LibGuides: German Studies: Finding Books, Articles, and Journals

Finding Books

Step One: UIUC Online Library Catalog

There are two ways to search the UIUC Library catalog. Both offer the same content but the method of searching and presentation of results varies.

Through the new Primo Library Catalog. This catalog requires you to register with a login and a password to request materials. It also lets you search books in I-share (see below for more details.)
Through the Library Easy Search. This interface lets you search the UIUC catalog for books, articles, journals and media. .

Getting the actual book: When you locate your item you have two choices.

Print books

You can request the item and pick it up at any of the departmental libraries. Or, you can retrieve the book yourself from either the main stacks or the departmental library where the book is located. If you choose this option, make sure you jot down the location and call number of the item.

Electronic Books

Access will depend on the publisher. In some case you will be able to download full books via PDF. In others you might be able only to view the book online. In all cases the Library follow the publisher's requirements.

What if my book is not in the UIUC Online Library Catalog?

Step Two: I-Share

Once you have verified that the book you are looking for is either not located in the UIUC catalog or all copies are checked out, you may order it through Primo Library Catalog and selecting "All I-share Libraries." Items typically arrive within 5-10 days and you will receive an email when the item is available for pick up.

What if my book is not available in I-Share?

Step Three: Interlibrary Loan

If the item is not available in the UIUC catalog or through I-Share, then your next stop will be Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery. First, keep your full citation handy -- you'll need it. Second, login to the ILLiad server using your NetID and password. From the ILLiad main menu, select "Request a Book." Be sure to fill out as much of the form as possible, including the source of your citation. This will ensure that ILL can place your request in a timely manner. You'll be notified by email when your item is ready to be picked up.

WorldCat -You can search WorldCat to find books on your topic, which might not be in the UIUC nor the I-share catalog. Once you find a title of interest, you can order it through Interlibrary Loan

More Help with the Library Catalog

Finding Article Databases

To find databases:

Explore the different topics in this guide. Some include suggestions for databases that would be useful in your research. Some general-purpose databases are also linked below.
Visit the A-Z Database List for a complete list of databases the library has access to. Try using the drop-down menus to filter by:
1. Subject (e.g., German, History, or Literature & Language). Look for the yellow "Best Bets" box for suggestions on where to get started.
2. Database type (e.g., Full Text or News & Newspapers)

Use the Ask a Librarian chat or email the library if you have any trouble finding or accessing a database or online articles.

General Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Alternate Access Link
IBZ Online - International Bibliography of Periodical Literature This link opens in a new window
Universal index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Over 11,500 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 3.2 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion the the periodicals published on the European continent.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
PQDT is a collection of citations to dissertations and theses worldwide from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some of the older graduate works. PQDT is also the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress. Also included are the citations to British and Irish dissertations and theses (PQDT: UK & Ireland) since 1761 and abstracts for content since 1986.

Note: UIUC masters theses are not in PQDT. They are only found in IDEALS or in the library catalog.

DART-Europe E-Theses Portal
European libraries have partnered to create a single source for European thesis and dissertations. Many are available online.

Citing Sources and Citation Management

Properly citing sources is part of research. The Library has an excellent guide for Citing Sources that can get you started and provide guidance on APA, MLA and Chicago Style citations. Purdue Owl is another great resource for citation formatting.

The Library also has guides to popular citation management systems:

You can also Google to find help from the software vendors themselves, such as:

EndNote Support: Links to online guides and manuals, FAQs, and contact information for Customer Service and Technical Support groups.
Mendeley Support: An FAQs list; also has links to materials for getting started, and information for posting or emailing a question.
Zotero Documentation: A list of links on topics to get started, and a "Contact Us" link at the bottom.

Accessing Materials Online

You can access electronic library resources through one of the following avenues:

If on campus, connect to the campus Wifi.
If off campus:
1. Click on the access link provided on the library website, then provide your NetID and password.
2. Use the University VPN. The Library and Tech Services have provided instructions for installing the VPN and adjusting your settings to allow access to library materials. You will need to make sure the Tunnel All setting is on (the default is "Split Tunnel").

Please reach out to the library if you have trouble accessing a resource!

Journals

To locate journals relevant to your research, you can search the library website in several ways:

EasySearch. Look for the EasySearch box on the library home page and click the gray "Journals" tab across the top. Type your search term(s) into the box and click the green magnifying glass.
Library Catalog. Visit the catalog, look across the top of the screen, and click the "Journal Search" option.
Journal and Article Locator. Put in as much information as you have and click the search button.

Below is a short selection of German Studies journals. This list is intended as a starting point and is not comprehensive.

DigiZeitschriften This link opens in a new window
Collection of German periodicals considered to be among the most important in the following areas of research: Anglistik, Buch- / Bibliothekswesen, Geowissenschaften, Germanistik, Geschichte, Kunst, Mathematik, Musikwissenschaft, Naturwissenschaften, Neuere Philologien, Rechtswissenschaften, Romanistik, Soziologie, and Wirtschaftswissenschaften.