About
This page provides library and web resources for German language learners. For on-campus language classes, visit the Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures.
Language Learning Apps/Websites
- Rosetta Stone Advantage This link opens in a new windowA language learning program that allows users to maintain and improve their language skills. Languages include Spanish (Spain and Latin America), American English, French, German, Italian, and Dutch.
- DuoLingoA free site accessible through your browser or as an app. Uses a game-like approach and has content created mostly by native speakers.
- HelloTalkFree app. Allows users to converse with native speakers through chat and voice.
- MindSnacksOnly for iOS devices. Takes a gamification approach to language learning. Limited version available for free; inexpensive complete version also available.
- BabbelPaid "cousin" of DuoLingo (does have 40 free lessons). Uses pictures to teach vocabulary, has pop-up grammar points, and offers separate packages for improving specific skills.
- MemriseBest for vocabulary retention; includes gamification, memes, and humor to encourage memory association.
Learn German by Podcast
Beginner
- My German ClassVideo skits with goofy humor; German subtitles and episode scripts in English/German available.
- Young GermanyHas intermediate German podcasts as well as a "starter kit" page that links to grammar basics and some "survival German" (beginners') podcasts.
- Deutsche Welle Warum NichtCovers levels A1 to B1 (basic to lower intermediate). Follows a journalism student in Germany.
Intermediate and Advanced
- Slow GermanShort podcasts of German texts spoken slowly. Texts available as PDFs. Difficulty ranges from beginner to intermediate-advanced.
- Schlaflos in MünchenBuchkritiken, Filmreviews, Interviews, Anniks Gedanken und vielen anderen Geschichten. From the maker of Slow German.
- German GrammarPodNot currently being updated, but includes links to older episodes that focus on German grammar.
- German LingQFree podcasts with full transcripts.
Other Online Resources
- BBC Languages: GermanCollection of free audio and video courses for both beginners and intermediate learners.
- Goethe Institute (Learn German Online Free)Interactive learning games to improve your German skills at all levels; chat with experts and conversation partners.
- About.com German LanguageFeatures a variety of language lessons, commentary on traveling and teaching skills, and several interactive elements including quizzes.
- Coffee Break GermanFree podcasts, online courses, vocabulary training for beginner - intermediate.
- Deutsche Welle: Deutsch lernenFree e-learning with videos, podcasts, and audio courses as well as traditional texts and worksheets for print-out.
Social Sites
- BusuuAudio and written exercises in an online community setting. Seems best for basic vocabulary.
- WordReference.com ForumsActive language forums to ask questions of native speakers or answer yourself.
German Verbs
- About.com's German Verbs GuideConjugations of the Most-Used German Verbs
- German Verb TablesFrom Paul Joyce at the University of Portsmouth. Verb tables and explanations of various tenses, moods, irregularities, etc. Great for all learning levels.
- German Verb Conjugation ActivitiesLinks printable verb tables.
Writing Skills / Orthography (German Writing Conventions)
- Die neue Rechtschreibung byCall Number: 431.52 St24nISBN: 3468299575Publication Date: 2005-12-01A concise reference to current German orthography. Explanations and alphabetical index available.
PONS deutsche Grammatik und Rechtschreibung : die wichtigsten Regeln, einfach und verständlich by Call Number: 435 B189p2006ISBN: 3125606470Publication Date: 2006
Library Resources for Learning German
For other titles, try the following search terms in the library catalog:
- German language
- German language -- Self-instruction
- German language -- English
- German language -- Textbooks for foreign speakers -- English
Some examples are linked below.
Conversational German in 7 Days by
You are on your way to Germany but do not know one bit of German. To make the most of this exotic journey, you need to be comfortable with simple questions such as Where is the hotel? or How much does it cost? You'll also find it easier to enjoy your trip if you learn ahead of time how to ask for help, just in case there's an emergency. Conversational German in 7 Days is the perfect language tutor. In a week -- about the time it takes to get a passport -- you will learn enough German to make your travel adventure a smooth and enriching experience. This book provides you with all the communication skills you need to make the most of an exciting jaunt and speak confidently to the people you encounter. Perfect for pleasure or business travelers, Conversational German in 7 Days enables you to easily communicate with native speakers without expensive and time-consuming language classes. You will only have to worry about what to pack! Book jacket.
Call Number: PF3121 .B35 1998ISBN: 0844244848Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Exploring the German Language by
If we want to understand how German speakers think about themselves and the world in which they live, then a useful place to begin is by looking at the language they use. This fully revised and updated edition provides a systematic approach to the study of the German language and an introduction to the social aspects of the language, including its dialects, its history and the uses of the language today. No previous knowledge of linguistics is assumed, and each chapter is accompanied by a series of practical exercises. This edition includes a brand new section on gender, purism and German unification, fresh examples for analysis and an updated chapter on the geography of Germany today. The book will help students not only to find new ways of exploring the German language, but also of thinking and talking about German-speaking cultures.
Call Number: PF3112 .J64 2008ISBN: 9780521872089Publication Date: 2008-08-14- German: the Complete Course I A by German: The Complete Course I ACall Number: CDISC PL539 .G47 2001ISBN: 9780788797392Publication Date: 2002-01-17
Living Language German by
For over 65 years, millions have learned with Living Language#65533;. Now it's your turn. Based on the Living Language Method(tm), Platinum German gives you, the flexibility to fit language learning into your life. You choose where, when, and how you learn. * 3 BOOKS: 46 lessons, additional review exercises, culture notes, an extensive glossary, and a grammar summary--plus a bonus notebook. * 9 AUDIO CDS: Vocabulary, dialogues, audio exercises, and more--listen with the books or use for review on the go. * iPhone#65533; AND iPad#65533; COMPATIBLE APPS: Vocabulary flashcards, audio conversations, grammar notes, and interactive games all at your fingertips. * ONLINE COURSE: Access all of your language content in a rich, interactive experience that allows you to learn at home or wherever you and your laptop go. * E-TUTOR: Schedule tutoring sessions and get personal support, answers, and encouragement from language experts at no additional cost. * ONLINE COMMUNITY: Practice, share tips, get advice, and receive feedback from language experts, native speakers, and other users. INSIDE THE PACKAGE YOU'LL FIND: The code required to access the Apps, Online Course, and e-Tutor. Check out Living Language's exclusive forums once you've registered as a Platinum user. To learn more visit www.livinglanguage.com. THE LIVING LANGUAGE METHOD(tm) At the core of Platinum German is the Living Language Method(tm), based on linguistic science, proven techniques, and over 65 years of experience. Our four-point method teaches you the whole language so you can express yourself, not just recite memorized words or scripts. Build a Foundation Start speaking German immediately using essential words and phrases. Progress with Confidence Build on each lesson as you advance to full sentences, then actual conversations. Retain what You've Learned Special recall exercises move your new language from short-term to long-term memory. Achieve Your Goals Don't just mimic or memorize. Develop practical language skills to speak in any situation.
Call Number: PF3112.7 G4724 2011ISBN: 0307479102Publication Date: 2011-08-09
Vorsprung by
An innovative and lively introductory program, VORSPRUNG: A COMMUNICATIVE INTRODUCTION TO GERMAN LANGUAGE AND CULTURE, 3E uses a five-skills approach that emphasizes the acquisition of communicative and cultural competence without sacrificing attention to formal accuracy. Unique "focus on form" activities help readers develop realistic abilities in speaking, listening, reading, and writing German. The program presents a systematic, clear introduction to the essentials of German grammar and practices high-frequency structures and vocabulary in interactive activities. It also provides relevant cultural knowledge as well as a wealth of spoken and written authentic textual materials.
Call Number: Oak Street LibraryISBN: 9781133607359Publication Date: 2012-12-04- Open Access Textbook: German 101 byPublication Date: 2022
Specialized German
Business
German for Business and Economics by
This is a Student Textbook/Workbook (volume 1) with a CD-Rom enclosed. The CD-rom contains information for both Volume 1 (red cover) and Volume 2 (blue cover) The German for Business and Economics package consists of two textbooks/workbook volumes, German for Business and Economics: Band 1- Die Volks- Und Weltwirtschaft Instructor Research Handbook [red cover] and German for Business and Economics: Band 2 - Die Betriebswirtschaft [blue cover]; instructor Resource handbooks to accompany each volume; a CD-rom containing integrated computer software that is compatible with Microsoft Windows 7; and cassette tapes for each textbook volume. The textbooks/workbooks have perforated pages, designed to be torn out for classroom use. The CD_rom contains Hortexte, or listening texts and exercises.The cassette tapes provide an alternate option for working. Both Instructor handbooks for textbooks/workbooks 1 and 2 contain methodology discussions, sample syllibi, sample tests, listening scripts, and much more.
Call Number: PF3120.C7 P38 1999ISBN: 0870135384Publication Date: 1999-09-30- Deutsche Sprache in der Wirtschaft aktuell : Analyse, Sprachregeln, Stilbeispiele byCall Number: PF3120.C7 W55 2002ISBN: 382763170XPublication Date: 2002
German Business Situations by
German Business Situations is a handy reference and learning text for all who use or need spoken German for business. Over 40 situations are simply presented, including * basic phone calls * leaving messages * making presentations * comparing, enquiring, booking selling techniques With full English translations and usage note, German Business Situations will help you to communicate confidently and effectively in a broad range of everyday business situations
Call Number: PF3120.C7 H37 1995ISBN: 0415128447Publication Date: 1995-11-20
- Business German PhrasebookEnglish to German; also includes sample resumes.
- Export.govInformation about regulations for travel and business in Germany.
Slang and Idioms
Dictionary of German Slang and Colloquial Expressions by
This quick-reference dictionary for language students and travelers to German-speaking countries presents more than 4,000 informal, commonly-used words and phrases in German with English translations and equivalent phrases. International travelers quickly discover that their textbook knowledge of German will take them only so far in understanding and communicating with others. This new edition, updated with many of the most contemporary expressions, will help all students and travelers who have an intermediate-level knowledge of German but need to familiarize themselves with informal speech. Words and phrases are presented with grammatical information, their English meanings, and a sentence or extended phrase in German to illustrate usage, followed by the English translation. The Dictionary of German Slang and Colloquial Expressions is one title in Barron's series of slang dictionaries in several different languages. Because of the nature of slang, these books contain expressions that some readers might find offensive.
Call Number: 437.09 St89d 2009ISBN: 9780764141140Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Medical
- Medical and Dental VocabularyEnglish-German glossary
- dict.cc Dictionary - Subject: medThis online dictionary has great lists of subject words, including medicine.
Academic
German Reading Skills for Academic Purposes by
German Reading Skills for Academic Purposes allows researchers and learners with no prior understanding of German to gain an understanding of written German at CEFR C2/ACTFL Intermediate-High level that will allow them to read a variety of German texts, including research articles and monographs. This is achieved by looking closely at the elements of German grammar required for the understanding of written German along with practical advice and observations. One of the main themes running through the textbook is that it uses a toolkit approach that puts deductive reasoning and decoding skills at its heart to allow learners to engage with a wide variety of texts.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780367186623Publication Date: 2019-07-30
Readers
Readers offer mini-lessons in grammar and vocabulary before and after each reading and thus are a great way to improve reading skills. To find readers, try searching the Library Catalog using the following subject terms:
- German language, Readers
- Primers, German
- German language, Exercises and readers
A few examples are linked below.
Reading German by
Reading German is a structured reading course designed to take a wide variety of users to an independent reading of authentic German texts. It is ideally suited for courses in colleges and universities, for students or specialists in any discipline, and for independent learners. Drawing onrecent research into reading in a foreign language, the course chapters focus on the recognition and decoding of progressively complex written structures, before rehearsing a variety of strategies (such as skimming and scanning) for negotiating longer and more complex texts.The book has four sections:*a 16-chapter reading course*an extensive reference section containing a specially-designed grammar of written German*a further exercises section, for further work on recognizing structures*a text corpus containing 23 texts of various types, with facing English translations. Grammatical points explained in the reference section are frequently illustrated using examples located in the text corpus.The only other resource the user will need is a bilingual dictionary. Advice on how to use a dictionary is contained in the reference section.
Call Number: 438.6421 C679RISBN: 0198700202Publication Date: 1998-03-05
German Grammar: Library Resources
German Grammar: Reviewed and Retold by ISBN: 1000470423Publication Date: 2021German Grammar: Reviewed and Retold is a user-friendly grammar/workbook designed to give German learners a great basis to build an in-depth knowledge of spoken and written German. Bridging the gap between grammar, storytelling, and culture, learners of the German language discover Germany's cultural history as well as life in Germany today, while absorbing grammatical structures through reading and practice.
German Grammar in Context by
German Grammar in Context, 3rd Edition includes updated textual examples which provide the basis for an accessible and engaging approach to learning grammar. Using authentic texts from a variety of contemporary sources such as newspapers, magazines, poems, TV and film scripts, books or online sources, each chapter explores a key aspect of German grammar. Following each text, exercises are provided to reinforce understanding and build effective comprehension and communication skills. Helpful keyword boxes translate difficult vocabulary in the texts, and recommended reading sections offer advice on additional grammar resources and website links. German Grammar in Context is an essential resource for students at CEFR level B1-C2 and Intermediate-Advanced High on the ACTFL scale. It is suitable for both classroom use and independent study.
Call Number: PF3112 .F39 2020ISBN: 9780429197475Publication Date: 2019-12-09
German Grammar Made Easy by
German Grammar Made Easy is the ideal introduction to the basics of German grammar for anyone new to the language or looking to refresh their knowledge. The Grammar features: * concise and jargon-free explanations supported by examples * exercises throughout to reinforce learning * a "fast-track" option for more advanced learners * a full answer key, making the Grammar ideal for self-study. A companion website is available at http://cw.routledge.com/textbooks/9781138120525/ With over 200 additional exercises and audio, it provides ample grammar practice for learners as well as the opportunity to practise listening and pronunciation skills. German Grammar Made Easy presents the essential patterns and rules of the German language in a clear and accessible manner. It is the ideal Grammar for those wishing to supplement their learning and move beyond the phrasebook level.
Call Number: PF3112 .K34 2017ISBN: 9781138120518Publication Date: 2016-12-06
Graf Von Anderson's College German Grammar and Culture by ISBN: 9780367544119Publication Date: 2021Graf von Anderson's College German Grammar and Culture is a beginners' textbook (CEFR A1-B2, ACTFL novice low - intermediate low) for the German language for college students and for those engaged in self-study with popular software programs and apps. In addition to illuminating profiles of key places and individuals who helped shape German history from Roman times to the present day, the textbook also includes important cultural briefings. .
Hammer's German Grammar and Usage by
Long trusted as the most comprehensive, up-to-date and user-friendly grammar available, Hammer's German Grammar provides you with a complete guide to German as it is written and spoken today. In a new layout to enable better referencing, this new edition includes: concise descriptions of the main grammatical phenomena of German and their use examples of grammar taken from contemporary German, helping you to understand the underlying grammatical principles more quickly invaluable guidance on pronunciation and the German accent discussion of new words from English roots, helping you to communicate in German as Germans do today clarification on the spelling reform and current spellings of German, thus increasing your confidence while writing and reading in German. Praised for its lucid explanations, this new edition distinguishes the most common forms of usage, both formal and informal. Hammer's German Grammar also offers you a combination of reference grammar and manual of current usage that you will find invaluable, whether a student or a teacher, at intermediate or advanced level.
Call Number: PF3112 .D77 2017ISBN: 9781138853713Publication Date: 2017-01-11
Speed up Your German by
Speed Up Your German　is a unique and innovative resource that identifies and explains the errors most commonly made by learners of German, enabling students to learn from their mistakes while enhancing their understanding of the German language. Each of the eighteen chapters focuses on a grammatical category where English speakers typically make mistakes. Each chapter is subdivided into two levels: Level 1 explains the root cause of the error while level 2 goes deeper into the grammar allowing students to choose the level they want to work at. Each point is clearly explained and exemplified and a range of exercises reinforce learning. Suitable both for classroom use or self-study,　Speed Up Your German 　is the ideal resource for all intermediate learners of German wishing to refine their language skills.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781317568032Publication Date: 2017-09-19
Dictionaries and Vocabulary
To find a monolingual German dictionary, search the Online Catalog using the subject heading German Language Dictionaries. To find a German/English dictionary, search the Browse Search using the subject heading German Language Dictionaries English.
Oxford Beginner's German Dictionary by
The Oxford Beginner's German Dictionary is a brand new guide to learning German. Designed specifically for English-speaking adult learners who are either learning from scratch or refreshing lost language skills, it offers an easy to use dictionary, extra help with vocabulary, and essentialinformation on living and interacting in the German-speaking world.The dictionary is exceptionally easy to use, because it moves away from the traditional dictionary layout. All main translations are preceded by an equals sign so that they are instantly identifiable, and all parts of the entry are spelt out in full, avoiding confusing jargon and abbreviations.Grammar and usage notes throughout the text warn of possible translation pitfalls, and thousands of example phrases show how the language is used in contextThe 30-page Learning and Lifestyle kit gives key information on both the German language, with a list of the words you really need to know, grammar help, and verb tables, and on life in the German-speaking world: background information on lifestyle and culture, tips on etiquette and interaction inthe language, and a phrasefinder for use when travelling.The Oxford Beginner's German Dictionary is your essential companion to learning German.
Call Number: PF3640 .O96 2006ISBN: 0199298572Publication Date: 2006-06-22
A Frequency Dictionary of German by
This completely updated edition of A Frequency Dictionary of German contains the 5,000 most commonly used words of German today, occurring in a 20-million-word corpus (compared to a 4.2-million-word corpus in the first edition). The basis of the frequency list is a significantly extended version of the Herder/BYU Corpus of Contemporary German. The Dictionary contains spoken and written German, and represents different genres, text types, registers, styles, and also regional varieties. The Dictionary provides a rich resource for language teaching and curriculum design, while a separate CD version provides the full text in a tab-delimited format ideally suited for use by corpus and computational linguists. The corpus is designed to represent the current German language as it is used in the real world. Useful as a reference for students and course designers alike, A Frequency Dictionary of German is an important new resource.
Call Number: PF3691 .J66 2020ISBN: 9781138659759Publication Date: 2019-11-01
- Datenbank-Paket Duden This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of German language reference works of the publishing house Duden.
- PONS.eduIncludes a vocabulary trainer.
- WoxiconFor finding synonyms.
- What is the opposite of...For finding antonyms.