Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Children's Literature Databases
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
The CLCD presently contains catalog records in MARC format that have children's headings assigned. These records come with all of the official cataloging data, subject terms, and annotations. In addition, the database contains critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults.
Children's Literature Review
Contains excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers and other creative writers who lived between 1800 and 1900, from the first published critical appraisals to the present day evaluations.
NoveList is an electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. It includes titles, authors, publication information, subjects, book reviews, over 1200 theme-oriented booklists, 150 award lists and links to 1000 fiction related web sites.
Books at UIUC
A small selection of books that may be of interest to students of German children's literature are linked below. Some additional suggested search terms are:
- German literature, children's -- 20th century
- Fairy tales -- Germany
- Children -- Books and reading -- Austria
- Children's literature, German -- History and criticism
Geschichte der Deutschen Kinder- und Jugendliteratur by Familie, Kindheit und Erziehung Trendthema in der Öffentlichkeit und der Wissenschaft. Immer stärker in den Blickpunkt rückt deshalb die Kinder- und Jugendliteratur. Die 3. Auflage des Standardwerkes greift die aktuellen Debatten auf und verlagert das Gewicht auf die Entwicklung im 20. Jahrhundert mit vielen neuen Einschätzungen, Tendenzen im Buchbereich und dem Einsatz von Medien. Darunter: MC/CD, Film, Fernsehen und Computer. Autorenporträts, Werkanalysen und eine Fülle von Illustrationen sorgen für Anschaulichkeit.
Call Number: 830.9 G33222008
Publication Date: 2008-10-06
The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm by The original vision of Grimms' tales in English for the first time When Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm published their Children's and Household Tales in 1812, followed by a second volume in 1815, they had no idea that such stories as "Rapunzel," "Hansel and Gretel," and "Cinderella" would become the most celebrated in the world. Yet few people today are familiar with the majority of tales from the two early volumes, since in the next four decades the Grimms would publish six other editions, each extensively revised in content and style. For the very first time, The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm makes available in English all 156 stories from the 1812 and 1815 editions. These narrative gems, newly translated and brought together in one beautiful book, are accompanied by sumptuous new illustrations from award-winning artist Andrea Dezsö. From "The Frog King" to "The Golden Key," wondrous worlds unfold--heroes and heroines are rewarded, weaker animals triumph over the strong, and simple bumpkins prove themselves not so simple after all. Esteemed fairy tale scholar Jack Zipes offers accessible translations that retain the spare description and engaging storytelling style of the originals. Indeed, this is what makes the tales from the 1812 and 1815 editions unique--they reflect diverse voices, rooted in oral traditions, that are absent from the Grimms' later, more embellished collections of tales. Zipes's introduction gives important historical context, and the book includes the Grimms' prefaces and notes. A delight to read, The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm presents these peerless stories to a whole new generation of readers.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2014-10-19
Des Knaben Wunderhorn by Collection of German folk songs and verse, including children's songs.
Call Number: 830.81 AR6K 1923
Publication Date: 1923
Children's Literature in Hitler's Germany by Between 1933 and 1945, National Socialists enacted a focused effort to propagandize children's literature by distorting existing German values and traditions with the aim of creating a homogenous "folk community." A vast censorship committee in Berlin oversaw the publication, revision, and distribution of books and textbooks for young readers, exercising its control over library and bookstore content as well as over new manuscripts, so as to redirect the cultural consumption of the nation's children. In particular, the Nazis emphasized Nordic myths and legends with a focus on the fighting spirit of the saga heroes, their community loyalty, and a fierce spirit of revenge--elements that were then applied to the concepts of loyalty to and sacrifice for the Führer and the fatherland. They also tolerated select popular series, even though these were meant to be replaced by modern Hitler Youth camping stories. In this important book, first published in 1984 and now back in print, Christa Kamenetsky demonstrates how Nazis used children's literature to selectively shape a "Nordic Germanic" worldview that was intended to strengthen the German folk community, the Führer, and the fatherland by imposing a racial perspective on mankind. Their efforts corroded the last remnants of the Weimar Republic's liberal education, while promoting an enthusiastic following for Hitler.
Call Number: 830.9 K128C
Publication Date: 1984-05-15
Handbuch der Österreichischen Kinder- Und Jugendbuchautorinnen by Das "Handbuch osterreichischer Kinder- und Jugendbuchautorinnen" gibt einen Uberblick uber Autorinnen, die mindestens ein Werk fur junge LeserInnen veroffentlicht haben. Neben bekannten Namen wie Vera Ferra-Mikura, Friedl Hofbauer, Mira Lobe, Christine Nostlinger oder Renate Welsh finden sich auch langst vergessene, unbekannt gebliebene und junge Autorinnen. Die biografischen Eintrage enthalten Informationen uber Herkunft, Ausbildung, diverse Lebensstationen, Auszeichnungen und vieles mehr. Sie geben aber auch Einblick in das jeweilige Gesamtwerk. So wird einerseits das Leben der Frauen in allen Facetten wieder sichtbar gemacht. Andererseits bietet das Handbuch, das als Basis fur die weitere Kinder- und Jugendliteraturforschung und die Frauenbiografieforschung dienen soll, auch einen breiten Uberblick uber den Anteil, den Frauen an der osterreichischen Kinder- und Jugendliteraturszene haben und hatten.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2014-11-06
Literatures and Languages Library
Subjects: American Literature
, British Literature
, Film Studies
, Latin America
, Literature & Language