Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Citing Online Advertising & Business Sources in APA: Nexis Uni

This guide is intended to help Advertising students cite a variety of sources in Advertising and Business databases and industry resources using APA style.

Nexis Uni

Communications Library

Profile Photo
Communications Library
Contact:
122 Gregory Hall
810 S Wright St. Urbana, IL, 61801
217-333-2216
Website

Citing Online Newspaper Articles from Nexis Uni

Citation Example

Last name, F. M. (Year, Month Date). Title of article. Title of Publication.

Lohr, Steve. (2020, October 21). Google up against laws that thwarted Microsoft (and others since 1980). The New York Times.


Note

Database Information: If the newspaper article is from an academic research database, provide the title of the newspaper and any volume, issue, and/or page numbers that are available for the article. Do not include database information in the reference

Citing SEC Filings from Nexis Uni

Citation Example

Name of Author Organization. (Date). Title of report. URL

SEC EDGAR Filings, Combined. (2020, July 24). NIKE, Inc.; 10-K. https://www.lexisnexis.com


Note

You can also find SEC Reports on the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission website.

Citing Company Profiles from Nexis Uni

Citation Example

Name of Author Organization. (Date). Title of company profile [Company profile]. Retrieved date, from URL

Canadean - Business Analysis. (2016, December 2019). Amazon.com, Inc. [Company profile]. Retrieved October 22, 2020 from https://www.lexisnexis.com


Note

Database Information:: The URL is given to provide direct access back to a source when someone is reviewing the references list. Since copying the URL from Nexis Uni will not link someone back directly to the same company profile, APA recommends providing the general link to the login page of a database. You would include database information in the citation because the information cited in Nexis is not widely available in other databases, otherwise you would not include database information.