Introductions to Theory (listed in descending order by publication date)
The Methodologies of Art by Call Number: 701.18 AD18MISBN: 9780813344508Publication Date: 2010Architecture & Art Closed Stacks [non-circulating]
A survey of various art methodologies, including iconography, Marxism, feminism, semiotics, structuralism and post-structuralism, deconstruction, and psychoanalysis. With bibliographical references and an index.
The Art of Art History: A Critical Anthology by Call Number: 701.18 Ar782009ISBN: 9780199229840Publication Date: 2009-04-15Architecture & Art Closed Stacks [non-circulating]
A selection of essays which help readers become familiar with several of the main theoretical approaches to art history. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Art Theory: An Historical Introduction by Call Number: 709W67a2009ISBN: 9781405184144Publication Date: 2009-03-09Main Stacks
A history of art theory from Antiquity and the Middle Ages to the early 21st century. Includes bibliographical references and an index.- What Is Research in the Visual Arts? : obsession, archive, encounter byCall Number: 707.2W556ISBN: 9780931102806Publication Date: 2008-11-01Architecture & Art
A publication based on the proceedings of the Clark Conference, held April 27-28, 2007, at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute in Williamstown, Massachusetts. Includes bibliographical references. - Art History: The Basics byCall Number: 709 P78aISBN: 9780415373098Publication Date: 2007-12-19Architecture & Art
An introduction to various art methodologies. Contents: Art theories and art histories; Formalism, modernism and modernity; A world still to win : Marxism, art and art history; Semiotics and poststructuralism; Psychoanalysis, art and the hidden self; Sex and sexualitites : representations of gender; Exploring postmodernities; Globalised proximities and perspectives. Includes bibliographical references and an index. 
A Companion to Art Theory by Call Number: 701.18 C738ISBN: 0631207627Publication Date: 2007-03-12Architecture & Art and Online at above link
A collection of essays on several different art methodologies. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Art History: a critical introduction to its methods by Call Number: 701.18 H287aISBN: 0719069580Publication Date: 2006-04-01Architecture & Art
A guide to various art methodologies. Contents: 1. Introduction; 2. A variety of interpretations : a preview; 3. Hegel and the birth of art history; 4. Connoisseurship; 5. Formalism : Heinrich Wolfflin and Alois Riegl; 6. Iconography - iconology : Erwin Panofsky; 7. Marxism and the social history of art; 8. Feminism; 9. Psychoanalysis; 10. Semiotics; 11. Postcolonialism; 12. Conclusion. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Theory for Art History by Call Number: 701.18 Em329tISBN: 0415973635Publication Date: 2005-08-09Main Stacks
Brief discussions of 26 theorists, including Karl Marx, Sigmund Freud, Judith Butler, Jacques Derrida, Michel Foucault, and Edward Said. With suggestions for further reading.
Dealing with the Visual by Call Number: 701.17D342ISBN: 0754634280Publication Date: 2005-03-01Main Stacks
A collection of essays exemplifying the applications of art theory to specific works. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Art History after Modernism by Call Number: 707.2 B419e:E2003ISBN: 0226041840Publication Date: 2003-08-01Main Stacks
A discussion of the transformation of art history following the development of modernist theories such as Marxism, feminism, deconstruction, etc. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Critical Terms for Art History by Call Number: 701.4 C869 2003ISBN: 0226571661Publication Date: 2003-04-01Architecture & Art
An essential guide to terms used in the study of art history. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Rosalind Krauss and American Philosophical Art Criticism: from formalism to beyond postmodernism by Call Number: 701.18 K868cISBN: 9780275975203Publication Date: 2002-10-30Architecture & Art and Online at above link
An introduction to American art criticism in the 20th century. Includes an index.
The New Art History: a critical introduction by Call Number: 707.22 H24nISBN: 0415230071Publication Date: 2001-11-07Architecture & Art
A basic introduction to art criticism of the late 20th century. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
The Practice of Persuasion: paradox and power in art history by Call Number: 700.722 M872pISBN: 0801438012Publication Date: 2000-12-21Architecture & Art
A study of art criticism methodology and how it reflects cultural norms. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Theories of Art by Call Number: 701B2312m2000ISBN: 0415926254Publication Date: 2000-11-10Oak St.
A 3-volume history of art theory. Vol 1: From Plato to Winckelmann; Vol 2: From Winckelmann to Baudelaire; Vol 3: From Impressionism to Kandinsky. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Art History's History by Call Number: 707.2 M666a 2001ISBN: 9780130851338Publication Date: 2000-07-17Architecture & Art
An introduction to the critical theories of art history, written as a history of the discipline. Includes bibliographical references following each chapter and a general index.
Views of Difference: Different Views of Art by Call Number: 709 V679ISBN: 0300077637Publication Date: 1999-08-11Architecture & Art
A collection of "case studies" of the application of various theories of art history. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
The Subjects of Art History by Call Number: 701.18 Su16ISBN: 0521454905Publication Date: 1998-12-13Architecture & Art
This collection of essays offers discussions of a variety of art criticism methodologies. Includes bibliographical references and an index.- The Absolute Artist: the historiography of a concept byCall Number: 701.18 SO85AISBN: 0816628963Publication Date: 1997-03-01Architecture & Art
A study of the idea of what an "absolute artist" is in a variety of contexts. Contents: On the threshold of historiography: biography, artists, genre; The artist in nature: Renaissance biography; The artist in culture: Kulturwissenschaft from Burckhardt to Warburg; The artist in history: the Viennese school of art history; The artist in myth: early psychoanalysis and art history; The artist in the text: rhetorics in the myth of the artist. Includes bibliographical references and an index. - Past Looking: historical imagination and the rhetoric of the image byCall Number: 701 H729PISBN: 080143209XPublication Date: 1996-09-19Architecture & Art and Oak St.
A discussion of the history and philosophy of the visual arts. Includes bibliographical references and an index. 
Art History and Its Methods: a critical anthology by Call Number: 701.8 AR75ISBN: 0714829919Publication Date: 1995-07-09Architecture & Art and Main Stacks
Includes an introduction art history methodology by Fernie, a selection of texts that serve as examples of various methods, a glossary of concepts, a bibliography, and an index.
Visual Culture by Call Number: 700.103 V8292ISBN: 0415106222Publication Date: 1995-03-28Architecture & Art
A collection of essays exploring the visual arts in 20th-century culture and society. Includes bibliographical references and an index.- Visual Culture: Images and Interpretations byCall Number: 701.03 V829ISBN: 0819552607Publication Date: 1994-05-01Architecture & Art
A collection of critical essays written from a variety of theoretical perspectives. Includes bibliographical references and an index. - Essential Art History byCall Number: 703 D936ES1993ISBN: 074751402XPublication Date: 1994-01-01Main Stacks
An alphabetically-arranged dictionary of art history terms, devoted primarily to Western painting and sculpture. Includes artists who have written about art and certain influential art historians. Many entries include brief bibliographies. - The History of Art History byCall Number: Q. 709 K959G:EISBN: 0898350557Publication Date: 1993-07-01Architecture & Art
An introductory survey of European and American literature on art history from the Renaissance to the late 20th century. Includes many portraits of writers and art historians. With notes, suggestions for further reading, and an index of names. - The Language of Art History byCall Number: 709 L269ISBN: 052135384XPublication Date: 1991-11-29Main Stacks
A collection of essays presentating a range of perspectives on the relationship between the art object and the language of art history. With notes and an index. - Art Theory and Criticism: an anthology of formalist, avant-garde, contextualist, and post-modernist thought byCall Number: 701 AR754ISBN: 0899505953Publication Date: 1991-01-01Architecture & Art
A sampling of art criticism from a variety of theoretical perspectives. Includes bibliographical references. 
Modern Theories of Art by Call Number: 701 B2312MISBN: 0814711332Publication Date: 1990-02-01Architecture & Art
A two-volume introduction to theories of art. Vol. 1: From Winckelmann to Baudelaire; Vol. 2: From Impressionism to Kandinsky. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
What Is Art History? by Call Number: 709 R731W1989ISBN: 087023675XPublication Date: 1989-06-01Architecture & Art
An introduction to fundamentals of art history. Includes a bibliography and an index.- The End of the History of Art? byCall Number: 707.2 B419e:E1987ISBN: 0226042170Publication Date: 1987-04-01Architecture & Art
A discussion of the transformation of art history methods long after Vasari's influence. - The New Art History byCall Number: 701.18 N42ISBN: 0948491078Publication Date: 1986Architecture & Art
An introduction to the "new art history" of the late 20th century. Includes bibliographies. - Patterns of Intention: on the historical explanation of pictures byCall Number: 750.118 B33PISBN: 0300034652Publication Date: 1985-11-01Architecture & Art and Oak St.
The presentation of an approach to art theory that focuses on the historical context of the works. Includes a bibliography. 
Vision and Painting : the logic of the gaze by Call Number: 750.19 B848vISBN: 0300028555Publication Date: 1983-09-10Architecture & Art Closed Stacks [non-circulating]
A late-20th-century discussion of the psychological and philosophical aspects of viewing art. Includes bibliographical references and an index.- Learning to look : a handbook for the visual arts byCall Number: 702 T21L1981; N7477 .T39 1981ISBN: 0226971548Publication Date: 1981Architecture & Art; Undergraduate Library
An introduction to developing a formal approach to appreciating the arts. Includes an index. - The Critical Historians of Art byCall Number: 701.18 P752cISBN: 0300028628Publication Date: 1982-12-01Architecture & Art; History, Philosophy & Newspaper Library; Oak St.
A survey of the work of several influential art historians. Includes a bibliography and an index. - The Concept of Style byCall Number: Q. 111 C74ISBN: 0812277554Publication Date: 1979-09-01Main Stacks
A study of the philosophy of style and aesthetics. Includes a bibliography. - Ideals and idols : essays on values in history and in art byCall Number: 901 G585IISBN: 0714820091Publication Date: 1978Architecture & Art
A discussion of the philosophy and values involved in the study of art and history. - Modern Perspectives in Western Art History; an anthology of 20th-century writings on the visual arts byCall Number: 704.9 K67mISBN: 0030782201Publication Date: 1971-01-01Architecture & Art and Main Stacks
A substantial volume offering multiple 20-century approaches to art history. Includes bibliographical references. - Art and its objects, an introduction to aesthetics byCall Number: 701.17 W83aPublication Date: [1968]History, Philosophy & Newspaper Librayr and Main Stacks
A brief introduction to aesthetics and art criticism. Includes bibliographical references. - The philosophy of art history byCall Number: 709 H296P:E1963Publication Date: 1963Main Stacks
A discussion of art history as it relates to philosophy, psychology, society, and various critical movements. Includes bibliographical references and an index. - Aesthetics today byCall Number: 701.17 P53APublication Date: [1961]Main Stacks and Music & Performing Arts Library
A selection of mid-20th-century writings on the philosophy of art and aesthetics. Includes a bibliography. - Art and illusion; a study in the psychology of pictorial representation byCall Number: 701.15 G58aPublication Date: 1960Main Stacks and Oak St.
A substantial lecture by a key mid-20th-century critic. Includes bibliographical references in the notes. - Meaning in the visual arts: papers in and on art history byCall Number: 704 P19mPublication Date: 1955Architecture & Art, Main Stacks, and Oak St.
A collection of essays on art history, offering mid-20th-century perspective. Includes a bibliography and bibliographical footnotes. - Principles of art history, the problem of the development of style in later art byCall Number: 709 W83keh 1950Publication Date: 1950Architecture & Art, Main Stacks, and Oak St.
A classic discussion of the basic tenets of studying art history. - History of art criticism byCall Number: 701V56HPublication Date: 1936Architecture & Art [non-circulating]; Main Stacks; and Oak St.
A classic history of art theory and criticism. Includes a bibliography.
