LibGuides: German Studies: Historical Newspapers

Digitized Newspaper Collections

Neues Deutschland Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This collection contains all obtainable published issues of Neues Deutschland from the first issue in 1946 through 2017. The Neues Deutschland is a newspaper that provided firsthand accounts of the 20th Century’s most momentous events from the Cold War’s epicenter, and today still continues publishing as one of Germany's national dailies. This collection has been digitized in full image and accompanying full text.

ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online
A digitization initiative of the Austrian National Library making available online historical Austrian (German language) newspapers and magazines.
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin
A list of digitized newspapers; links various 19th and 20th century titles. Left navigation bar includes a special section for daily newspapers from the GDR.
Internetarchiv jüdischer Kulturbund
Covers over 100 Jewish periodicals in German.
Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung
Retroactively digitized newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Liechtensteinische Landesbibliothek
Full-text searching of various 19th and 20th century newspapers from Liechtenstein.
Bayerische Zeitungen (1848-1850)
Newspapers organized by region from the Bavarian State Library Online.
Das digitale Zeitungsarchiv der Landesbibliothek Dr. Friedrich Teßmann
Digitized newspapers from the Alpine region. Several titles are from the south Tyrol region (newspapers in German and in Italian).

Newspapers at UIUC

The UIUC Library has an extensive collection of newspapers, both current and retrospective, in a variety of formats, including hard copy, microfilm, and digital reproductions. Not all of them are included in the online catalog. Many newspapers can be found through the Library Gateway.

You can also search for older newspapers through the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library's Historical Newspapers Database. This database is searchable by place of publication and by keywords from the title. For German studies, try indicating a particular German-speaking country, or simply search for all German language newspapers.

For assistance with finding both current and historical newspapers, please reach out to the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library at hpnl@library.illinois.edu.

Additional Resources

The Center for Research Libraries in Chicago has an extensive collection of German newspapers in microfilm. To find them, search CRL's catalog for "newspapers" and then under the tab for newspapers, search by the title of the newspaper. To get access to the microfilms, order them through the Library's Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery.

Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers - the database of digitized American historic newspapers, sponsored by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, includes 26 German-American newspaper titles. For more information about this project see, Leah Weinryb Grohsgal, “Chronicling America’s Historic German Newspapers and the Growth of the American Ethnic Press.”