Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sociological and Marxist Perspectives--listed in descending order by publication date
The Sociology of Art: ways of seeing by
Call Number: 306.47 So1392
Publication Date: 2005-12-20
Architecture & Art
A collection of essays explaining sociological analyses of art. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Sociology of Art: a reader by
Call Number: 306.47 So139
Publication Date: 2003-10-17
Social Sciences, Health & Education Library
A selection of readings on the application of sociology to art interpretation. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
The Social Production of Art by
Call Number: 306.4 W832S1993
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
A sociological study of the production, distribution, and reception of art. With notes, a bibliography, and an index.
Aesthetics and the Sociology of Art by
Call Number: 700.1 W832A1993
Publication Date: 1993-06-01
A study of the interactions between society and art. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Fetishism As Cultural Discourse by
Call Number: 306.77 F431
Publication Date: 1993-03-28
Social Sciences, Health & Education
An explanation of feticishm and its pertinence to Marxism and critical theory. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
The Ideology of the Aesthetic by
Call Number: 111.850903 Ea38i; BH151 .E2 1990
Publication Date: 1991-01-08
History, Philosophy & Newspaper Library and Main Stacks; Literatures & Languages Library and Undergraduate Library
An influential collection of essays written from a Marxist perspective. Includes an index.
The ideologies of theory : essays 1971-1986 by
Call Number: PN94 .J36 1988; 801.95 J239I
Publication Date: 1988-
Literatures & Languages Library; Main Stacks
A collection of Marxist and other criticism. Vol. 1. Situations of theory; Vol. 2 Syntax of history. Includes an index.
The Sociology of Art by
Call Number: 701 H29SO:E
Publication Date: 1982
An English translation of Hungarian critic Hauser's hugely influential work, which was his attempt to offer a comprehensive analysis of the sociological issues related to art production, reception, and interpretation. Based largely on a Marxist perspective. Includes bibliographical references.
Marxism and Art: essays classic and contemporary by
Call Number: 335.438 SO4M1979; HX521 .S63 1979
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Main Stacks; Undergraduate Library
A large collection of essays on the application of Marxist theory to art. Includes a bibliography.
Art History and Class Struggle by
Call Number: 701 H117a
Publication Date: 1978
A translation with revisions of _Histoire de l’art et lutte des classes_, originally published in 1973. Studies the relationships between art and social class. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Ways of Seeing by
Call Number: 759.94 W368
Publication Date: 1973-09-27
A Marxist perspective on art interpretation. Includes bibliographical references.
Image of the People: Gustave Courbet and the 1848 revolution by
Call Number: 759.4 C83cL
Publication Date: 1973
Architecture & Art
A study of the relationships between art and French society in the mid-19th century. See in particular the chapter entitled "On the Social History of Art." Includes a bibliography and an index.