Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Structuralism, Poststructuralism, & Postmodernism--listed in descending order by publication date
New Games : Postmodernism After Contemporary Art by
Call Number: 709.04 L514n
Publication Date: 2012-11-16
Architecture & Art
From the series "Theories of modernism and postmodernism in the visual arts," this volume "examines the 1960s and 1970s as a watershed era in our current understanding of art and its historiography." Includes an index.
The Routledge Companion to Postmodernism by
Call Number: 149.9703 R7652011
Publication Date: 2011-07-26
This collection of essays on postmodernisn and its relation to various aspects of culture includes a chapter entitled "Postmodernism and Art." Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Understanding Poststructuralism by
Call Number: 149.96 W673u
Publication Date: 2005-11-30
From the "Understanding movements in modern thought" series, a basic introduction to poststructuralist theory. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Poststructuralism : a very short introduction by
Call Number: 149.96 B419p
Publication Date: 2002-11-28
History, Philosophy & Newspaper Library and Oak St.
A brief explanation of the basics of poststructuralist theory. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Pop Art and the Origins of Post-Modernism by
Call Number: 709.7309046 H248p
Publication Date: 2001-08-27
A study of the development of postmodernism during the age of pop art. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Redeeming Art: critical reveries by
Call Number: 709.04 K968r
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
A collection of postmodernist art criticism. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Art of the Postmodern Era: from the late 1960s to the early 1990s by
Call Number: 709.0945 SA56A; N6512 .S2553 1996
Publication Date: 1997-08-15
Architecture & Art Closed Stacks [non-circulating]; Undergraduate Library
A study of themes and motifs in late 20th-century European and American art. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Good Looking: essays on the virtue of images by
Call Number: 302.23 ST13G
Publication Date: 1996-08-01
Architecture & Art and Oak St.
Essays on visual communication in the postmodern era. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Art since 1940: strategies of being by
Call Number: Q. 709.04 F493AR
Publication Date: 1995-02-01
Architecture & Art
A study of modernism, postmodernism, and late 20th-century art. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
The Idea of the Postmodern: a history by
Call Number: 149 B461I
Publication Date: 1994-12-07
History, Philosophy & Newspaper Library
An introduction to postmodernism. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
An Introductory Guide to Post-Structuralism and Postmodernism by
Call Number: 149.96 SA77I1993; B831.2 .S27 1993
Publication Date: 1993-06-01
History, Philosophy & Newspaper Library; Literatures & Languages Library
An explanation of the basics of poststructuralist and postmodernist theory. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Postmodernism, Politics and Art by
Call Number: 709.04 R542P
Publication Date: 1990-06-01
A discussion of the relationships between art, postmodernist theory, and politics. Includes bibliographical references.
Jean Baudrillard: selected writings by
Call Number: 302 B325s
Publication Date: 1988-10-01
Main Stacks and Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
Key works in poststructuralist sociology and its applications to literature and art. Includes bibliographies and an index.
Call Number: 707.2 C134
Publication Date: 1988-02-26
Architecture & Art Closed Stacks [non-circulating]
This collection of postmodernist art history essays from France offers examples of the application of theory in the late 20th century.
The Anti-Aesthetic: Essays in Postmodern Culture by
Call Number: 909.82 An87
Publication Date: 1983-09-01
Architecture & Art
A collection of texts on art and culture written from a postmodern perspective. Includes bibliographical references.
Structuralism and Since : from Lévi Strauss to Derrida by
Call Number: B841.1 .S853; 149.9 St89
Publication Date: 1981-09-17
Literatures & Languages; Main Stacks
A collections of texts about influential structuralists and poststructuralists. Contents: Claude Lévi-Strauss / Dan Sperber; Roland Barthes / John Sturrock; Michel Foucault / Hayden White; Jacques Lacan / Malcolm Bowie; and Jacques Derrida / Jonathan Culler. Includes bibliographies and an index.
The Pleasure of the Text by
Call Number: 801.9 B28pEm
Publication Date: 1975-01-01
A classic work on the aesthetics of literature.
Structure of Art by
Call Number: 701.15 B93S
Publication Date: 1970-10-01
An introduction to the application of structuralist theory to art. Contents: Search for a structure: Claude Levi-Strauss, Ferdinand de Saussure, Roland Barthes, Noam Chomsky, Jean Piaget; Time continua and the esthetic illusion: Art history as a mythic form, A structural approach to art; Structural analyses: An introductory note to the reader, The analyses; Marcel Duchamp: Magister Ludi; Epilogue. Includes a bibliography.
Introduction to structuralism by
Call Number: 149.9 L24S1970
Publication Date: 1970
A collection of readings presenting the basic ideas of structuralism. Includes a bibliography.