Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pre-Modern Approaches (Ancient through the 18th century)--listed in descending order by publication date
Academies of art : between Renaissance and romanticism by
Call Number: 709 L5331986-1987
Publication Date: 1989
A study of European art academies in the 16th to the 20th centuries in Italy, Spain, France, The Netherlands, Germany, Austria, Poland, England, Ireland, and Denmark. Includes bibliographical references.
Theories of Art: From Plato to Winckelmann by
Call Number: 701 B231T; N70 .B22 1985
Publication Date: 1985-03-01
Architecture & Art; Undergraduate Library
A substantial study of classical approaches to the analysis of art from Antiquity to the 18th century. Includes bibliographies and indexes.
Plato and Greek Painting by
Call Number: 881 P5.YKEU
Publication Date: 1978-01-01
An introduction to Plato's analyses of painting. Includes a bibliography.
Plato’s theory of art by
Call Number: 184 P69YLOD
Publication Date: 1975
Architecture & Art and Main Stacks
A study of Plato's approach to art theory. Includes bibliographical references.
Art and experience in classical Greece by
Call Number: 709.38 P76AR; CL 709.38 P76AR
Publication Date: 1972
Architecture & Art and Main Stacks; Classics Perry Library [non-circulating]
A study of art theory in ancient Greece. Includes a bibliography.
History of aesthetics by
Call Number: 111.85 T187HE
Publication Date: 1970
History, Philosophy & Newspaper Library and Main Stacks
Vol. I of this 3-volume history of art theory treats Ancient aesthetics. Vol. II covers Medieval aesthetics. Includes bibliographical references.