Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About This Page
This page offers guidance on library resources and outside links useful for studying Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Luxembourg, and Liechtenstein from a political science perspective. For research assistance, please reach out to the the International and Area Studies Library.
UIUC Library Books
A small sample of titles for beginning research are recommended below. To find other books, try the following or similar search terms:
- Germany -- Politics and government -- 21st century (or 20th)
- Germany -- Relations -- European countries
- Austria -- Politics and government -- 1945-
The Routledge Handbook of German Politics and Culture by The Routledge Handbook of German Politics and Culture offers a wide-ranging and authoritative account of Germany in the 21st century. It gathers the expertise of internationally leading scholars of German culture, politics, and society to explore and explain historical pathways to contemporary Germany the current 'Berlin Republic' society and diversity Germany and Europe Germany and the world. This is an essential resource for students, researchers, and all those looking to understand contemporary German politics and culture.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2014-11-27
Political Institutions in the Federal Republic of Germany by This text offers a concise and comprehensive overview of the Federal Republic of Germany post 1945. The chapters will enable students to understand how Germany's political institutions work, their strengths and weaknesses and the relationship between institutions and the politicalprocess.
Call Number: 320.443 Sch52p
Publication Date: 2003-05-08
Rethinking Germany and Europe by Explores the paths of development unfolding from the inter-dependent histories of postwar Germany and the European integration process. The contributors explore these histories within the idea of 'semi-sovereignty': a set of constraints on the German state's power within the external constraints of Germany's multilateral commitments.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2016-04-30
From the Bonn to the Berlin Republic by The fall of the Berlin Wall and the unification of East and West Germany in 1989/90 were events of world-historical significance. The twentieth anniversary of this juncture represents an excellent opportunity to reflect upon the evolution of the new Berlin Republic. Given the on-going significance of the country for theory and concept-building in many disciplines, an in-depth examination of the case is essential. In this volume, unique in its focus on all aspects of contemporary Germany - culture, historiography, society, politics and the economy - top scholars offer their assessments of the country's performance in these and other areas and analyze the successes and continued challenges.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2010-11-30
Austria in the New Europe by "A useful vehicle for bringing together studies of Austria's past, present, and future." --International Affairs "[Austria in the New Europe] should be warmly greeted by all those working in the field of Austrian studies. . . . Anyone interested in Austria's relations with Europe cannot afford to ignore this stimulating volume. The contributions are uniformly informative and insightful." --German Studies Review
Call Number: 327.43604 AU79
Publication Date: 1992-10-31
The Politics and Government of Switzerland by The Politics and Government of Switzerland is one of very few English language studies of contemporary Swiss politics. Drawing on recent research in Switzerland, and the author's own observations, it offers wide coverage of Swiss political forces, processes and policies. Church argues that Switzerland is actually a vibrant and pluralist polity, in which politics are increasingly competitive. However, it still retains some distinctive characteristics like direct democracy, which mean that the Swiss people play a larger role than in other countries.
Call Number: 320.9494 C473p
Publication Date: 2003-12-16
Political Science Databases
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
The PAIS Archive includes carefully selected resources to help users identify and locate information about significant political, economic, social and cultural issues affecting international and local communities, countries, governments and society. Its broad topical scope and retrospective coverage complement more specialized databases that cover the humanities, health care, agriculture, sociology, history, and many other disciplines, providing historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies. Also, the PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics, and the original historical subject headings have been retained within the file for enhanced searching capabilities.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
Europa World Plus
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Border and Migration Studies Online
This collection of text, images, and videos explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.
Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL)
The website Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL) is an online archive which provides access to scholarly journals and electronic books pertaining to Central and Eastern European topics. The site claims its history is rooted in the annual book fairs of Frankfurt am Main. It was developed by the Frankfurt cultural center Palais Jalta, and its related company Questasoft. Site content is provided by publishers and editors who are based in Central Europe, or by those based outside the region who deal with Eastern European histories; languages; literatures; and cultural, social and political themes related to the study of this area.
EIU Country Data
An analytical database of worldwide economic indicators and forecasts, providing more than 300 series on 150 countries and 45 regional aggregates, running from 1980 and forward to 2005. Data can be manipulated, displayed, graphed, analyzed and downloaded in various formats. Major data categories include economic structure, foreign payments, external debt stock, external debt service, external trade, trends in foreign trade, quarterly indicators.
The website for the statistical office of the EU in Luxembourg. It provides access to statistics which allow for comparisons between countries and regions in Europe.