How to Find Books at U of I
The books you are looking for may be located in a variety of locations, including the Ricker Art and Architecture Library as well as the Main Stacks and many other libraries on campus. Remember, books can be requested through the Library Catalog and delivered to any library on campus. This process usually take a couple of days. You'll be notified via email when the book is available.
The best way to find books is to search the Library Catalog. In order to find the books in the library, you need to have the call number and location. If you're logged into your libraryaccount, you can text this information through the Library Catalog.
How to Find I-Share Books
If you can't find something in our library catalog, search the I-Share catalog to see if any other college libraries in Illinois have the item available. I-Share is a quick and easy way to borrow books from nearby libraries. Please note: journals/magazines CANNOT be requested through I-Share--you must request these items through Interlibrary Loan.
The I-Share catalog is connected to the Library Catalog and can be searched using Quick Search or Advanced Search. For more help Ask a Librarian.
How to Find Journals
The best way to find academic articles in journals is to search the Online Journals & Databases (SFX). You can locate journals by searching by the title or by selecting a subject to narrow down your search. If you are searching by title, once you have located the journal and selected the title from the results list an authentication window will open in another window. There you will select the red "Go" button. It will load the journal content and you can then select the volume/issue and year to find a specific article.
In order to find print journals in the library, you need to have the call number and location. You can receive a text with this information through the Library Catalog.
Here is a guide to all Ricker Library Architecture Journals.
How to Find Articles
-
List of DatabasesThis is list of all architecture and art databases that will give you access to journal article citation. Not all those included are specific to architecture, but could be useful for finding articles related to photography, art, museums, etc. The list of "suggested databases" are more specific to your research.
Suggested Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: civil engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Art & Architecture Source in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Based on a merger of databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
- Art and Architecture Archive I & II This link opens in a new windowA full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. Art and Architecture Archive I & II is a major research resource comprising the digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Offering unprecedented access to the archives of key consumer and trade publications, it is a unique collection of the essential primary sources for studying the history of these subjects. The magazines cover the spectrum of sub-disciplines, from fine and applied arts, through to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening. Each issue is scanned from cover to cover in high resolution color and presented in page image format with fully searchable text.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new windowThis database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM. Coverage: 1974 - current
- Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). This comprehensive index from the renowned Frick Art Reference Library of The Frick Collection provides a unique selection of art history periodicals. Journals covered in this index were published in a broad selection of languages that include English, French, Italian, German, Russian, Spanish, Dutch, and Scandinavian. Articles selected for indexing from these periodicals focus on art history and works of art. Originally produced on catalog cards, the index features access points important for research, including artists, artworks, private and public collections, exhibitions, and reproductions.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowThe definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.
