Digital Collections and Resources
- EuropeanaProvides access to books, artwork, music, and other artifacts from European cultural institutions.
- Eurodocs: Online Sources for European HistoryTranscriptions, facsimiles, and translations of important historical documents.
- German History in Documents and ImagesA collection of digitized historical materials from 1500 - present day, divided into 10 periods in German history. Provided by the German Historical Institute.
- Deutsche Digitale BibliothekGerman Digital Library
- German Studies Collaboratory: Digital HubVirtual hub of open education resources for those interested in German history and related topics.
- fotoerbe.deMillions of digitized photographs from German cultural institutions.
- Jewish Heritage for the Connected AgeFrom the Jewish Heritage Network.
- Archives Portal EuropeProvides access to finding aids and some full-text archival documents for archives throughout Europe.
- The European LibraryAn aggregate of digital and physical holdings of 48 European national libraries plus a number of research libraries.
History Databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Alternate version: Historical Abstracts with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches).
- Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowThe Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies are multidisciplinary bibliographies of Europe, North Africa and the Near East (300-1500), founded in 1967 with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. The bibliographies comprise 365,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Iter in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Contains electronic resources for researchers in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Enables users to access citations in journal, book, and reviews databases; provides online access to Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum (a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts); provides access to the International Directory of Scholars (a comprehensive directory of contact information, and information on the research and teaching careers of scholars around the world). Subscription includes a membership to the Renaissance Society of America.
- IBZ Online - International Bibliography of Periodical Literature This link opens in a new windowUniversal index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Over 11,500 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 3.2 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion the the periodicals published on the European continent.
- Internetarchiv jüdischer PeriodikaInternet archive of Jewish periodicals.
- German Anti-Semitic Propaganda This link opens in a new windowThis collection comprises 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education. Most of the writings date from the 1920s and 1930s and many are directly connected with Nazi groups. The works are principally anti-Semitic, but include writings on other groups as well, including Jehovah’s Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons. Also included are history, pseudo-history, and fiction.
- First World War This link opens in a new windowThe First World War portal presents rich and varied primary source documents on the personal experiences of men and women, recruitment, and the development and dissemination of various forms of propaganda. The documents feature in four self-contained modules: Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, Visual Perspectives and Narratives, and A Global War. The wealth of original documents include: personal narratives, diaries, newspapers, posters, postcards, photographs, printed books, military and government files, and ephemera. This material is complemented by a range of contextual secondary features. Use the Interactive Maps to learn about the extension of the conflict, explore significant dates and events of the Great War through the chronology and view fascinating visual images in bespoke galleries
- Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new windowA selection of texts from all five divisions of Monumenta Germaniae Historica (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates).
- Deutsche Biographische Enzyklopädie Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes two databases on people considered important in the historical/cultural development of the German-speaking countries of Europe from the Middle Ages to the present. Databases can be searched together or separately. Deutsche biographische Enzyklopädie includes entries with biographical information for approximately 56,000 individuals and the Deutscher biographischer Index includes shorter biographical information on approximately 450,000 individuals.
- East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963Originally microfilmed as Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of East Germany, this digital collection provides an in-depth look into the creation of the East German state, living conditions, and its people. Documents included in this collection are predominantly instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic, and consular personnel regarding political, military, economic, social, industrial, and other internal conditions and events in East Germany.
German History Resources at UIUC
- Emblematica OnlineDigital project from UIUC and partner German institution HAB.
General Histories
Search terms such as Germany (Austria, etc.) -- History. If you are interested in a particular time period, you can add relevant dates at the end, e.g., Germany -- History -- 20th century. Several examples of relevant titles are linked below, but you can find many more by exploring the Library Catalog.
The Oxford Handbook of Modern German History by
This is the first comprehensive, multi-author survey of German history that features cutting-edge syntheses of major topics by an international team of leading scholars. Emphasizing demographic, economic, and political history, this Handbook places German history in a denser transnationalcontext than any other general history of Germany. It underscores the centrality of war to the unfolding of German history, and shows how it dramatically affected the development of German nationalism and the structure of German politics. It also reaches out to scholars and students beyond the fieldof history with detailed and cutting-edge chapters on religious history and on literary history, as well as to contemporary observers, with reflections on Germany and the European Union, and on 'multi-cultural Germany.'Covering the period from around 1760 to the present, this Handbook represents a remarkable achievement of synthesis based on current scholarship. It constitutes the starting point for anyone trying to understand the complexities of German history as well as the state of scholarly reflection onGermany's dramatic, often destructive, integration into the community of modern nations. As it brings this story to the present, it also places the current post-unification Federal Republic of Germany into a multifaceted historical context. It will be an indispensable resource for scholars,students, and anyone interested in modern Germany.
Call Number: 943 Ox26ISBN: 9780199237395Publication Date: 2011-10-14
Germany and Austria Since 1814 by
Germany and Austria since 1814 presents an accessible overview of the distinctive historical experiences undergone by both Germany and Austria during this period. 　Beginning in 1814 with the Congress of Vienna and ending two centuries later with the consequences and ongoing challenges of German and European unification, this book focuses on political history and traces the development of liberal parliamentary democracy in Germany and Austria through to the modern Federal Republic of Germany and Second Austrian Republic, contextualising the Nazi period in both countries. Particular emphasis has been placed on exploring major developments, their causes, and the relationships between them. Fully revised, this new edition has been expanded to include a new final chapter outlining developments in both Germany and Austria from 1990 to the current day, including recent elections, as well as modifications and updates to other earlier chapters. Features include: Nine chapters, each analysing a distinct historical period and providing a timeline of the key events for quick reference and orientation Overviews of the main developments in European and World history at the beginning of each chapter, providing international context crucial to a broader understanding of historical events Authentic extracts from contemporary German political texts in the original language Topics for discussion provided in every chapter A guide to further reading and key internet resources for further research A combined glossary of German terms. Germany and Austria since 1814 provides the essential historical context necessary for an understanding of these pivotal European countries today. It will be invaluable for undergraduate students taking courses in German, History and Area Studies.
Call Number: DD17 .A734 2014ISBN: 9781138813786Publication Date: 2014-11-13
A Concise History of Austria by
For a small, prosperous country in the middle of Europe, modern Austria has a very large and complex history, extending far beyond its current borders. Today's Austrians have a problematic relationship with that history, whether with the multi-national history of the Habsburg Monarchy, or with the time between 1938 and 1945 when Austrians were Germans in Hitler's Third Reich. Steven Beller's gripping and comprehensive account traces the remarkable career of Austria through its many transformations, from German borderland, to dynastic enterprise, imperial house, Central European great power, failed Alpine republic, German province, and then successful Alpine republic, building up a picture of the layers of Austrian identity and heritage and their diverse sources. It is a story full of anomalies and ironies, a case study of the other side of European history, without the easy answers of more clearly national narratives, and hence far more relevant to today's world.
Call Number: 943.6 B416cISBN: 0521473055Publication Date: 2007-01-04
Luxembourg by
Luxembourg is one of Europe's smallest states, yet it is rich in history and boasts a glorious past of emperors, knights, castles and faith. In modern times it has endured foreign occupation and partition before becoming a modern state in the nineteenth century. Despite this, Luxembourg enjoys influence way beyond its size. This book tells the story of Luxembourg from ancient times, through the crusader period and centuries of foreign domination, to the growth of the modern, prosperous Luxembourg of today.
ISBN: 9781425901899Publication Date: 2005-12-01
