Business Source Ultimate
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Business Source Ultimate in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Communications Library
Other Database Tools
These icons are available when viewing the PDF article or the detailed record.
Cite
The cite icon will allow you to view a list of generated citations in a variety of citation styles. While this is a helpful reference for creating your citations, you should always consult a style guide to make sure the content, punctuation, and italicization of your citation is correct.
The email icon will allow you to send the article information in an email, which can include the full-text article and citation information.
Permalink
The permalink button with provide you with a permanent link back to the article you are viewing. You should always saves links this way. When you copy and paste the link from the URL bar, you are copying a temporary link that will likely not resolve (will not give you access) when you try to use it again. This is because database links operate differently than website URLs. The permalink is a guaranteed link that will bring you back to the item you are looking at.
Citing Academic Journals, Trade Publications, and Magazines from Business Source Ultimate
Although academic/scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines all have different purposes and audiences, they all follow the same citation structure.
ACADEMIC/SCHOLARLY JOURNALS
Some examples of academic journals are Journal of Advertising, Advertising & Society Quarterly, and Current Issues and Research in Advertising. Academic Journals are intended for academic researchers in specific subject areas like Advertising and Business and are usually peer-reviewed. These journals often use jargon and require some sort of background knowledge of the subject in order to be understood. Next to scholarly journals in Business Source Ultimate you will see this icon that looks like document with the words "academic journal" underneath. This is a quick way to tell what type of source you are looking at on the results list.
TRADE PUBLICATIONS
Examples of trade publications are Advertising Age, AdWeek, and PR Week. These publications are intended for professionals working in the Advertising Industry and often use more common language, with some jargon. There may be some concepts that are difficult to understand without background knowledge of the industry. Next to trade publications in Business Source Ultimate you will see an icon that looks like a calendar with a magazine on top. Because trade publications and magazines use the same icon, there is an option on the left hand side of the results list that lets you limit the results by source type. If you only want trade publication results, you can limit your search to trade publications and it will refresh your results list..
MAGAZINES
Examples of magazines include Rolling Stone, Hollywood Reporter, and Sports Illustrated, which are intended for general public audiences. These publications use very general language and do not require any former background on the subject to understand the articles. Next to magazines in Business Source Ultimate you will see an icon that looks like a calendar with a magazine on top. Because magazines and trade publications use the same icon, there is an option on the left hand side of the results list that lets you limit the results by source type. If you only want magazine results, you can limit your search to magazines and it will refresh your results list.
Citation Examples
To cite an academic journal, trade publication, or magazine use the following structure:
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Date). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. https://doi.org/xx.xxx/yyyy
Nair, N. (2020, April 19). How ads are made from home. Impact: The Marketing & Advertising Weekly, 16(45), 12-19.
Notes
DOIs: If no DOI is available end the citation after the page range.
Date Element: If given month, date, and year, the format is (Year, Month Date), otherwise only use the year.
Citing Newspapers in Business Source Ultimate
NEWSPAPERS
Newspapers are a printed publication that delivers news and other content on a daily or weekly basis. In addition to print, these publications can also publish digital versions of their articles as well as digital-only content for online subscribers. Depending on the database, you can either access PDF scans or HTML full-text. Next to newspapers in Business Source Complete you will see an icon that looks like a newspaper. This is a quick way to tell what type of source you are looking at in the results list.
Citation Example
Last name, F. M. (Date). Title of article. Title of Publication.
Krause, R. (2020, July 30). Google earnings: Digital advertising falls, YouTube growth disappoints. Investor's Business Daily.
Citing SWOT Analyses in Business Source Ultimate
SWOT ANALYSIS
A SWOT (strengths, opportunities, weaknesses, threats) analysis is a way for a company to evaluate internal and external factors that impact an organization. This is often used to help develop a business strategy.
Citation Example
Name of Group/Organization. (Date). Title of document, pages. Source Title.
Lamar Advertising Company. (2020, Jan 23). Lamar Advertising Company SWOT Analysis, 1-7.
Note
Author Element: When a document is written by an organization, use the organization's name as the author. When the organization's name is the same as the source name, you omit the source name from the citation.
Citing Market Research Reports in Business Source Ultimate
MARKET RESEARCH REPORTS
A Market Research Report includes information about industry products, markets, and consumers, and can contain information about industry trends, key competitors, and industry size and outlook. Market Research Reports can be produced for a specific client or for a more general audience of subscribers in a specific industry. Market research reports can also vary in length based on their content and intended audience. In Business Source Ultimate, Market Research Reports are indicated by a icon that looks like a typed report with the word "report" underneath.
Citation Example: Report Published in Book (Book Chapter) with Author
Author Last, F. (Date). Title of report. Title of Source/Book (Volume, Issue, pp.). Publisher/Responsible body.
Miller, R. K. & Washington, K. (2011). Chapter 30: Local advertising. In Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook (Issue 11, pp. 252-254). Richard K. Miller & Associates.
Citation Example: Report Published in Book (Book Chapter) with no Author
Title of report. (Date). In Title of Source/Book (volume, issue, pp.). Publisher/Responsible Body.
Profiles of key players. (2006). In Apparel Market Research Handbook (pp. 84-100). Richard K. Miller & Associates.
Citation Example: Report with no Identifiable Author or Corporate Body (Article)
Title of report. (Date). Title of Source, pp..
Believe the hype: The most buzzworthy trends of 2017. (2017). Media Industry Newsletter, 1.
Note
If the Market Research Report you are using does not fit one of the above examples, don't hesitate to contact us for assistance in correctly formatting your citation. The most important elements to remember are: author, date, title, and source.
Sources
University of Saskatchewan University Library. (2020, September 1). Market research: Market research reports. Retrieved on October 6, 2020, from https://libguides.usask.ca/c.php?g=434343&p=2960928