Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books at UIUC
Becoming TransGerman by This book is a cutting-edge, interdisciplinary collection of essays by some of today's most forward-thinking scholars. The contributors explore the ways in which the prefix «trans» erupts German identity and the identity of Germany itself. The volume calls German identity into question and examines the ways in which the prefix «trans» is deployed to these ends in relation to national borders, historical limits, political institutions, social practices, and forms of cultural and aesthetic expression. The collection reveals the ways in which the transcendence of national, corporeal, disciplinary, and institutional limits is embodied by the use of the prefix «trans»- and has the potential to do so much more. The volume engages the multifaceted nature of «trans»- and a Germanness that defies geography - to explore how Germans and Germany are increasingly situated «beyond» limits. Collectively, these investigations reveal a radical discourse of Germanness, a discourse with significant implications for historical and contemporary German self-understanding.The book asks the following: What is German identity beyond geography? And what are the promises and perils for Germany, and German identity, in becoming transGerman?
Call Number: DD76 .B39 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-22
Flucht Nach Deutschland by Ab Mitte 2015 begann die "Migrationskrise" die Offentlichkeit in Atem zu halten. Angetrieben von medialer Berichterstattung handelte die Politik und nahm Migranten auf, die unter menschenunwurdigen Bedingungen an den Randern Europas dahinvegetieren mussten. Die Menschen wurden Zeugen eines Kontrollverlustes der Politik und ihres Herantastens an die Grenzen der Belastbarkeit von Staat und Gesellschaft. Das Buch wird diesen Ablauf der Migrationskrise schildern, dann auf die politischen und ethischen Grundlagen der Politikentscheidungen eingehen und darstellen, wie sich Staat und Gesellschaft mit den Herausforderungen der Migrationskrise arrangierten. Weiter fragt das Buch nach den Rahmenbedingungen einer kunftigen Fluchtlingspolitik und prognostiziert, wie sich der politische Prozess der Fluchtlingsaufnahme in den folgenden Jahren entwickeln wird.
Call Number: JV8025.2 .L644 2020
Publication Date: 2020-10-21
Geschlechterdiskurse in der Migrationsgesellschaft by Nicht erst seit dem Diskursereignis um die Kölner Silvesternacht findet im öffentlichen, medialen, politischen und wissenschaftlichen Raum eine affektbesetzte Auseinandersetzung mit Gefahren und Bedrohungen in der Migrationsgesellschaft statt. Dabei wird von einer vermeintlichen Rückständigkeit und Gefährlichkeit derjenigen ausgegangen, die als »Andere« gelten. In den Diskursen werden ihr Wesen und Körper fokussiert, sodass sich eine Grundlage für die zunehmende Legitimation ihrer Überwachung und Bestrafung ausbildet. Die Beiträger*innen des Bandes diskutieren diese europäischen und »westlichen« Praktiken der geschlechterpolitischen Behauptung, Visualisierung und Hervorhebung migrantisierter Anderer und machen ihre Konsequenzen in unterschiedlichen Räumen deutlich.
Call Number: HM841 .G473 2020
Publication Date: 2020-10-26
No Country for Migrants? Critical Perspectives on Asylum, Immigration, and Integration in Germany by No Country for Migrants? Critical Perspectives on Asylum, Immigration, and Integration in Germany aims to critically contribute to ongoing debates about immigration, integration, and xenophobia in Germany. Set against the backdrop of Germany's controversial political decision to open its borders to refugees in 2015, the book realigns this watershed with the broader historical narratives of migration to explain its exceptionality both as an event and transformative force on the migration/integration discourse. The book further uses critical theories to make sense of the shifting socio-political coordinates of Germany. It addresses the history of Germany's migration policies, its soft and hard power in migration control, language and societal integration, immigration and the revival of right-wing extremism, as well as religion and immigration.
Call Number: JV8033 .Z68 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-24
System Statt Chaos by Dieses Buch analysiert die deutsche Migrationspolitik aus ökonomischer Sicht umfassend und systematisch. Der Autor spannt dabei einen weiten Bogen: von der aktuellen Flüchtlingskrise über die Einwanderungspolitik bis zu den Zwängen des Europarechts und der Zukunft des Nationalstaats. Die Erkenntnisse der ökonomischen Theorie der Migration werden herangezogen, um die deutsche Flüchtlings- und Einwanderungspolitik zu kritisieren und Vorschläge zu ihrer Reform zu entwickeln. Dabei werden die Bedingungen betrachtet, die jede ökonomisch rationale Migrationspolitik erfüllen muss, gleichgültig, ob sie eher großzügig oder eher restriktiv angelegt ist. Auch die politischen Aspekte der Migrationspolitik werden berücksichtigt. Der Autor erklärt, warum die öffentliche Diskussion derart von Vorurteilen und Tabus belastet ist. Das Buch schließt mit der Forderung nach einer offenen und sachlichen Debatte der Migrationspolitik, in der alle Interessen berücksichtigt werden. Nur auf dieser Grundlage kann eine rationale Migrationspolitik verwirklicht werden - eine Migrationspolitik, die sich nicht durch Chaos, sondern durch System auszeichnet.
Call Number: JV8033 .S65 2019
Publication Date: 2019-07-17
Border and Migration Studies Online
This collection of text, images, and videos explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.
African Diaspora: Cultural, Social and Political History
This database focuses on the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. Resources focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, this collection includes digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
The PAIS Archive includes carefully selected resources to help users identify and locate information about significant political, economic, social and cultural issues affecting international and local communities, countries, governments and society. Its broad topical scope and retrospective coverage complement more specialized databases that cover the humanities, health care, agriculture, sociology, history, and many other disciplines, providing historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies. Also, the PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics, and the original historical subject headings have been retained within the file for enhanced searching capabilities.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1952 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.
Significant Immigrant Communities in Germany
Turkish Germans by As the largest national group of guest workers in Germany, the Turks became a visible presence in local neighbourhoods and schools and had diverse social, cultural, and religious needs. Focussing on West Berlin, Sarah Thomsen Vierra explores the history of Turkish immigrants and their children from the early days of their participation in the post-war guest worker program to the formation of multi-generational communities. Both German and Turkish sources help to uncover how the first and second generations created spaces of belonging for themselves within and alongside West German society, while also highlighting the factors that influenced that process, from individual agency and community dynamics to larger institutional factors such as educational policy and city renovation projects. By examining the significance of daily interactions at the workplace, in the home, in the neighbourhood, and in places of worship, we see that spatial belonging was profoundly linked to local-level daily life and experiences.
Call Number: DD78.T87 V54 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-25
Globalization and Community by Turkish Berlin reveals how integration has been experienced by second-generation Turkish immigrant women in two neighborhoods in Berlin, Germany. Informed by first-person interviews with public officials and immigrants, Annika Marlen Hinze makes clear that local integration policiesOCooften created by officials who have little or no contact with immigrantsOCohave significant effects on the assimilation of outsiders into a community. "
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Strategies of Identity Formation by Integration of immigrants and their descendants has been a socially sensitive and a politically pressing issue in Germany, particularly in recent decades. Being the largest immigrant group in the country, and for a number of other reasons, the spotlight has been on people of Turkish descent. From a sociological perspective, the process of identity formation is a critical step in the direction of integration. If immigrants of Turkish descent are to be integrated in the society, it is crucial to inquire how they conceive of themselves, and perceive how they are conceived by the so-called locals. Heeding Goethe, Ali Mehdi goes out into broad and open land to conduct in-depth interviews with seven young men of Turkish descent, born in Germany, and to analyze - utilizing the empathetic approach of the German hermeneutic tradition - the rich diversity of identity strategies that the interviewees employ.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2012-03-09
Each One Teach One
An organization that works for the interests of Black, African, and Afro-diasporic people in Germany and Europe.
Black Central Europe
An organization which advances understanding of the Black community in German-speaking Central Europe through teaching/research resources, events/discussions, promoting Black artists, and more.
Being Black and German & Associations and Research Groups
List of resources for study from the University of Waterloo Centre for German Studies.
Black Germany by This groundbreaking history traces the development of Germany's black community, from its origins in colonial Africa to its decimation by the Nazis during World War II. Robbie Aitken and Eve Rosenhaft follow the careers of Africans arriving from the colonies, examining why and where they settled, their working lives and their political activities, and giving unprecedented attention to gender, sexuality and the challenges of 'mixed marriage'. Addressing the networks through which individuals constituted community, Aitken and Rosenhaft explore the ways in which these relationships spread beyond ties of kinship and birthplace to constitute communities as 'black'. The study also follows a number of its protagonists to France and back to Africa, providing new insights into the roots of Francophone black consciousness and postcolonial memory. Including an in-depth account of the impact of Nazism and its aftermath, this book offers a fresh critical perspective on narratives of 'race' in German history.
Call Number: 305.896043 Ai93b
Publication Date: 2013-09-26
Other Germans by It's hard to imagine an issue or image more riveting than Black Germans during the Third Reich. Yet accounts of their lives are virtually nonexistent, despite the fact that they lived through a regime dedicated to racial purity. Tina Campt's Other Germans tells the story of this largely forgotten group of individuals, with important distinctions from other accounts. Most strikingly, Campt centers her arguments on race, rather than anti-semitism. She also provides oral history as background for her study, interviewing two Black Germans for the book. In the end, the author comes face to face with an inevitable question: Is there a relationship between the history of Black Germans and those of other black communities? The answers to Campt's questions make Other Germans essential reading in the emerging study of what it meant to be black and German in the context of a society that looked at anyone with non-German blood as racially impure at best.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2009-02-06
Black Europe and the African Diaspora by The presence of Blacks in a number of European societies has drawn increasing interest from scholars, policymakers, and the general public. This interdisciplinary and multi-disciplinary collection penetrates the multifaceted Black presence in Europe, and, in so doing, complicates the notions of race, belonging, desire, and identities assumed and presumed in revealing portraits of Black experiences in a European context. In focusing on contemporary intellectual currents and themes, the contributors theorize and re-imagine a range of historical and contemporary issues related to the broader questions of blackness, diaspora, hegemony, transnationalism, and "Black Europe" itself as lived and perceived realities. Contributors are Allison Blakely, Jacqueline Nassy Brown, Tina Campt, Fred Constant, Alessandra Di Maio, Philomena Essed, Terri Francis, Barnor Hesse, Darlene Clark Hine, Dienke Hondius, Eileen Julien, Trica Danielle Keaton, Kwame Nimako, Tiffany Ruby Patterson, T. Denean Sharpley-Whiting, Stephen Small, Tyler Stovall, Alexander G. Weheliye, Gloria Wekker, and Michelle M. Wright.
Call Number: D1056.2.B55 H56 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-10