Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Citing Online Advertising & Business Sources in APA: Mergent

This guide is intended to help Advertising students cite a variety of sources in Advertising and Business databases and industry resources using APA style.

Mergent

Communications Library

Profile Photo
Communications Library
Contact:
122 Gregory Hall
810 S Wright St. Urbana, IL, 61801
217-333-2216
Website

Citing Company Profiles from Mergent

Citation Example

Name of Author Organization. (Date). Title of company profile [Company profile]. Retrieved date, from URL

Mergent, Inc. (n.d.). Kraft Foods Group Inc (NMS:KRFT) [Company profile]. Retrieved October 21, 2020, from http://www.mergentonline.com


Note

DOIs and URLs: The URL is given to provide direct access back to a source when someone is reviewing the references list. Since copying the URL from Mergent will not link someone back directly to the same company profile, APA recommends providing the general link to the login page of a database. You would include database information in the citation because the information cited in Mergent is not widely available in other databases, otherwise you would not include database information.

Date Element: This citation uses n.d. in the date field because the company profile does not indicate a date of publication or update. Also, you include retrieval dates if the source material may change over time.

Citing Reports from Mergent

Citation Example: SEC Report

Name of Author Organization. (Date). Title of report. URL

United States Securities and Exchange Commission. (2014, December 27). KRFT 10-K 12.27.14. http://www.mergentonline.com


Note

You can also find company filings on the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission website. This would be the best bet for finding the most recent SEC filings.


Citation Example: Industry Reports

Name of Author Organization. (Date). Title of report [Industry report]. URL

Mergent, Inc. (2020, April). Food & beverage: North America [Industry report]. http://www.mergentonline.com


Note

URLs and DOIs: The URL is given to provide direct access back to a source when someone is reviewing the references list. Since copying the URL from Mergent will not link someone back directly to the same company profile, APA recommends providing the general link to the login page of a database. You would include database information in the citation because the information cited in Mergent is not widely available in other databases, otherwise you would not include database information.

Citing News Articles from Mergent

In the company profile, you will see a whole line of tabs with different options. Under the news tab, Mergent will link you to news stories from many sources. These links will bring you to the original story, usually on the news source's website. Please see the "Other Online News Sources" tab in this guide for specific information on citing online news sources.