Architecture & Art

A discussion of art criticism in 19th-century Great Britain. Includes bibliographical references and an index.

Architecture & Art

A survey of art theory in 18th- and 19th-century Western Europe and Russia. Includes bibliographical references and an index.

Main Stacks

A Spanish-language collection of art criticism from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes bibliographical references.

Main Stacks

Discusses British critiques of continental European art in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes bibliographical references and an index.

Architecture & Art

A study of art criticism and the psychology of art viewing in late 19th-century Germany. Includes bibliographical references and an index.

Main Stacks

A French-language discussion of the development of art criticism during the 18th century.

Architecture & Art

A catalog published in conjunction with an exhibition held at the National Academy of Design, New York, Sept. 20, 2000-Dec. 31, 2000. Provides a sampling of American art criticism from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes bibliographical references.

Main Stacks

A discussion of the interactions between fine art, literature, and popular culture in 19th-century Great Britain. Includes bibliographical references and an index.

Architecture & Art

A collection of essays exploring the social and political aspects of art criticism in 19th-century France. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Architecture & Art

A study of Parisian art criticism in the late 19th century, with emphasis on idealism and symbolism in art. Includes bibliographical references and an index.

Architecture & Art

A French-language anthology of art criticism from the late 19th century. Includes bibliographical references and an index.

Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]

A list of works about Parisian philosophical salons of the late 19th century. Includes indexes.

Architecture & Art; History, Philosophy & Newspaper Library; Oak St.

A study of the development of art criticism from the late 18th and early 19th centuries to the early 20th century. With notes, a select bibliography, and an index.

Main Stacks

A history of the study of history in the 19th-century and its implications for art criticism. Includes bibliographical references.

Main Stacks

A study of the aesthetics of English classicism and Romanticism. Includes bibliographical references and an index.

Main Stacks; Undergraduate Library

An introduction to empiricism, an 18th-century philosophical movement which displaced the meaning in art from the art object to the process of art as an intellectual and emotional experience.