again.


Cite

The cite icon will allow you to view a list of generated citations in a variety of citation styles. While this is a helpful reference for creating your citations, you should always consult a style guide to make sure the content, punctuation, and italicization of your citation is correct.


Email

The email icon will allow you to send the article information in an email, which can include the full-text article and citation information.

Citing Academic Journals, Trade Publications, and Magazines from ProQuest One Business

Although academic/scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines all have different purposes and audiences, they all follow the same citation structure.

teal graduation cap icon with text that reads "scholarly journals"ACADEMIC/SCHOLARLY JOURNALS

Some examples of academic journals are Journal of Advertising, Advertising & Society Quarterly, and Current Issues and Research in Advertising. Academic Journals are intended for academic researchers in specific subject areas like Advertising and Business and are usually peer-reviewed. These journals often use jargon and require some sort of background knowledge of the subject in order to be understood. Next to scholarly journals in ProQuest One Business you will see an icon that looks like a graduation cap. This is a quick way to tell what type of source you are looking at on the results list.

 

teal magazine icon with text that reads "trade journals"TRADE PUBLICATIONS

Examples of trade publications are Advertising Age, AdWeek, and PR Week. These publications are intended for professionals working in the Advertising Industry and often use more common language, with some jargon. There may be some concepts that are difficult to understand without background knowledge of the industry. Next to trade publications in ProQuest One Business you will see an icon that looks like a magazine. This is a way to tell what type of source you are looking at on the results list.

 

teal magazine icon with text that reads "magazines"MAGAZINES

Examples of magazines include Rolling Stone, Hollywood Reporter, and Sports Illustrated, which are intended for general public audiences. These publications use very general language and do not require any former background on the subject to understand the articles. Next to magazines in ProQuest One Business you will see an icon that looks like a magazine with the words "magazines" over it. You may also see an actual image of a magazine cover. This is a quick way to tell what type of source you are looking at in the results list.


Citation Example

To cite an academic journal, trade publication, or magazine use the following structure:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Date). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. https://doi.org/xx.xxx/yyyy

Eule, A. (2017). The future of coffee (and retail). Barron's, 97(34), 17-19.


Notes

DOIs: If no DOI is available end the citation after the page number.

Date Element: If given month, date, and year, the format is (Year, Month Date), otherwise only use the year.

Citing Newspapers from ProQuest One Business

teal newspaper icon with text that reads "newspapers"NEWSPAPERS

Newspapers are a printed publication that delivers news and other content on a daily or weekly basis. In addition to print, these publications can also publish digital versions of their articles as well as digital-only content for online subscribers. Depending on the database, you can either access PDF scans or HTML full-text. Next to newspapers in ProQuest One Business you will see an icon that looks like a newspaper. You may also see an actual image of the front page of a newspaper. This is a quick way to tell what type of source you are looking at in the results list.

 


Citation Example

Last name, F. M. (Date). Title of article. Title of Publication.

Al-Muslim, A. (2018, Aug 10). Yelp's advertising strategy buoys results. Wall Street Journal.

Citing Wire Feeds from ProQuest One Business

teal newspaper icon with text that reads "wire feeds"WIRE FEEDS

Wire feeds are also known as news releases, newswires, and press releases, and can be created and distributed by companies like Reuters and Bloomberg, which also carry original content created by journalists, or by companies that only specialize in wire feeds. Newswire services are often used by companies and PR agencies to publicize an announcement, product, event, or anything they hope to attract coverage. Some examples of newswire services include Businesswire, Newswire Today, and Marketwire. Next to wire feeds in ProQuest One Business you will see an icon that looks like a newspaper with the words "wire feeds" underneath. This is a quick way to tell what type of source you are looking at in the results list.


Citation Example

While APA doesn't have a specific guideline for citing press releases, you can follow the basic format including information about the author, date, title, and the source (URL/Permalink). You will want to include the words "Press release" in brackets after the title to indicate the type of source.

Name of Organization/Author. (Date). Title of document [Press release].

Dow Jones Institutional News. (2017, March 16). Press release: eBay announces new advertising strategy [Press release].

Citing Reports from ProQuest One Business

teal graph icon with text that reads "reports"

REPORTS

In ProQuest One Business you have access to thousands of global company reports, which include SWOT analyses, financial reports, and various types of case studies. Next to reports in ProQuest One Business you will see an icon that looks like a document with a graph. This is a quick way to tell what type of source you are looking at in the results list.

 


Citation Example

While the APA doesn't have specific guidelines for these types of reports, you can follow the standard author, date, title, source format. 

Last Name, F. M. (Date). Title of report. Organization Name.

Goodall, M. (2019). Social media advertising. New York: Centaur Media USA Inc.


Note

You can also see citation examples for SWOT Analyses and Market Research Reports under the Business Source Ultimate tab in this guide.

Citing eBooks from ProQuest One Business

ProQuest One Business provides you with a collection of eBooks available to read online.

Citation Example

Author, A. (Date). Book title: Book subtitle (ed.). Publisher Name. DOI/Stable URL.

Goldsmith, M., Baldoni, J., & McArthur, S. (2010). AMA handbook of leadership. AMACOM. https://www-proquest-com.proxy2.library.illinois.edu/legacydocview/EBC/484969?accountid=14553

Sources

Harcup, T. (2014). Press release. In A Dictionary of Journalism (1st ed., pp.245). Oxford University Press.

Lee, C. (2010, September 9). How to cite press release in APA style. American Psychological Association. https://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/2010/09/how-to-cite-a-press-release-in-apa-style.html