Check out a travel guide from UIUC or a local public library. Search the Library Catalog for Germany - Guidebooks or Austria - Guidebooks.
Rick Steves' Germany 2014 by 
National Geographic Traveler: Germany, 3rd Edition by
Germany region by region, from Munich's famous beer halls and fairy-tale Bavarian castles to the vibrant hub that is 21st-century Berlin, the Rhine Valley's medieval towns, and picturesque vineyards along the Romantic Road.
National Geographic Traveler: Vienna by
From Vienna's old town to the outer districts, from the city's charming, eclectic neighborhoods to Danube Island,âe National Geographic Traveler: Viennaâe guides you to the better- and lesser-known sights of one of Europe's most popular cities. In between,âe you'll discover the cultural and natural treasures Vienna has to offer--including its palaces and architectural gems, local marketsâe and events, and the beautiful parks and gardens throughout the city. Among the special features ofâe National Geographic Traveler: Viennaâe are sidebars detailing experiences throughout the city, to make sure that you get to know the culture, and the people, inside and out. You can learn to make traditional Viennese fare (think schnitzel and apple strudel), for example, sip wine across the Danube in Stammersdorf, and celebrate the holidays with a trip to Vienna's world-famous Christmas markets. Insider tips, in addition, provided by an array of National Geographic experts--photographers, writers, and grantees who have spent significant time in Vienna--direct you to favorite restaurants, festivals, and other information that only locals know. Guided walks and drives are always a popular feature in our guides, and inâe National Geographic Traveler: Vienna, these include hiking the Kahlenberg for an unforgettable view of the city, strolling along Vienna's back streets, and walking through the forests and meadows of the Prater. To top it off, an extensive Travelwise section at the back of the guide provides hand-picked hotels and restaurants, tour recommendations, and a glossary that covers must-know words.
Frommer's Vienna and the Danube Valley by
You'll never fall into tourist traps when you travel with Frommer's. It's like having a friend show you around, taking you to the places locals like best. Our expert authors have already gone everywhere you might go-- they've done the legwork for you, and they're not afraid to tell it like it is, saving you time and money. No other series offers candid reviews of so many hotels and restaurants in all price ranges. Every Frommer's Travel Guide is up-to-date, with exact prices for everything, dozens of color maps, and exciting coverage of sports, shopping, and nightlife. You'd be lost without us! City of music, cafés, waltzes, parks, pastries, and baroque architecture, Vienna became a showplace city under the Hapsburgs-- and unlike many European capitals, managed to retain its landmarks through two world wars. Frommer's offers detailed, complete coverage of all the highlights. Rely on us for indepth reviews of attractions and museums, the best accommodations for every taste and budget, the lowdown on the dining and café scene, a complete shopper's guide, the best of the performing arts, and more-- including side trips to nearby Danube River towns and Lake Neusiedl resorts. If you're combining your visit to Vienna with a trip to Prague or Budapest (both are just a short train ride away), check out some of Frommer's other helpful guides for your trip, such as Frommer's Prague & the Best of the Czech Republic and Frommer's Budapest & the Best of Hungary. For a book on more of Austria then "just" Vienna and the Danube Valley, see Frommer's Austria.
To find books, search the Library Catalog by subject using the following subject headings:
For more in-depth resources and research assistance in this area, contact the Funk ACES Library.
Beyond Bratwurst by
Thanks to Oktoberfest and the popularity of beer gardens, our thoughts on German food are usually relegated to beer, sausage, pretzels, and limburger cheese. But the inhabitants of modern-day Germany do not live exclusively on bratwurst. Defying popular perception of the meat and potatoes diet, Ursula Heinzelmann’snbsp;Beyond Bratwurstnbsp;delves into the history of German cuisine and reveals the country’s long history of culinary innovation. nbsp; Surveying the many traditions that make up German food today, Heinzelmann shows that regional variations of the country’s food have not only been marked by geographic and climatic differences between north and south, but also by Germany’s political, cultural, and socioeconomic history. She explores the nineteenth century’s back-to-the-land movement, which called for people to grow food on their own land for themselves and others, as well as the development of modern mass-market products, rationing and shortages under the Nazis, postwar hunger, and divisions between the East and West. Throughout, she illustrates how Germans have been receptive to influences from the countries around them and frequently reinvented their cuisine, developing a food culture with remarkable flexibility. nbsp; Telling the story of beer, stollen, rye bread, lebkuchen, and other German favorites, the recipe-packednbsp;Beyond Bratwurstnbsp;will find a place on the shelves of food historians, chefs, and spätzle lovers alike.
Food Culture in Germany by
The grown-up Germany of today is able to explore its cultural identity, including its food culture. For some years now, German food has seen a return to regionalism, and beloved traditional dishes have been rediscovered and revived, counteracting to some extent the effects of globalization and industrialization. As well, a host of new culinary traditions brought in with new immigrants makes for an exciting food scene. Food Culture in Germany, written by a native Berliner, is destined to become a classic as the best source in English for a thorough and up-to-date understanding of Germans and their food_the history, foodstuffs, cooking, special occasions, lifestyle eating habits, and diet and health. The Historical Overview chapter takes the reader on a culinary tour from ancient times through the Holy Roman Empire to the Lebensraum of Hitler and on to reunification of the two Germanys until today's return to normalcy. Chapter 2, Major Foods and Ingredients, highlights the classic German staples. Chapter 3, Cooking, discusses the family and gender dynamics plus cooking techniques and utensils, the German kitchen, and the professional chef as media figure phenomenon. The Typical Meals chapter gives an in-depth insider's look at how and what Germans eat today. Chapter 5, Eating Out, describes the wide range of opportunities for eating out, from grabbing Currywurst on the street, to lunching in office and school cafeterias, to meeting friends for coffee and cake at the Konditerei. German holidays and special occasions are elaborated on in the context of more secular and younger influences in Chapter 6. Chapter 7 covers the German diet and the strong interest in health in the country, with its holistic roots. Food safety, a big topic in Europe today, is also discussed at length. An introduction, chronology, glossary, resource guide, selected bibliography, and illustrations complete this outstanding resource.
A Culinary Voyage Through Germany by
"Chancellor Helmut Kohl and his wife, Hannelore, invite us to join them on a remarkable food tour of Germany - from the Baltic coast to the Alps to the Lower Rhine. More than three hundred recipes for regional specialties are presented with hundreds of full-color photographs illustrating the tempting dishes." "Chancellor Kohl introduces each chapter with a discussion of the particular region; his extensive knowledge of each area's history is enriched by vignettes from his travels, childhood memories, and personal anecdotes. Alfons Schuhbeck, an award-winning chef, collaborates with Chancellor Kohl and his wife to present the best-loved foods of Germany." "This unusual team - a master chef, an accomplished amateur cook, and a politician who is a noted authority on regional German food - brings together a wide range of talents. They pass along the local secrets of simple German cooking with recipes that have been handed down through many generations. Easy-to-follow instructions are given for such traditional dishes as potato pancakes, cabbage rouladen, braised veal, and fruit puddings. Each chapter includes a section of kitchen know-how with advice about how to buy top-quality meat, how to select fresh vegetables, how to prepare a hearty stew, and how to create unusual table settings."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
The New German Cookbook by
Contemporary German cooking couples hearty regional traditions with the subtle, light, and more sophisticated tastes of the modern palate. Jean Anderson and Hedy W#65533;rz lead readers from the back roads of Bavaria to the vineyards on the Moselle, from a quaint subterranean tavern in L#65533;beck to the three-star restaurants of Munich, opening kitchen doors and kettle lids to reveal modern Germany's gastronomic triumphs. With explanations of ingredients, clear instructions, and evocative introductions to the recipes, the cooking of today's Germany is illuminated for American cooks. All the traditional dishes are here, many in their original robust versions and others cleverly lightened by German's new generation of chefs and home cooks. Potato salad, barely glossed with dressing, then greened with fresh chevil; sauerkraut teamed with cod; and pumpernickel reduced to crumbs and folded into an airy Bavarian cream are just a few of the creative new German dishes that nevertheless bow to tradition. A chapter on wine and beer by Lamart Elmore, former executive director of the German Wine Information Bureau, completes the picture of Germany's total gastronomic experience. Germany today is a land of contradictions, a land where meandering rivers run alongside autobahns, where castles and cuckoo clocks coexist easily with high tech, high fashion, and haute cuisine. German food reflects this rich tapestry, and in The New German Cookbook, Jean Anderson and Hedy W#65533;rz import and interpret the traditional and the subtle, flavorful, and sophisticated dishes of modern Germany for American cooks.
Eat Smart in Germany by
Michelin-rated restaurants and street-vendor fare earn equal time in the newest release of the internationally acclaimed Eat Smart culinary guidebook series. That means exploring the currywurst and doner kebabs of Berlin, then spicy crepes with venison and cherries at the Hotel Sackmann in the Black Forest. Authentic German dining begins with sausage, rouladen, potato salad, gingerbread, and strudel--but so much more defines and influences the cuisine. Consider the verve with which Kiel residents devour sprats (young herring) near the Baltic and North seas. Or the pride that people in the village of Bautzen take in serving a centuries-old recipe for Sorbian soup. Eat Smart in Germany connects menus and markets to geography, history, and regional pride. In the book are these practical and fun features: * dozens of delicious recipes from chefs and other food experts that allow travelers and cookbook lovers to re-create the cuisine * a Menu Guide that demystifies food selection, allowing visitors to order with confidence * a Food and Flavors Guide that provides a comprehensive list of foods, spices, cooking styles, and more to assist shoppers at colorful outdoor markets * an explanation of culinary history that covers the origins and varieties of ingredients, regional recipes, and well-known German favorites * a translation of useful phrases that eases the challenge of shopping for food or placing an order in restaurants * glossaries that introduce food and cooking terms in German and English. Winner, Next Generation Indie Book Awards Competition Finalist, Eric Hoffer Award Honorable Mention, Foreword Book of the Year, Travel Guides
Wine Atlas of Germany by
Featuring sixty-seven exceptional color maps as well as eighty-seven vivid images by photographer Hendrik Holler and others, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date atlas of German wine?a detailed reference to vineyards and appellations. The authors explain the geography of all the German wine-growing regions and provide independent analysis and ranking of the most significant vineyards in each region. In addressing the growing American appreciation of German wines, the atlas pays in-depth attention to Rieslings from the Mosel and other premier regions while also acquainting readers with wines from less familiar areas such as the Ahr, Baden, the Taubertal, and Franconia. Beautifully produced, with helpful sidebars and succinct essays, this book will become the standard reference on the subject.
