Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Citing Online Advertising & Business Sources in APA: IBIS World

This guide is intended to help Advertising students cite a variety of sources in Advertising and Business databases and industry resources using APA style.

IBISWorld

Communications Library

Profile Photo
Communications Library
Contact:
122 Gregory Hall
810 S Wright St. Urbana, IL, 61801
217-333-2216
Website

Citing Industry Reports (NAICS) from IBISWorld

Citation Example

Author/Organization Name. (Date). Title of report. Title of Source. URL

Connor, C. (2020, September). US industry (NAICS) report 44812 women's clothing stories in the US. IBISWorld. https://www.ibisworld.com

Le, T. (2020, May). US industry (NAICS) report 71394 gym, health & fitness clubs in the US. IBISWorld. https://www.ibisworld.com


Notes

Retrieval Dates: you include retrieval dates if the source material may change over time.

URLs and DOIs: The URL is given to provide direct access back to a source when someone is reviewing the references list. Since copying the URL from IBISWorld  through the library proxy will not link someone back directly to the same report, APA recommends providing the general link to the login page of a database. You would include database information in the citation because the information cited in IBISWorld is not widely available in other databases, otherwise you would not include database information.

Citing Specialized Industry Reports from IBISWorld

Citation Example

Author/Organization Name. (Date). Title of report. Source Title. URL

Lifschutz, M. (2019, December). US specialized industry report OD6098 the retail market for coffee. IBISWorld. https://www.ibisworld.com

Fernandez, C. (2019, October). US specialized industry report OD6143 the retail market for shoes. IBISWorld. https://www.ibisworld.com


Notes

DOIs and URLs: The URL is given to provide direct access back to a source when someone is reviewing the references list. Since copying the URL from IBISWorld through the library proxy will not link someone back directly to the same report, APA recommends providing the general link to the login page of a database. You would include database information (URL) in the citation because the information cited in IBISWorld is not widely available in other databases, otherwise you would not include database information.

Citing China or Global Industry Reports from IBISWorld

Citation Example

Author/Organization Name. (Date). Title of report. Source Title. URL

Irigoyen, S. (2019, August). Global industry report C1113-GL global candy & chocolate manufacturing. IBISWorld. https://www.ibisworld.com

Chen, S. (2019, July). China industry report 8931 movie production in China. IBISWorld. https://www.ibisworld.com


Notes

DOIs and URLs: The URL is given to provide direct access back to a source when someone is reviewing the references list. Since copying the URL from IBISWorld  through the library proxy will not link someone back directly to the same report, APA recommends providing the general link to the login page of a database. You would include database information in the citation because the information cited in IBISWorld is not widely available in other databases, otherwise you would not include database information.